We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Roof Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Girard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Roof Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girard
Certificate of Excellence
Champion, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

All the people were very nice and the service was really good. The rooms were very clean and has a nice shower and bathroom. The beds were comfortable and clean. They have a nice breakfast areas with different kinds of breakfast foods like bagels. It is a very nice motel and we will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morganhart86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Front Office Manager at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
27
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The rooms were clean and the staff was excellent. The area to clean fish was kept in clean order and out of the wind which is very helpful. The rooms were very comfortable. The kitchenette was just right for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razzy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Front Office Manager at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff works hard to make our guests comfortable and we are so glad that the fishermen like our fish cleaning station. Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed over for short vacation, with our dogs, enjoyed ourselves greatly. Staff very friendly, room clean, and very peaceful stay. Room was spacious enough for my husband and our two large dogs. Very affordable for accommodating pets. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Front Office Manager at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad that you and your pets enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Hall, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We travel to Girard every year for the holidays and each time we stay in a different location. This year we decided to stay at the Green Roof Inn based on the ratings it got from TripAdvisor.

We booked a single room with king bed in the main building. Check-in was seamless and our room was surprisingly large and clean. There was a jacuzzi tub in the corner of the room but it was not operable for whatever reason. Signs were placed around it saying that it was not to be used.

I was impressed with the clean smell of the room and the abundance of soft fluffy towels. The bed sheets were clean, soft, and had a hint of bleach. The room was equipped with a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and toaster...but no hairdryer. We are so used to having one available in the room that we didn't think to pack one and didn't see later that they were available at the front desk. Odd that the room would have a toaster and not a hairdryer!

The only cons we had with this room was the bed and what appeared to be thin walls since we could hear our neighbor talking on the phone for quite some time during our last evening there. Back to the bed - it appeared to be a little softer than what we are used to but it could have been because the mattress seemed worn out. After sitting or reading in bed both evenings, we could both feel the metal coils in our hip and shoulder areas which made for a very uncomfortable two nights of sleep. I could actually feel the metal coils of the mattress with my fingers. The final night I wound up switching directions to sleep at the foot of the bed which did offer more support.

One other downside of our visit was the promised continental breakfast. Upon checking in, we were told that due to the holiday the following morning, breakfast (coffee and pastries) would not be available until 10 am. That morning my husband went over at 10:15 to find the room dark and the attendant said she hadn't even turned the coffee maker on. Since we were on a schedule and had plans that day, we wound up going to the nearby Sheetz for breakfast so we wouldn't be delayed.

Other than the few things above, this place is extremely clean, rates are reasonable and the staff are friendly. I'm willing to give the Green Roof Inn another try next year but will opt for another style room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gokartchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Owner at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Your comments are appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay, minus the bed being uncomfortable and not knowing about the hair dryers and ironing boards. We are in the process of updating the furniture in the rooms, slowly but surely. Marie (Manager) and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosperity
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a very clean and comfortable room. We had never stayed here before and did not even know where it was. We were heading to Ohio from NY and wanted a place about half way. The rate was good. We travel with a dog so finding a true 'pet friendly' motel is not easy. The gal that handled my reservation was very helpful. We arrived in the dark and pouring rain. The room that we were scheduled to get was in a different building so the gal on the desk asked if we wanted to stay right there close to the office. Parking was good for the truck/trailer combo so we decided to stay put. Good choice. Plenty of room for the dog to run (of course pick up after her). Got back on the highway in quick time the next morning. We did not want to stay in Erie because it was too busy and area. This was l5 minutes away and very quiet. Our room was a single with two double beds and a couch as well as a table and chairs. Quite spacious.

Room Tip: They have several buildings. When in doubt inquire as to what would fit your needs the best. They ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldengirlsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Owner at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Your comments are appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make your stay with us the most comfortable it can be. Marie (Manager) and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a delightful couple of days at the Green Roof Inn in one of the one bed room appartments. Great facility, comfortable, well apointed and clean. We were particularly impressed with the "drying" room with shelves and racks and places to hang waders, boots, rain coats and other gear. since we got both rain and snow it was great to have all the gear dry for the next day. THANKS folks, that was super!

One of the highlights it the excellant fish cleaning station. Well lit, out of the weather and really makes cleaning fish easy and enjoyable. Five Stars for that nice feature!!!

The only down side is the futon in the living room. Please consider replacing this with a twin day bed or a pull out couch. The staff was nice enough to provide a roll away bed to use instead and that went a long way to getting a good nights sleep. The folks at check in did a great job of doing all they could to insure we were happy and comfortable.


Room Tip: Please consider replacing the futon with a twin day bed or a pull out couch. A nice chair or recline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alra195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Owner at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Your comments are appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We are working on getting a pull out couch back in that room to replace the futon. Marie (Manager) and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My family and I rented two rooms recently. One was a queen and the other was two doubles. The rooms were very clean and orderly. The rooms had good space, each had a small table with two chris, a refrigerator and microwave. Tis motel is off the beaten path.. Very quiet. Neighbors were kinda noisy but not disorderly. Most tenants seemed to retire early cause they fished. There is a continental breakfast with coffee, bagels, donuts, pastries, toast etc. again, the eating area was clean and good sized.. The staff were very friendly.. This is a casual place.. It is also pet friendly, although I did not see or hear any dogs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Owner at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Your comments are appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the slight disturbance of your neighbors. Marie (Manager) and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girard
17.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#6 of 38 in Erie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
14.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie
14.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
10.7 mi away
The Seasons Inn at Nick's Place
17.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Roof Inn

Property: The Green Roof Inn
Address: 8790 Meadville Rd, Girard, PA 16417-9228
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Girard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and helpful staff. Ironing boards, irons, hair dryers available at front desk. Free ice for our guests. Call anywhere from your room with no extra charge. We have 29 spacious, ground level, comfortable rooms including 6 kitchenettes and 4 apartments all set in a quiet, country setting. We are conveniently located on Meadville Rd (PA Route 18), 2-miles south of I-90 Exit 9. Great restaurants (Crowley's Restaurant next door), golf courses, shops and convenience stores are nearby.Frequent guests are anglers, hunters, contractors, soccer players, kennel club members, and of course, I-90 travelers. We are only 15 minutes from Erie Pa, mid-way between Cleveland, OH and Buffalo NY and are only 4 miles from Albion PA. We do appreciate all the people that take the time to give us a review of their stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Roof Hotel Girard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing