We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing ambiance and wonderful accomodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen Mills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Grace Winery
Ranked #1 of 2 Glen Mills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing ambiance and wonderful accomodations”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

we were here on Memorial Day weekend 2013. The room (master suite) was wonderful, with clawfoot tub, separate shower, fireplace and a loveseat from which to read, watch the fire or the TV. many different places to relax, inside and out, and pretty grounds for walking on or just looking at. It was nice to see the different animals too. Highly recommended. Friendly and helpful staff as well. The only thing I was disappointed with was the breakfast: it was adequate but not great, with limited choices.

Room Tip: determine whether you want your own cottage, or a tub, or a kitchen or an outdoor table or two floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidslawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
69
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed one night in the Gardner's cottage which allows a small pet (a bowl, blanket and mat were placed in a basket for our puppy). Room was very clean, cozy and quaint. Bed was super comfortable as was the leather couch. Very nice, updated bathroom. Grounds are very well kept and beautiful. Lovely to walk around ot just sit outside. Breakfast was delicious and the innkeepers provided such warm, friendly service. Great restaurants nearby and also a lovely trail for a jog or a hike. Very relaxing, very private feel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mare520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed in the small "Herb" cottage on the grounds near the main house for 3 nights, and was thoroughly charmed by the countryside and the whole experience. There were horses and goats grazing in the field below the cottage, the room was warm and comfortable, the breakfast was perfect every morning - and stories seeped from every corner of the living rooms of that old house... War of Independence British soldiers had visited the house in September 1777 after the nearby battle of Brandywine, tended their horses, and stole whiskey from the cellar. Interested to find that the charming owner Chris Kelly is the late-Princess Grace Kelly's nephew. And the PHL airport is a useful 30 minutes drive away. I did also stay downtown in a name hotel ...and this was way nicer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickHayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldens Bridge, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Ever experience a great spot while away for a business conference that you wanted to return to for a relaxing get away for you and your spouse? Sweetwater Farm certainly came to mind for me when I visited earlier this week. The main house where I stayed had seven rooms, three in the old 1700's wing and another four in the newer 1815 addition, both sides accessible from extensive living room, dining room, kitchen, parlor and and lounge areas (with a lovely antique billiards table that got a lot of use from me). Eight additional rooms are located in attractive cottages near the manor house. There is a renovated barn with now houses meeting space and a winery with tastings on weekends of the six wines they produce from a five acre vineyard on the farm. There are horses, family dogs and a cheerful staff that add to the get-away experience.

Rooms are beautifully appointed, each with separate bath, and beds very comfortable after a long business meeting or confortable day touring the many attractions nearby. Breakfast was blueberry/banana pancakes with sausage during our overnight, which made for a great start to the day.

There is an outdoor pool which we did not see in January, during a very cold two days, but the in-room gas fireplaces warmed us well, and showers were always hot.

All in all, a great place for a small business meeting and a wonderful spot to come back to on your own.

Room Tip: I prefer the main house for ease in coming down to breakfast and the wonderful common rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttravellers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were three girlfriends on a three-day road trip to the Brandywine Valley to visit the duPont Mansions and gardens. A friend living in the area recommended the Sweetwater B&B and it was just right. The mansions, museums, and even QVC are all a relatively short drive away.

Sweetwater is a working farm with a barn, storage, an ice house (used as the farm’s offices – set half below ground, it looks like a hobbit lodging), a manor house (a Quaker farmhouse dating to the 1700‘s and expanded in the 1800s), and guest cottages scattered around the property. It even has dogs, horses and goats, completing the idyllic and picturesque setting. Located on about 50 acres, its owner is the nephew of the late Princess Grace of Monaco, explaining why its 5 acre vineyard is named Grace Winery.

Three of us shared the Greenhouse, a two-bedroom cottage with a large, open living room, high ceilings, a working fireplace, a large digital TV, comfortable leather armchairs, and an efficiency kitchen, French doors that open to a patio, and a large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and stall shower with rain showerhead. It was comfortable and decorated in a lovely, contemporary country style. We built a nice, cracking fire one evening using a wonderful product called EZlite Fire Starter - just place a packet on the wood, light a corner, and watch it go to work.

Breakfast was in the dining room of the Manor House. It was delicious with a slightly different combination of fresh fruit, baked items and cooked dishes each day we were there. You helped yourself to coffee, juices and a basket of homemade muffins, scones, or mini-danish on a sideboard. Cooked dishes were served individually but portions are on the small side. The first day we had rosemary pancakes, the second day we had eggs and Canadian bacon. Service was efficient but robotic. No small talk, a request for ketchup for the eggs was simply ignored, and a question for the innkeeper went unanswered.

Room Tip: The Greenhouse is described as family-friendly. But its bedrooms are furnished with queen-sized beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluenote18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is amazing and is truly a hidden gem. A perfect place to go and relax and unplugg. If you are in need of a BB in the PA area, this is the place to stay!

While I was here for business it is most certainly a place I want to go back to stay with my husband.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMMeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mezieres
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

After a long drive from Boston and its horrendous traffic, we couldn't dream of a better place to stay. Coming from Europe, I would say it's an ideal place to stay; it's closed to Philadelphia and there is a interesting places to visit : Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, etc. A few "chic" restaurants around the hotel, and as a foreigner I preferred the Texas Steak House and it's very colorful atmosphere.
Rooms in the main building are beautiful and comfortable. We really felt like home. After 2 days, we were ready to stay at least a week,so peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Mills
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Glen Mills/Concordville
4.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
6.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grace Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grace Winery

Property: The Inn at Grace Winery
Address: 50 Sweetwater Rd, Glen Mills, PA 19342-1709 (Formerly Sweetwater Farm)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Glen Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Farm Hotel Glen Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing