We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE IT”

Cowans Gap State Park
Attraction details
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVE IT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

this is my fav state park to go to!!! the water is so clear for a lake & the concession stand has decent food/snacks at good prices. lots of trails and you can rent paddle boats by the hour. it just is so gorgeous there!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank irishgirltara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins and found the cabin and the park to be very nice. The cabins are rustic, so there's no indoor plumbing, but that wasn't a problem at all. You just need to plan ahead for the bathroom runs. Speaking of which, the restrooms/showers were clean and modern. The showers were a challenge like most campgrounds, but that's par for the course. The park is nicely wooded and seemed generally quiet. The lake and beach were both very nice and great for our five year old. The concession stand was well run, but the hours, including the boat rentals, were very unpredictable. They close on a whim it seems like, but were very friendly and helpful. We plan to go back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PhotoBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cowens Gap-peaceful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are looking to get away from the madness of city life, I highly recommend this park. It has a small lake with paddle boats and great hiking trails. One in particular, The Horseshoe, is rather challenging.
There are plenty of picnic tables and a decent concession stand.
It is a wonderfully peaceful place to visit for the day

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love,Love, Love it!!!~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family has frequented Cowans Gap for approx. 25yrs. We absolutely LOVE it there. We are from WV so it only takes a little over an hr. to get there. We have had family reunions there, birthday parties, and just because we wanted to go there kinda parties. Even when there were times the park was closed down due to the water, we never quit showing our support. It's also nice to know that it's back under new management from the folks who had it from the past. The concession stand has a great new menu the gift shop is fully reloaded the campground is nice and the park is very well kept. Thanks to all the people involved in keeping this place maintained. We look forward to spending many more summers there!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stay the night in a CCC cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The rustic CCC cabins are a great way to enjoy the quiet beauty of Cowan's Gap. You're back-to-nature with the comforts of home, because while the cabins don't have running water inside, they're spacious and clean, and the showerhouse is ultra modern and immaculate. I just stayed in Cabin D, which is not too close to any other cabin, yet an easy walk to the showerhouse. It's recently been upgraded with a new ceiling and stove, too. I'm picky about where I sleep, so I brought my own mattress. You'll also need to bring your own bedding/towels/dishes. I love the vintage stone cabins and CCC furniture, as well as the modern screened windows you can open to enjoy the fresh air and wonderful bird calls. Be aware: the Dollar store in Ft Loudon (about 7 miles from the park) has some groceries. The cabin rental fees are very reasonable! And if you don't want to stay overnight, visiting this lovely little park is totally free.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cowans Gap State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing