We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic but enjoyable”
Review of The Green Roof Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Girard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Roof Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Green Roof Inn in Girard, Pa, just outside Erie, is a rustic motel, but very clean and enjoyable. The grounds are well kept, and large, if you have a dog that likes to run. The rooms are spacious, (especially the two bedroom apt., and it's like being in your own place. Friendly staff and easy access to the interstate. Had a great time, and will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Owner at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Your comments are appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay. See you next time. Marie (Manager) and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 137 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Booked the Green Roof Inn because we like to take our three Goldens on trips with us. Staff was very helpful when we had to change our reservation date due to last minute circumstances. We booked the two bedroom apartment at a super affordable rate and it was great for the three dogs to have so much room. The surroundings are wonderful and well kept. Very secluded. Only wish we had known there was a bar/restaurant just yards away! The rooms are clean and pleasant. Based on our experience, we'll return to Erie just to take advantage of the Inn.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with dogs ask for the 200 rooms in a location next to the main facility. Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Owner at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Your comments are appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope your Goldens enjoyed their stay too. Marie (Manager) and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Tired of the overpriced motels in Erie, PA. Checked out the Green Roof Inn, 15 minutes from Erie. Well worth the drive. Greeted by Rhonda(who also did our booking by phone). Very pleasant, helpful lady. Room was very clean, large, comfortable & affordable. Also, pet friendly which is very important to us. Lots of hot water for showers. Nice breakfast available. Quite country location, lots of green; lots of places to walk your dog. Picnic tables available to sit & relax after a long day (golfing). Crowley's Restaurant next door-excellent food. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Quiet area. Any room wood be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Manager at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Your comments are appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Ronda thanks you for the kind words. Glad you were happy with our areas to enjoy a walk with your pets. Marie (Manager) and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went fishing with Something Catchy Charters and we caught 3 limits of walleye and 40 perch on the PC Queen. After fishing nice to stay somewhere clean and comfortable! The staff was helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrtrout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Manager at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Your comments are appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Good to hear your fishing went well. Marie (Manager) and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stay at the Green Roof each year during our fishing trip. The rooms are very nice and clean. There is a fish cleaning station and plenty of free ice to keep the fish cold in our coolers. Joyce, Rhonda and Staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in the country, for a peaceful and relaxing stay. Just like at home!

Room Tip: Rooms are nice no matter which one you stay in. We have stayed in a double room as well as the 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Manager at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Your comments are appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay. You are always welcome to take some breakfast items back to your room the night before if you would like to. Marie (Manager) and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were traveling home from a vacation in CT. Wanted to break up our trip near Erie, PA. Prices for lodging in Erie were out-of-sight and most places had no vacancies that fit what we wanted. Found The Green Roof Inn on-line through tripadvisor. This is a very nice locally owned hotel. The room was very large. The bed was comfortable. The motel appeared to be well maintained and our room was very clean. The room had many amenities; small refrigerator with separate freezer, microwave, free wireless, coffee maker, nice size table with chairs, an easy chair, etc. We felt the price was excellent. The continental breakfast was okay. When we next travel this route, we will definitely try to stay here. Ronda was a very gracious host and added to the pleasure of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLSimon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Manager at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Your comments and compliments are appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay. See you in the future. Marie (Manager) and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

JOYCE was great!! Nice rooms very convenient! Great price! Will probably stay again! Had a good stay! Quiet place! They have bagged ice! Joyce helped us out greatly she should of just gave us tour!! She should get a raise for all the knowledge she has of the area and great personality!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bearclaw815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Green-Roof-Inn, Manager at The Green Roof Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Your comments are appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Marie (Manager) and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Green Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Roof Inn

Address: 8790 Meadville Rd, Girard, PA 16417-9228
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Girard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girard
Price Range: $56 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Roof Inn is located in Girard, Pennsylvania on 50 acres of land. We offer several different room types for one to six guests per room. We have three buildings and all rooms are ground level and have free parking in front of your rooms. We have plenty of boat parking for our fishermen guests and have a heated fish cleaning station with picnic tables and a grill if a guest would like to cook-out. We also offer a fire-pit with free firewood for our guests that like to have a fire on a cool evening. We are a pet-friendly Inn and have plenty of space for our four legged guests. We are located about 20 minutes from all the great things that Erie has to offer and 10 minutes from the lake. We have many wonderful restaurants in the area and two that will deliver food right to your room. All rooms have a coffee pot, mini-fridge, and microwaves and hair dryers, irons, and ironing boards, and cots are available upon request. We have an great staff that is waiting to serve you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Roof Hotel Girard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing