We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and neat campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardners
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Creek Campground
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very clean and neat campground”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had our first camping trip of the season at Mountain Creek on an extended Father's Day weekend. Although it was very busy, the bathrooms were always clean - a must for me. When campers checked out, a staff member came to the site to clean out the fire pit and pick up any unburned wood and/or trash. Most of the sites are quite roomy for a private campground except for those around Pavilion 2. Stay clear of these if you don't like to be crowded in.

The staff (many young people) was friendly and helpful. They gave us early check in and check out without charge - very appreciated. The site charges were quite reasonable to begin with.

One suggestion I have is to mark the site boundaries with more than just arrows on the hookup box which indicate where you should plug in, not actually where your site is. According to those arrows, our site, 131,would have had a huge tree right in the middle. There should have been something indicating that the site was actually between the two large trees. We noticed walking around, that none of the sites had clearly marked boundaries. If a greedy person set up on a next door site and spread their stuff out before you get there, it would leave you with a smaller space. Believe me, there are people like that.

Overall, it is a great campground, and we will definitely return again. Hopefully, we will get a creek-side site. Reserve early to get one of those. They are the most desirable. The creek is lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Archwilk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
25
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you are looking for a nice clean campground this is the place. Bathrooms and showers are clean and the staff works hard at keeping them that way. They have a nice virety of sites and some that are right along the creek. On the weekends the have plenty to do for kids and folks of all ages. Pool is clean. There is also a lot of stuff near by like hiking Pole Steeple.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptdfrs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I camped during one of our first outings with a new RV. We found the campgrounds to be clean and well maintained, even in pre-season. The staff was very accomadating and helpful. As new campers, we experienced a couple of glitches with our new trailer and two different staff members went out of their way to help and offer advice. The sites on the creek were great, and very large. Plan to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

It was a clean campground with a nice stream to play in since the pool was closed because the power was out (July 2012)
We did not find the owners friendly - as a matter of fact their children which help run the place were rude. These people were most accomadating to their permies (regulars) however they were only interested in $ when it came to out of towners. No Recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Camping alongside of a creek was fun and very relaxing. The only bad thing about it was there was only one restroom and it was on the other side of the creek. Not normally a problem but when you're camping next to a burbling brook, waking up in the morning can get a little...urgent.

I'm actually thinking of purchasing a camping toilet for the next time I'm camping there.

The pool was nice although closed when we got there. It was close to Gettysburg and Lancaster and had everything I could possible need in the nearby town. The only thing it was not close to was Allentown for the Weird Al concert, but we were not really planning to go to that. It caught us by surprise on the radio and we shifted some of our plans to go and see it.

Had we known about that in advance we might have picked a more central campground.

But other than that it was a good stay.

Pros: Well stocked camp store even during the off season, ice cream was yummy, the brook was lovely to go to sleep next to and the nearby town had everything one could possibly need in an emergency.

Cons: Only one bathhouse which was a bit of a distance to get to from the creek-side sites.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skruddgemire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We camped at Mountain Creek Campground and just loved it. Our sites were on the creek and were very large! We actually put our motorhome across the site. The site was shaded and went right down to the creek. We could sit there and watch the children go tubing down the creek. The children had a blast! There were activities for them to participate and they loved the playground and swimming pool. One night they had a movie on a big screen at the swimming pool. You could swim in the water and watch the movie. They also had a hay wagon ride through the campground. The camp store was well stocked and the prices were reasonable.

We were on a site that was only water & electric but they had 3 dump stations on your way out. They also had a honeywagon that would come to your site for a fee. The sites were reasonably priced. There were some sites that were around the pole building. They were close to each other. There are many sites that are nice and big. We will visit this campground again!

I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the sites around the pole building being too close and the tent area was under water in spots after a rain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GerriDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We've been up there this last memorial day weekend. The place is really crowded, not clean (to say the least), and had the worst customer service. The women in the office was horrible, just an old bitter unfriendly person and never heard of customer service. I bought an item that wasn't working at their store, she wouldn't accept it back 5 minutes later. This people never heard of cleaning once in a while. Poor. You should be a shame ...

The area is beautiful and there are many other places to stay out there, including quite a few campgrounds. Do yourselves a favor and find another place to stay at

Room Tip: Stay away ! Bad place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Creek Campground

Property: Mountain Creek Campground
Address: 349 Pine Grove Rd, Gardners, PA 17324-8817
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gardners
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Gardners
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing