We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, In Every Way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Grace Winery
Ranked #1 of 1 Glen Mills B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2011

What a great experience it was to stay at Sweetwater Farm, not only is it the most wonderfully relaxing and beautiful place to stay, but you are treated so well by the knowledgeable and friendly staff.
It is a winery and bed and breakfast, and there is a tasting room in the barn.
This place is elegance and style all the way, without losing sheer comfort. I stayed in the William Penn room, very comfortable bed with great quality sheets and bedding. Blissful.
Breakfast the next morning was divine.
The only downside.... I had to leave.
Chris, Farrell & Sean - wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Grace Winery
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

My parents, husband, and I spent 3 relaxing days at this lovely farm. My husband and I stayed in the Garden room- a small but bright and airy room with a view of the yard, pasture, and pool. My parents stayed in the Dormer room, which included a desk and sitting area. Guests in the Dormer room must remain vigilant to avoid making unintended contact with the sloping ceiling when rising from the chairs in the sitting area. Both the Garden room and Dormer room are located in the pre-Revolutionary War (1734) portion of the farm house.

One of the highlights of each day, after waking up for an early morning walk around the farm's 50 acres or a workout in the fitness room, is the wonderful breakfast served on the back patio. The staff members who serve the breakfast are warm, friendly, and helpful people who invite guests to challenge the chef by making special culinary requests.

Sweetwater Farm is heaven to bookworms like me and my family. An eclectic assortment of books can be found in the guestrooms and common areas of the farmhouse. Guests and visitors to the farmhouse will also notice books, photos, and memorabilia related to the late Princess Grace of Monaco. Grace Kelly was the aunt of the owners of Sweetwater Farm.

Grace Winery (also named after Grace Kelly) opened on the grounds of the farm just a few years ago but it's already producing a surprisingly tasty wine. Guests are invited to make themselves at home in all common areas of the house, including the kitchen. We located a corkscrew and ice bucket in the kitchen and ventured outside to enjoy the bottle of wine we had purchased at the winery. Cicadas provided a harmonious background to our conversation- a lovely way to wrap up a beautiful day.

We've already made reservations for next summer. We'll be staying in the Greenhouse cottage. Next summer can't arrive soon enough!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cape_May_Mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The room was wonderful and the bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever had in a hotel. The bathroom was clean and modern and had high quality toiletries. They were very accommodating to our pet and our room had a large, private deck outside. The breakfast was good and they have other amenities we didn't have time to use - pool, fitness room, disc golf, etc. We were within 15 minutes of West Chester restaurants and had a fabulous dinner. All in all, a relaxing, comfortable, quiet stay. We will definitely keep them in mind for future trips in the Philadelphia area.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with your pet, the Herb Cottage is perfect!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEBRandBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We love this place! We are going again in a few weeks for our fifth time. The Greenhouse is gorgeous, the Hideaway and Master are also favorites. The food is great. Innkeepers are wonderful. Far enough away but close to all conveniences. Spotless always.

Room Tip: Cottages are great, Master in the main building also wondeful
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radius65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

spent 3 nites at the inn- 2 couples . we had the caldweel room and our friends had the georgian room across the hall. both were in the newer addition to the main house ( 1800s).

room was fine- not the biggest or smallest but vey clean. bathroom was large and shower pressure was good.

2 minor issues-

1. cannot control a/c from the rooms in the main house- the a/c is central.so our first nite the room was quite warm. i mentioned it to the innkeeper the next morning and they did make the central a/c cooler for the next 2 nites.

2. no fridge in room- although the inn did allow us to store some things in the inn's fridge.

the grounds were beautiful- lots of old trees and lovely flowers. the pool was functioning but cold.

breakfasts were tasty and the servers were so friendly. they also had sangria out around 5ish daily and some sort of dessert item out most nites, complimentary.

location was fine- really quiet area but a 15 mi nute drive to some of the local attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank z235e49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I was struck by a sense of place as I approached the inn via the carriageway. This is a lovely inn in a very pleasant setting. The place radiates warmth and charm. Sweetwater Farm is located in a sparsely populated section of the Brandywine Valley and is comprised of a fieldstone manor and a number of outbuildings referred to as the cottages. A barn on the property has been converted to an event venue for weddings, social activities and wine tasting, a consequence of the launch of the farm’s recent Grace Winery initiative.
The inn’s common areas are located off a spacious foyer on the first floor of the main house and include two salons, a billiard room and a dining room supported by a modern commercial grade kitchen. Fireplaces abound throughout the facility. An internet access PC and printer work station is located in one of the salons. Individual guest rooms are located on the building’s second floor. A large porch runs the length of the main house and is outfitted with wicker chairs, sofas and tables. A covered dining patio is adjacent to the porch. The porch and patio overlook the swimming pool, expansive grounds and vineyards.
The cottages are located on the northeast side of the property. Our accommodation was the Hemphill cottage which commanded a rate of $240.00 for our Friday evening stay. The large room had a gas fireplace and was outfitted with a queen size bed, chest of drawers, end tables, two comfortable lounge chairs and a flat panel television. There was also a small closet and adjacent mini-bar area furnished with coffee service and a microwave oven.
The large marbled bathroom was outfitted with a marble vanity fixture with his and hers sinks, a whirlpool tub, large glass encased walk-in shower with a rain shower head and a separate compartment for the toilet. A dual capacity luggage bench with generous storage and hanging fixtures was located along one wall. A complete range of complimentary toiletries were available.
The entrance to the cottage is through a porch which overlooks the inn’s landscape and corral which is home to the inn’s barnyard bunch, horses, sheep and goats. The porch has two Adirondack chairs.
A complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Light refreshments are available through the day and we arrived just in time to sample a delicious chocolate torte, the featured sweet for afternoon tea.
The housekeeping is immaculate and the grounds are beautifully maintained. The innkeepers are pleasant and very helpful. A number of dining alternatives are close by. The Dilworthtown Inn is noteworthy.
There is nothing pretentious about Sweetwater Farm which makes it so comfortable, peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewJerseyMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This place is unbelievable. The title of my review says it all. This was my wife and my second stay at the Sweetwater Farm and it gets better every time. The location is wonderful – a gorgeous 50 acre farms with a couple of horses and goats and of course Brogan the wonderfully smart and friendly dog. The rooms are impeccably decorated and the public rooms are wonderful to lounge around in – especially by the fireplace on a cold winter’s night. If you are looking for a unique and stylish bed and breakfast in the Philadelphia area, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Mills
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
3.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Glen Mills/Concordville
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grace Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grace Winery

Address: 50 Sweetwater Rd, Glen Mills, PA 19342-1709 (Formerly Sweetwater Farm)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Glen Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Mills
Price Range: $211 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Grace Winery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Grace Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Farm Hotel Glen Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing