We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find.”

White Horse Luncheonette
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Gap
Restaurant details
Foster, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Find.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Really Great Find. Driving from Gettysburg to Philly on route 30 you will find every chain restaurant imaginable. We were looking for something a bit more interesting. Found this place on trip adviser and took a chance. Beautiful setting and short drive (15 minutes) of beautiful corn fields and views. Friendly staff and good burgers. Also enjoyed ice tea with mint. Chalk up one very positive memory.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anthonyfranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Cheese Steak ever!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were told they had the best cheese steak around, and they were right! I got mine as a wrap. Good choice! The hamburger was good too. We'll definitely eat here again on our next trip!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoniaA913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I heard that this place was really good. I took the family here for dinner one evening. The staff was fine but I don't see what is so great. The three of us ordered different items and although it wasn't awful, it was just kinda bland. We gave it a try but will not be revisiting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CountryFolk180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
303 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“A Slice Of Heaven”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The White Horse Luncheonette is perfect. Best food, best atmosphere, best service, best staff and ownership in the area. You will enjoy every minute you spend in this family owned restaurant. And they will treat you like family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
187 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were visiting from Arizona and just happen to be driving by early morning. From the minute we walked in, Darlene made us feel like we were locals. Great coffee, food, prices, and more. Darlene gave us a sample of very tasty Scrapple, we had never heard of before. We became friends with Darlene just talking during our breakfast even though she was busy. We couldn't leave without trying a slice of Shoo-fly pie.
We witnessed locals eating and ordering take out exchanging friendship with Darlene and us. A treat was to hear Darlene and her niece sing Happy Birthday to a young boy as he was served a pancake with a lighted candle.
We will always come back here when we visit again. A very special thank you to Darlene from her new friends from Surprise, AZ!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Horse Luncheonette also viewed

 
Gap, Lancaster County
 

Been to White Horse Luncheonette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing