We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Glen Mills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stay in a lot of Hilton-branded hotels in the course of a year. Some Hampton Inns are good, some are bad, and some are indifferent. This property is about four years old, still in pretty decent physical shape, and falls squarely in the middle of the pack. This Hampton Inn and Suites brands itself as HI Chadds Ford in a clear effort to attract the Brandywine tourist trade but is in fact in far less glamorous Glen Mills. The room rates are appreciably higher than at most similar properties. They seem to book a fair number of large wedding parties at group rates, clearly an effort to boost weekend occupancy rates.

On my first visit, shortly after it opened, this HI&S was surrounded by weed-covered undeveloped vacant lots; now it is surrounded by several chain restaurants with their sprawling asphalt parking lots, which I guess is an improvement of sorts. This HI has wrap-around parking lots on all four sides, convenient to a number of entrances, and is now nicely landscaped as well.

This property is well-maintained, but the guest rooms seem to be much more dated in decor and amenities than many other HIs of similar age. Our room's furnishings were dark, and the CFL lighting was dim, making the ambience very dreary and depressing. Unlike most other HIs, this one does not offer refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms. The breakfast room fare was so-so: the hot items were barely lukewarm and the coffee was only borderline potable.

On both of my stays, the front desk staff declined my request for a suite upgrade, which many other HI&S properties provide as a courtesy to Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond members. Other Hilton-branded properties in nearby towns and over the border in Wilmington DE offer far more and better amenities and often at lower room rates.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiscford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for returning to our property after several years away! I understand your concerns regarding the darkness of the CFL bulbs and we are working our way towards a brigher lighting solution for our guests. I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast, and we will work on our food and coffee offerings immediately.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you are making any future reservations for our property and I will do my best to assist you. We do understand your desire for a complimentary upgrade, and do our best to honor that amenity when available. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 603 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stay in many, many different Hamptons (and other hotels) every year for business travel. This one is always very nice. The rooms are invariably spotlessly clean, the staff is always welcoming (even in the wee hours of the morning), the little store is always stocked, and the location is convenient to restaurants and shopping. I always have my choice of where to stay in the area, and I always choose the Hampton.

Room Tip: They're all fine, but I like to be on the second floor near either set of stairs - that way I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiscford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

We are so happy to have you back! Building a strong relationship with our guests is one of the most enjoyable aspects of the hospitality industry and we are so glad that you continue to be happy with our location. Another new restaurant will be conveniently opening up the street in a few weeks, so we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn for the second time while visiting family. What a great place to stay. I reviewed this inn before, but wanted to add a few notes. The breakfast menu included a scrambled egg with sausage on a bun. It was very good- my children and I ate every bite. The breakfast room was very crowded when we were last here- 4th of July weekend. This year, on a Monday morning, there was plenty of room. We used the pool for the first time- large for an inside hotel pool- my family and our guests had lots of fun. There are still no fridges in the rooms, however, I "fridge rooms" are available on request. We especially appreciated two queen-size beds in one room. A great night's sleep. Plenty of room in parking. Many new businesses in area: restaurants, banks, shopping center, etc.

I wish parents would keep their little kids from running up and down the halls in the morning, but that's not the Inn's fault.

Room Tip: The roads around the Inn can be a little confusing- especially when approaching from the east. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berniega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiscford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your return stay to our property! The Bagel Topper breakfast is a popular one, and you’re right – almost always a hit with kids. We still feature refrigerators and microwaves in our King Studio Suites, but not in our standard rooms at this time.

A note for your next travel to our area – if you are coming up Route 1 North, turn Left at the traffic light at Route 202, and then make your first Right onto our road (State Farm Drive). That will bring you directly to the hotel and save you the headache of the u-turn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Reserved two adjoining suite type rooms, for two families of four, and they worked out perfectly. Plently of room for the four kids to have their area, while the parents were able to enjoy their area in peace. The rooms were very clean and they are appointed with a small microwave and refrigerator. The hotel is in a great area, and even has two eating establishments in the parking lot. The hotel also offers free wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiscford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the adjoining King Studio Suites worked well for you! The added amenities of the mini-refrigerator and microwave plus the seating area are usually a hit with our guests. We look forward to hosting you again, and hope you have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Don't be fooled by the mid-level chain perspective of a Hampton Inn. This is a really outstanding property for the price. Extremely clean and new. Check in was spot on and they were able to get us in early. Room was perfectly clean with extra fresh towels. Very livable with a pantry with sink, coffee maker and microwave. Shower pressure was great.
Substantial breakfast offerings in the am, complimentary.

It is right in the middle of the Brandywine Valley historic area with lots of corporations and competition in the area. I am familiar with all the properties and this has no match. If you have reason to travel here of want a more economically sound hotel just minutes from Wilmington De., choose this property, you won't be disappointed. A Texas Roadhouse and Chick fil a are on the same pad and a terrific local high-end steak house is right across the street as well.

Enjoy

Room Tip: I stayed in a King Suite. It was spacious, and very user friendly. Worth the modest upgrade price. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davek36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiscford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us! We work hard to please all of our guests and have passed on your feedback to the staff. We hope you will chose to stay with us in the future, and are sure your next experience will be just as wonderful. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The room was nice, but terrible view of the roof (room 223). Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The only negative was the breakfast. The eggs were powdered, the oatmeal had too much water, and the meat was an odd sausage. On the good side, the coffee was decent. Stick with the yogurt, breads and fruit. It seemed a bit expensive, $130 per night. Overall, it was good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busyDsweetness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiscford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the hot items offered on our complimentary breakfast, but am glad that you enjoyed the bedding and guest room! We have passed on your feedback regarding the breakfast and hope we will have a more enjoyable breakfast offering should you return! You are correct that the guest room you referenced looks out over our pool roof, but feel free to request a high floor during your next trip and we think you'll enjoy that view much more! Thank you again, and we hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed two nights at this Hampton Inn. Modern, clean, comfortable and well run. Parking, wi Fi and breakfast are included in the rate. Convenient location on Route 1 with easy access to Brandywine, Longwood Gardens, DuPont Estates and other area sights.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiscford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding our hotel! We're glad you appreciated all of our complimentary amenities and hope you will chose to stay with Hampton Hotels again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Mills
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
2.7 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford

Address: 40 State Farm Dr, Glen Mills, PA 19342-1075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Glen Mills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Glen Mills
Price Range: $119 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chadds Ford
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford Hotel Glen Mills
Hampton Inn Chadds Ford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing