We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Glen Mills
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed a few days while visiting family. The hotel seemed kind of beat - am always suspicious when the carpet is very dark in the room but the rest seemed clean enough. I realize this summer is HOT and businesses are trying to save money but it was uncomfortable to have no A/C in the hallways. The room A/C was on a motion sensor - which was also uncomfortable when you walk in although it did cool down fairly quickly.

The only rooms available when we made a reservation, were the suites. The bedroom was small and the bed right up next to the A/C unit so it blew on my face ALL night long - I had to put the sheet over my head to avoid a sore throat in the morning. Also, with the motion sensor, it would shut off in the night until one of us rolled over, then it would kick on and wake us. The other room had NO A/C so it was too hot to sit and watch TV or work on the computer. Not the best set up. The bathroom was small and the shower/tub clastrophobic. The shower head was low so we had to bend over to wash hair.

This was the most expensive hotel of our trip and it is sorely in need of a renovation. We had no "view" to speak of - over back with dumpsters, A/C units and Dunking Donuts drive through. Quiet enough but we didn't enjoy it.

Breakfast was standard HIE fare and we had plent to eat. Do like getting the newspaper in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myquest55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBeretsky, Manager at Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We take all guest comments seriously and use them to try and improve our facilities for the next guest.

Unfortunately, this summer has seen record-breaking heat in our area of the country, with the temperatures climbing to over 100* at times. Unfortunately, the upper floors hallways AC units were not adequate to cool the hall. We have since ordered and installed brand-new units.

It sounds like the room you were in is one of our Queen Parlor Suites. These suites have a bedroom with a seperate living room area and a TV in each room. Many guests love these suites simply due to the fact that they can leave their work in the living room and still be able to relax in the bedroom without having to stare at an unfinished project all night. On the contrary, other guests prefer open space, and for those guests I would suggest a standard room with a King bed.

I apologize for the AC issues you experienced in your room. There are boosters which are meant to carry the cold air into the living room through a vent. I will address the booster issue with maintenance, which is usually a very quick fix.

The occupancy sensors have been installed in all guest rooms as part of our "Green" initiative. They are infrared sensors designed to detect when the room is occupied in order to reduce the ammount of energy used to heat/cool unoccupied rooms. There is a set temperature range for both occupied and unoccupied rooms, and the AC unit will turn on and off as needed in order to sustain the desired temperature.

We hope that you will visit us again some time in the future and try one of our more spacious King rooms, or one of our feature suites. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 692 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

This review is to state a simple fact, I've been staying in this hotel for the better part of 3 years. I have been in hotels in this country from coast to coast. I have stayed in multiple hotels in the phila. area. This hotel has treated me better then the others. The rates are reasonable,The room are clean, If there have been ANY issues the hotel staff have gon out of their way to correct the issue and have checked in later to ensure I was satisfied.
If you are planning a stay in the phila. area I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed_Hetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBeretsky, Manager at Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of the hotel! Our staff works very hard to give our guests the best and it is great to see them recognized for all that they do. We appreciate all the business you have given us and we look forward to see you return again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed here over the weekend for a tournament. We had requested 2 beds, but received one. The hotel was booked through One Hockey and there was some miscommunication on the room. The staff gave us one option and that was to go to another hotel. Later I talked to the manager who seemed very nice and explained his position and he told me he would talk to the organization and call me back. NOTHING! We went on line and booked another room even though the front desk said there were no rooms. Our rooms were very old and tired and had a funky smell. The AC did not work in one of the rooms. It was a very frustrating weekend in this hotel. The rest of the family stayed down the road at the StayBridge and said it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ax30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBeretsky, Manager at Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our staff strives to accommodate every guest's needs, unfortunately in sold-out situations this can be difficult to do. All reservations for the One Hockey Tournament were made through the venue hosting the tournament. Room assignments for this tournament are based on the number of people registered in each reservation, all of this information is provided by the guest to the tournament director. We work very closely with this venue for many other tournaments throughout the year. This guest had originally registered that thier were two people in their room, as such we gave them a complimentary upgrade to a suite with a queen size bed and a twin sleeper sofa. At check in they arrived with more guests than initally registered. We tried to accommodate their request for two double beds, however all those rooms were occupied by larger families who registered as such. When the guest arrived with more people than registered, they were understandably upset. At the time we were sold out of the roiom types they were requesting and did not have any additional rooms to offer them. The room they were able to book online was due to a last minute cancellation, it was also for a room with 1 king bed which would not have accommodated the guest. I spoke with the guest and informed her that I would be able to honor the tournament rate eventhough she booked the additional king room at a higher price. I then personally spoke with the tournament director about this situation who informed us that she only had two people registered for the room as well, and there was nothing they could do to help the situation other than find her accommodations at another property. She also agreed that we went above and beyond what we were required to do in offering the discount on the second room. The last thing we ever want to do is turn a guest away, however after exhausting all options available at our hotel, we felt the only way to try to accommodate this guest would be to help them find accommodations at another property for the room type they now wanted. We even offered to waive the cancellation fee for the reservation should they choose to move. The guest made the decision to stay at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We reserved one night for July 4th through a website with huge discount, and overall we had a great experience. As the previous comments suggested, the hotel itself is an old building, but we feel that the management is doing its best to make things better.

The room was clean, adequately decorated. There was not too much noise at night, even though the building was located at a major high way.

Service was great. We checked in late and also requested a rollawway bed; the staff member on duty satisfied our needs promptly. Breakfast was okay, and I think it is better than what a 2.5-star hotel can offer.

The only disadvantage i would say was that the air conditioning in the room was not strong enough. We still felt a bit hot in the room even though we tried to make the temperature as low as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julinba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBeretsky, Manager at Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

I would like to take the time to thank you for your review of our hotel. Our staff works very hard to satify the needs of our guests, and it means a lot to them to be recognized for their hard work.

As I have mentioned in previous reviews, management is aware of the out-dated look of the interior of the hotel and is pleased to annouce that we are currently in the beginning stages of a full interior rennovation. We have just finished installing the carpet in our demo rooms and our maintenance department is currently working on putting in the new furniture and adding the finishing touches. Once this two rooms are approved, we can move forward with the rennovation process. We are very excited about the changes to come so we can showcase them to our guests.

Thank you again for your review. We are happy we could be a part of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Do you miss the "good old days"? Take heart, you can travel back to the 1960's at this hotel. Here is what we discovered; interior decor and furnishings that appear to have been acquired from Elvis' estate, a business center where one stands to use the computers, which are s-l-o-w and in my case, unable to find and print a boarding pass, and aged, worn equipment in the fitness center. The powerful odor of insect spray, or kerosene, or mice or whatever, was pervasive in the hallway and in our room.
Oh, and all of this for the bargain price of $267 a night.
However, in fairness, the breakfast was adequate and the staff were pleasant. Bottom line: this hotel needs significant physical improvements or demolition.

Room Tip: At the Hampton Inn across the street.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamdenIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBeretsky, Manager at Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We have many different room and suite types, including one bedroom and two bedroom/ two bathroom apartment suites and luxurious honeymoon jacuzzi suites, in addition to our traditional rooms and junior suite types.

We are very pleased to report that we are in the planning stages of a full interior rennovation. As I type this, new carpet is being installed in the two rooms we are using as demo rooms in order to get approval to procceed with the rest of the hotel. This rennovation will include all new carpeting throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, new wall coverings in all guest rooms and public areas, all new furniture and bedding, new guest bathroom vanities and sinks, as well as miscellaneous items such as all new artwork throughout the hotel. The design style of the new rooms will be very contemporary. We have been working on these two demo rooms for some time now, gutting them down to the concrete, stripping the wallpaper, painting, and installing the new bathroom. Unforutnately these activites can be associated with the chemical smell this guest experienced during their stay. We hope to complete these rennovations as quickly as possible to ensure the best stay possible for all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

If I had known this place was a facelifted 40 year old Ramada Inn I would have stayed elsewhere, the place is a nightmare to get into, have to make a u turn at one of the busiest intersections in the state sometimes 7 turns of the light. There is one elevator for the entire hotel and it is extremely slow.

Room was only so - so the fridge kept shutting down and I lost some dairy products that sat in there all day without the fridge running. Bathrooms need updating badly.

Breakfast was good as long as you get there before 9am, after 9am they stop putting food out and one morning the only thing left was an english muffin and cereal.

I will say that Chris the daytime manager was EXTREMELY nice and accomodating

Hotel is very noisy at all hours of the night, the could have been the type of people staying there....wedding guests and sports teams all over the place

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nybill38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBeretsky, Manager at Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel. We take all guest reviews very seriously and use them to build a better team and offer better accommodations based on our guests' experiences.

We are very sorry to hear about the complications you experienced during your stay. The hotel can be difficult to get into and unfortunately that is a situation that is beyond our control. There are, however, several other options when traveling to the hotel where you can take smaller side roads which not only have less traffic, but also allow entrance to the hotel without having to make any u-turns whatsoever. If you plant to return to the area, just alert the front desk which direction you are coming from and they will gladly give you detailed instructions on the best way to enter the parking lot.

I apologize about the front elevator being slow. As it is the main elevator it does see a lot of traffic, which is why we do have two additional elevators in the rear of the hotel, as well as three sets of staircases.

All of our guest rooms have refrigerators and microwaves as an added ammenity to our guests. We will do our best to address the issue with the refrigerator, but unfortunately we were not made aware of this problem during the stay or we would have rectified it immediately.

Breakfast is served daily from 6:00am-10:00am. We do not close the breakfast early for any reason. Unfortunately when we have sports teams in house, a lot of the kids come to breakfast together and it proves difficult to keep food out there. We have hired more breakfast bar staff and have not run into any problems since.

Thank you again for your review and we will address these problems right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Horrible. Dank, squallid, smoke-smelling room. Went to front desk to change room, I was informed that the hotel had a strict no smoking policy. Great, but the room still stunk. Sorry, no other rooms available.

Long black hairs on the floor of the bathroom, mold and other assorted dark stains on the sink and tub. Departed elevator on fourth floor, bulbous, barefoot man talking on phone sprawled on a couch in the hall.

Nightmarish.

Avoid! tremendously overpriced, with plenty of other options in the area.

Room Tip: Seek other acommodations in the area.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chipfromct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBeretsky, Manager at Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We take all reviews and comments about the hotel very seriously and use them to offer better accommodations each time someone comes to stay with us.

I deeply apologize for the smoke smell you experienced during your stay. I can assure you that we are 100% smoke free, and have been that way for over 5 years now. We do have a very strict smoking policy, and anyone who was found to have smoked in one of our rooms is charged a serious fine. While we do take all the necessary precautions to prevent the room from smelling before someone checks in again, it can be difficult to get rid of the smell. I have met with our Executive Housekeeper to address all the issues you have mentioned and we have developed an action plan to prevent them from occuring again.

We are excited to announce that we are currently in the begining stages of a full interior rennovation. This rennovation will include all new carpeting, new bathrooms, new wall coverings, new furniture, and new artwork in all guest rooms as well as public areas. We have just completed the bathrooms in our two demo rooms and are anxious to finish them so we can get approval to move forward. Continue to check back with us or follow us on Facebook to see how the rennovation process is coming along.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Mills
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
384 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington

Address: 1110 Baltimore Pike, Glen Mills, PA 19342-1060 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Concordville - Brandywine)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Glen Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Glen Mills
Price Range: $123 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Renovated Wyndham Garden Hotel is nestled in the heart of Glen Mills, PA only a short drive from Wilmington DE and Philadelphia PA. With over 3 million dollars in renovations in 2012/2013 our upscale hotel is truly the premier hotel in the Brandywine Valley. We offer 100% smoke free sleeping accommodations with microwaves and refrigerators in every room. 1 and 2 bedroom extended stay apartment suites with full kitchens as well as Whirlpool Suites, spacious King Suites and Queen Jr. Suites perfect for the business traveler. We offer free movie night on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday in our 200 seat theater style Auditorium. We hold a complimentary manager's reception each Wednesday. All newly furnished rooms have complimentary WIFI & 32 inch flat panel HDTVs and all suites have at least 2. Free local area shuttle service is available Monday through Friday from 8AM until 5PM. We feature a newly renovated and expanded fitness center and game room; outdoor seasonal pool, and free self service guest laundry. Located 5 miles from West Chester PA, Media PA & Kennett Square PA we are the perfect hub for a trip to our historic area. Enjoy our hot buffet breakfast breakfast daily with egg & omelet action station. Enjoy a cocktail or dinner in our recently renovated BW bistro located inside the hotel or relax in your room and let us serve you a fantastic room service dinner or dessert. Situated at the intersection of PA route 202 and US route 1 (Baltimore Pike); we are only 10 minutes from Interstate 95 and 25 minutes from the PA Turnpike (Downingtown Exit #312). Come see why everyone is talking about the Brandywine Valley Suites Hotel and make our home yours for a month or a day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Concordville - Brandywine
Holiday Inn Concordville
Concordville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing