We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view of the Allegheny River is worth the price!”
Review of Foxburg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Foxburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foxburg Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Foxburg B&B and Inns
Millersville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The view of the Allegheny River is worth the price!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here two nights in August. It wasn't our first stay, nor will it be our last. The king room was spacious and very clean, but the best part was the view of the river from our window. We always enjoy wine tasting at the wine shop right across the parking lot and stopping in the candy store for some good chocolate. While we were in the chocolate shop the owner was feeding her baby some fresh acorn squash, which added to the down home atmosphere. If you ride bikes, be sure and ride the rail trail that starts in Emlenton and follows the Allegheny River for about 30 miles. Next visit we want to rent kayaks, which are available right beside the Foxburg Inn. The pizza shop has a great breakfast at a very reasonable price to get your day started!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayaker201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
12
52
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Check in for us was a breeze. They do ask for your credit card. But I completely understand why. The staff was gracious enough to let my parents check in prior to us arriving and completing the transaction. We appreciated that they did not have my parents wait in the lobby until we arrived.
The room was clean and to our amazement quit roomy. They have a 4 cup coffee pot and provide you with coffee filters and coffee/creamer/sugar. Free bottle water, muffins and granola bars in the small fridge. The bathroom was large enough and very clean.They give you plenty of towels. We stayed the 3rd floor, which was our choice becauce it was quieter and the view was amazing.
They helped make our nephew and our new niece's wedding gorgeous! The food was very good, the staff was right on track. Special Arrangements from New Castle did the flowers and decorating. It was simply amazing.
We ate breakfast at the pizza shop next door. The eggs were good. The pancakes were nothing to write home about. But all and all very good service. And not to pricey.
The winery next door has some good blends. The Merlot was very good. The sweeter wines are not our favorite, but we did here very good compliments.
We were shocked to see such a hidden gem in the middle of a very small town.
Thank you to the Foxburg Inn for making a joyess weekend even more special.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor. The 2nd floor has the patio right off your rooms and the privacy level is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was a wonderful, clean hotel. I only had one concern. The lady that checked me in, her name was Tracy. She said she was new therefore I was trying to be patient but it was frustrating because she seemed to know NOTHING about her job or the hotel it's self. It took her three times to tell me where my room was ( it was one floor down on the elevator) and she did not know how to run my credit card so she attempted to make a copy of it until I stopped her. Why on earth would you need a copy of my card? She got rude and nasty when I asked her this, finally there were papers to be signed at check in and she shoved them in my face and said to sign saying I agree to pay my bill and check out at 11:00am. After getting done with all of this the rest of my stay was great but the first impression is difficult to get over.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLSWORTH, ohio
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were staying here while celebrating our 50th anniversary. Foxburg Inn is a comfortable and clean hotel overlooking the Allegheny River. Check-in takes a while due to their procedure of making a copy of "everything" in your wallet. (You would think a credit card would work) . We had a King since the suites were all booked for a wedding party (The fellow checking in ahead of me was working his way thru check-in of 5 or 6 rooms.). The gratis breakfast "Continental" consisted of a muffin and coffee in your room. Ate next door at the pizza shop for $22 . A very popular place in that resevations are suggested 6 weeks in advance for a week-end. Also, the Inn is right next to the Allegeheny Grille.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thee_whiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed in one of the Suites and it happened to be on the first floor with access to the back deck. The room was big and spacious just like it was described, windows on both sides since it is a corner room, beautiful view. Clean! Ask for a wine basket if it is a special occasion very reasonable! Will be back.

Room Tip: Corner suites very beautiful and if you ask for the 1st floor you will have direct access to the dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Spent 3 days her with my wife to get away from the city (Pittsburgh). We stayed in a suite which was very nice. The room is large and has a king beg, a large bathroom with a jacuzzi, 2 easy chairs and a side table between them, and a small table with 3 chairs that is useful for meals and laptops. And a flat TV mounted on the wall. Plus a gas fireplace. The suites are well designed and are at the corner of the building with 2 large picture windows. One that faces the landscaped garden and one that faces the river. The Wifi woked well too. Cell phone reception is spotty though due to the location in a rural area.

It was very enjoyable just to have breakfast sitting by the picture window looking down the Allegheny River lined with forest. They give you coffee and muffins and granola bars for free in the in room small refrigerator. Plus they have a coffee maker with coffee and cream and sugar and sweeter in the room. So it was convenient to not have to go out to get breakfast. If you want the Foxburg Pizza next door makes omelets and waffles and pancakes for breakfast which you can bring back to your room or eat there. They open at 6:30 AM.

There are only 2 suites. Most of the other rooms are 2 double beds or a king bed and also have the refirgerator, coffee maker, etc. They angle the window at the end of the other rooms so you face down the river to get the view.

The town also has a winery, a restaurant, a chocolate shop/coffee shop that makes hand made chocolates and fancy coffees in the style of Starbucks. Plus there are 2 shops to rent bikes, canoes, and Segway scooters. They have organized tours of the Foxburg mansion and grounds on the Segway tours. Plus there are horsedrawn carriage rides. There is also an artists craft shop but we were there during the weekdays and the craft shop is only open on weekends.

All the stores are clustered together near the hotel and restaurant.

Prices are very reasonable. The suite was $199 a night plus we got our triple A discount so it was less than that. The restaurant is casual and the food varies from sandwiches to specials. I had Chicken Marsala one night that was very good.

The redevelopment of the main street is the project of a Dr. Steffe who is an orthopedic surgeon who retired to Foxburg after making 100s of millions by developing the Steffe Plates that are used widely in orthopedic back surgery. The town has only developed as a tourist destination in the last 5 to 10 years. Dr. Steffe and his wife live in the Foxburgh mansion where some of the Segway and horse cart tours are given.

In addition there is a building used for musical performances including members of the Pittsburgh symphony who come up to give string concerts or brass concerts.

The Pizza Shop also sells six packs of beer that you can bring back to your room. There is a nice walking/biking path that you can take down to the Clarion River and further where the Clarion River meets the Allegheny. Plus there is also a bar whithin the restaurant with television sets.

In addition to Foxburgh there are a number of places that are an easy driving distance away. We drove up to Emlenton, 5 minutes away, and rented bikes there to go north on the Allegheny River Trail. An easy ride that goes over a paved over railroad line. At one point we went through a half mile tunnel that the trains used to pass through. Scenery was very pretty. The ride is very easy since it is an old railroad line and never changes more than 5 feet in height every 100 feet horizontally.

The Grove City Outets are about a half hour away and contans many brand name stores. Cook Forest is about 45 minutes away and we went to a very nice place called Gateway Lodge just next to Cook Forst that has a very nice restaurant. Casual but with a very fancy menu.

Just north or Foxburg is where the world's oil industry began in the 1850's. Oil Creek State Park in about 1 hour north and has a replica of the original Drake Well. The world's first succesful oil well. This is where Rockefeller started his oil business. The wills are gone so the area has returned to it's natural beauty but the park does go out of it's way to tell the history of the oil industry.

There is a town called Cranberry about a half mile away that has movie theaters.

There is a larger town called Franlin about 35 mintues away that had 2 nice restaurants in it but we never made it up there.

We stayed during the weekdays and it way very quiet. It gets very active on the weekends and most of the rooms sell out for the weekends. During the weekdays it seems fairly easy to get a room. We acturally preferred being there during the weekdays when it way quieter but most of the activity, mucic, etc, happens there on the weekends. Plus the shops have longer hours on the weekends.

A great, casual place, inexpensive, but very nice, to get away too.

Highly recommend it. Enough to keep you busy in town and if you want other things within easy driving distance.

Tip: If you get a table by the window in the restaurant looking down the river, the tables furthest up river inside the resataurant towards the outdoor patio have the best view down the river. The view is not blocked by the trees at the other end of the restaurant.

Tip: There are three floors to the hotel. The first floor opens onto a large outdoor deck and has less privacy but access to the deck. The second floor is on the same level as the lobby. The hotel is built into the hillside so the second floor is almost level with main street, it's about 5 feet below the main street. The third floor is the highest and gives you the most privacy.

Room Tip: Corner Suits are very nice. More privacy on the second and third floors but first floor has access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PFDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Springfield, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I highly recommend this place! Please visit my blog - it tells you about the experience I had there this past weekend, along with the pictures I have taken.

http://www.craftingcountry.blogspot.com/2012/04/weekend-destination-foxburg.html

Room Tip: Retreat for a relaxing weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foxburg
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarion
Hampton Inn Clarion
#2 of 9 in Clarion
395 reviews
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarion
15.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 9 in Clarion
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clarion
15.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Clarion
15.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Barkeyville
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxburg Inn

Property: Foxburg Inn
Address: 20 Main Street, Foxburg, PA 16036
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Foxburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Foxburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Foxburg Hotel Foxburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing