We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen Mills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Grace Winery
Ranked #1 of 1 Glen Mills B&B and Inns
New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Absolute Perfection! We did a two-night stay beginning on the first day of summer, and we were welcomed like it was our own home. I visited this beautiful estate in Glen Mills, PA with someone who has intimate knowledge of the area, but it was her [and my] first time there. And the visit was unforgettable! The main house is stunning, in an old, comfortable way, sprinkled throughout with mementos and photographs of John Kelly, the Philadelphia contractor and champion rower who was Grace Kelly's father. We stayed in one of the outbuilding cottages, complete with fireplace, jacuzzi and all the modern amenities. Breakfast was outstanding, served on an outdoor patio with a view of the farm's horses, sheep and goats. You must like dogs to stay there, as the two resident hounds make their rounds through all visitors, and sometimes accompany you as you stroll the grounds. You can even bring your own dog there and stay if you choose. Of note this time of year - there is a swimming pool that's open at all times for a quick dip. It's worth the trip to spend some time in a relaxed, easy-going atmosphere. Just to sit under the stars ... to dream ... and be enchanted.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5w30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
69
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Sweetwater Farm for three days during the first weekend in June 2010. The property is just as beautiful as the images on their website. The innkeepers and the staff were welcoming, friendly, and eager to please.

One of the reasons why we selected Sweetwater Farm was because they had dog-friendly cottages and they didn’t mind if you left your dog in the room unattended for short periods of time (as long as they are well behaved). We stayed in the Window Box Cottage which has a living room, kitchen, bedroom and small bathroom. The cottage was clean and comfortable and decorated in a rustic, country style.

In the mornings, we enjoyed eating breakfast on the outdoor patio, which faced the pasture where the farm animals grazed. The food was very good; home baked goods, fresh fruit, and eggs, pancakes, etc. The innkeeper was also willing to cook something for those who had special dietary needs. Since the house dogs, Brogan and Rosie, lounged around the breakfast patio with the other guests, so I assumed it was ok to bring our dog with us instead of leaving him in the room by himself.

It was unseasonably warm during our stay, so after breakfast we took our dog for some outside activities before it got too hot. Ridley Creek State Park is about 15 minutes away, has free admission and allows dogs. At the advice of the innkeeper, we parked in lot #17, and walked along the paved trail in the woods. We also took our dog on a canoe trip down the Brandywine River via the Northbrook Canoe company located in West Chester about 30 minutes away. At first I was a little nervous that people might thing we were odd for brining our dog, but I was quickly put at ease when we entered the ticket office and saw dozens of pictures on the wall of dogs sitting in a canoe.

We spent our afternoons by the pool, reading and listening to music on the stereo. Our dog is small, well behaved, and afraid of water, so the owner said we could bring him into the fenced-in pool area. I don’t know if this generally allowed, but it was really nice to have the option of letting our dog off leash so he could run around for a little while.

One night we decided to take our dog out to dinner with us and the innkeeper was kind enough to find restaurants in the area with outdoor seating that allowed dogs. After dinner we put the dog back in the cottage while we played pool in the billiard room or sat outside talking with the other guests.

I realize most of my review focuses on the dog-friendly aspects of Sweetwater Farm, but I have to say that this place has something for everyone – not just dog owners.

Sweetwater Farm is now our favorite B&B and we look forward to returning there again next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiantFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We got married here and my husband surprised me with a 2 night stay for our 10 year anniversary. It was much nicer than 10 years ago! Everything is very well kept. Fitness room with a ping pong table was an added bonus. Pool looked nice, although it was a bit cool so we weren't able to use it. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Staff was courteous and helpful and offered discount tickets for Longwood Gardens. The stay was very relaxing and we'll definitely be back (hopefully in less than 10 years!).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mopsydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Went to Sweetwater for a spring wedding event and the farm was an integral part of the experience. Friendly staff, fields to roam, lots of activities.

The inn has a huge barn ideal for events, a golf chipping range, a pool, a grazing range for real horses...I wish I stayed longer so I could more fully explore, such as the hiking trail.

The inn itself is large and comfortable, with a range of guest cottages that are equally so. I had a comfortable 1 bed suite with a large bathroom and closet. There is free wifi throughout the premise as well as a computer with hi-speed internet in the den. There's a pool table, a huge massive welcoming kitchen andtons of outdoor porches and seating.

The staff were great, even partaking in some of the guest activities.

The icing on the cake was leaving something behind and the staff amazingly sent it overnight free of charge!

I'd definitely come back, and sooner rather than later. It's a short drive from Philadelphia (about 30 minutes) and the prices of the suites were extremely reasonable.

- will

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shenson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, OH
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed at Sweetwater Farm over New Year's weekend. The property is gorgeous and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. We stayed in The Brandywine Cottage so we had a place to get away and spend some quality time together but also had full access to The Manor House in which houses the kitchen, dining room and several comfy sitting rooms. Breakfast both days was delectable and the caring and friendly service was good enough to write home about! Can't wait until the winery is open.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We only spent one night at this lovely B&B since it was the first time we were traveling with our pet, but we had a wonderful time. We stayed in one of the pet-friendly cottages and found a basket with a blanket, bowl, and towel ready and waiting for our pup. What a nice touch that demonstrated caring attention to detail! Our cottage was adorable with its sitting area, old brick fireplace, full kitchen, and additional sitting area adjacent to the bedroom. The grounds are gorgeous, and long walks with our pup were relaxing, refreshing, and invigorating for all of us. All of the animals are friendly, including Brogan & Rosie, the horses, goats, and sheep. The nice things about this B&B are that the innkeepers are attentive yet not intrusive; you would never guess that Phila. is a short drive away when you're staying in this super-quiet place; and it's pet-friendly. And the grounds are so wide open that if you don't like animals, there's enough room for you, too! : ) We would definitely return to Sweetwater Farm; it's a short drive for us yet upon arrival, we felt as if we were light-years away from the cares and stress of our everyday lives.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnAddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

This was one of the nicest B and B's we've stayed at. There is plenty of staff and they totally make you feel like you're the only guest there. The breakfasts are amazing gourmet treats and if you have allergies, they'll make something special. We had a 5 year old with us and they managed his picky eating habits too.
The rooms were comfortable and clean, the grounds are beautiful and the pool was clean and refreshing. I honestly have nothing bad to say about this place, I hope we all go back again. There were 6 adults and a 5 year old. We had one couple in the Brandywine cottage and the other 2 couples with the 5 year old were in the greenhouse.
there's also a super friendly dog there who will take you on hikes through the woods. He's very well behaved.
The location feels like you're out in the middle of no where, yet you're really only 15 - 20 mins from all kinds of stuff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Mills
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
3.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
6.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
4.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Glen Mills/Concordville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grace Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grace Winery

Property: The Inn at Grace Winery
Address: 50 Sweetwater Rd, Glen Mills, PA 19342-1709 (Formerly Sweetwater Farm)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Glen Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Farm Hotel Glen Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing