We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fogelsville
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Amazing getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I suprised my hunny with the mid-week escape package. The staff helped me keep ut a surprise and came to my room to show me how to work the fireplace and whirlpool. The dinner was good but not worth the money if it wasn't included in the package. I wasn't a fan of the limited choices. The setting was very romantic and comfortable. My waitress forgot my drink until the end of the meal, however it was then given to me for free. Breakfast was by far the most amazing meal I've had in a very long time. The morning staff had a wonderful personality and was so accommodating. We will definitely be coming back, but I will probably skip there dinner

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesszeethatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    62
    18
    14
    12
See reviews for
35
240
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I booked the mid-week escape package which included a three course dinner for two. I have to start off by saying that the staff was the most pleasant, welcoming, and knowledgeable group of people we have ever come across. They all went above and beyond to make our stay the most enjoyable we have ever experienced. They accommodated every request we made, and there were quite a few!

We stayed in a queen whirlpool room in the main barn and it was absolutely lovely. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable, the shower had five heads and plenty of room for two, and the whirlpool located in the sun room was exactly how it's pictured. The charm of our room (#24) was incredible and also had a private rear entrance. While we were in the lowest category of rooms on the property, it certainly did not feel that way. I doubt you can go wrong with any room on the property. We did checkout the fitness center, which has everything one would require, and walked the various trails. The property is gorgeous.

We were visiting nearby Vynecrest Winery when we called to see if we could check-in early as we wanted to watch the NCAA games. We were told that if our room was not ready when we arrived that they would be more than happy to open the pub early for us so we could enjoy a cocktail and watch the games. Well, that's exactly what we ended up doing (even though our room was available when we arrived, they opened the pub early for us, and were able to relax and enjoy a roaring fire). We also were able to change our dinner reservation from the main dining room that evening to the pub and we had no problem ordering off of the dinner menu.

Both the dinner and breakfast menus are fantastic. The farm to table freshness is something we do not get to experience very often and is remarkable. If we lived closer, we would definitely put Glasbern on our restaurant rotation. We loved that breakfast is served in the dining room at individual tables. In addition to ordering from a menu, coffee, tea, juice, fruit, yogurt, granola, scones, etc., are also all available at different serving stations. Those who enjoy a good cup of coffee will not be disappointed. The complimentary USA Today is also a nice touch. Both the dinner and breakfast menus have more than enough offerings for anyone's palate.

If you are on the fence about booking a room, go ahead and click confirm, you will not be disappointed. We cannot wait to return.

Thanks to the staff for a much needed and relaxing getaway!

Room Tip: If you are looking for NO overhead noise, do NOT book the main barn whirlpool rooms as they are dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shillz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very friendly staff - will help you with anything they can. Stayed in upper Carriage House room. Plenty of space. Queen-sized Sleep Number bed. Small fridge in closet for drinks and snacks. Wood-burning fireplace with fully supply of high-quality firewood nearby. Whirlpool tub perfect for two. Comfy robes. Excellent shower with overhead showerhead and hand attachment which operate simultaneously, plenty of room for two. High volume of very hot water. No couch or alternate seating in this room. Two small chairs. Beautiful property. Feels secluded but is right in the Lehigh Valley with shops and gas stations nearby. Very convenient to Philadelphia area. Complimentary breakfast included in stay. Includes the usual coffee, juice, fruit and cereal but can also order delicious hot breakfast (still complimentary), including farm fresh eggs, homemade sausage and bacon, potatoes. Or something sweet like french toast, pancakes or waffles.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just back from a cozy birthday weekend at Glasbern. We spent one night in the very spacious, charmingly upscale rustic Stable Deluxe Suite and the send night in the smaller, but still very nice Upper Carriage House suite. The rooms are tastefully decorated without overdoing the whole country thing. The whirlpool tubs are fabulous. I do think the Stable bathroom could use a bit of an updating or redesign, as there's a ridiculous amount of wasted space and doesn't feel quite as high-end as I expect for a room in that price range, but it's a minor quibble.

Dinner at the restaurant was excellent and both breakfasts (which are included in the overnight rate) were very tasty. Menu feature meats (and veggies, when in season) that come right from the farm.

Every single member of the staff that we had contact with was extremely pleasant, cheerful, and very helpful.

We didn't get to do any exploring of the grounds, as it was still snow-covered and we hadn't brought the proper boots, but the overall setting is gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tesiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Glasbern Inn for Valentine's Day - what a fantastic place. We stayed in the Farmhouse in a room that was perfectly maintained and lovely. The bed was comfortable and the facilities perfect for relaxation. While we had an opportunity to see a very small portion of the grounds (due to a 20-inch snow storm the day before), it is obvious that everything is well kept. For dinner, we ate in their main dining room which is in a renovated barn. The food is farm to table and the meal is one of the best we've ever had in a B&B. The service was also outstanding. We will certainly go back for romantic getaways and hopefully, in warmer weather, with our family so we can explore the 100+ acres of property.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaRubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife booked us night in the stable suites deluxe room. Walking there was rough, recently we had a lot of snow and only a very narrow path was shoveled out to get to our room. No wider than a snow shovel. First impression of the room was great. Lots of space, huge bathroom, jacuzzi tub and shower, nice TV and couch, it looked great. It smelled a little smokey but we were warned that the fireplace might smoke a little bit at first so make sure we kept the door or window open for air. The first test was the shower and it was awesome! Great pressure. But then the heated towel rack didn't work. No problem, we put on our robes and went to start a fire. They provided newspaper, wood and a starter log. It started fine but the room did get pretty smokey, as if the chimney was not drawing the smoke up correctly. I did heat the flue but the wood was also wet. It smoldered and sizzled and you can tell it was not seasoned. I've been using a wood burning stove for over 30 years, you know when wood is dry or not. Because of this the room smelled even smokier and made our clothes stink and gave me a headache.

Not to dwell on it we went for dinner in the pub. We were disapointed to find out that we could not order from both the restuarant menu and the pub menu, it had to be one of the other. We both got burgers which were good but the fries were nothing to get excited about. Shoestring fries? Not the quality I would expect.

We went back to the room for a soak in the jacuzzi tub. Lots of room for the wife and I, if it weren't for the room still smelling smokey it would have been very relaxing. The bed was great, the sheets were the softest I have ever slept in.

Breakfast was better than dinner, we had the french toast and an omelette. The french toast was excellent, the omelette was fine except that none of the vegetables on the inside were cooked. Completely raw. They had enough other options to chose from that it wasn't a problem.

While it was very nice for the price we paid I don't anticipate going back to the hotel or restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler3781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave g, Manager at Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Evidently the last load of wood we got was not seasoned correctly. We will get a new supplier. The walks and towel rack is a maintenance problem which we will address. We will change our policy and offer our guests both menus when seated in the pub. All vegetables used in omelet will be pre cooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night recently for a quick romantic getaway for my birthday. We booked the farmhouse suite. We live in Lancaster county PA so this was a little over an hour away for us. It was everything we had hoped for! Cozy, warm, relaxing, quaint, romantic and more! On arrival the girls were very nice getting us checked in a welcoming us. The Inn keeper introduced herself and came to the room to show us around. We were a bit disappointed at first because we expected a real wood burning fireplace, but it was a gas one. No problem we were moved right away to the lower farmhouse suite, which I loved even more (I have pics of both).

The room was large, lots of comfy seating, an huge jetted tub, steam shower, double sided wood burning fireplace, which was so cozy for a cold winter night!

We had made reservations prior to arrival for dinner onsite. We were a bit nervous to be honest. SOme of the reviews I read on the way to the Inn were not that great for the restaurant. We are foodies and get out quite often and I must say the food was AMAZING!!!!! I was told there was a new chef, so maybe that has something to do with it. The restaurant ambiance was perfect! There were original farmhouse beams, great soft lighting, a shalestone wall, fireplace, glass windows overlooking the property on one whole wall, wooden tables and small intimate booths. The food was presented beautifully and tasted soooo fresh! I love the farm to table ways they practice here!!! Everything they can they grow and raise onsite and off season still buy organic.

Hubby had a delish new salad they had just created with perfectly thin sliced fruits, grass fed chicken with a scallion and butter garlic sauce and I had the asparagus soup and roasted vegetable risotto. Every bite was incredible! I finished it off with creme brulle and my hubby had apple bread budding which he enjoyed.

Breakfast was just as fresh and amazing! I was shocked at the menu of choices you get and its all included.

We took a nice stroll around the snow covered grounds after breakfast. Our only regret was not staying longer. In the summer they have an outdoor pool too. We plan to return in the summer again for another getaway and this hidden gem not far from home!!!

Room Tip: Cant get a bad one! Id suggest asking for one with a real fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RN1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fogelsville
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Allentown-Fogelsville
14.6 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
9.8 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Bear Creek Mountain Resort
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Allentown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown

Property: Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
Address: 2141 Packhouse Rd, Fogelsville, PA 18051-2010
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Fogelsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fogelsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit this reborn, luxurious and romantic Lehigh Valley Inn located on a 100 acre working farm near Bethlehem & Allentown, PA. Seven separately renovated buildings - once used to run the farm - now house guests with 38 unique rooms or suites at our Pennsylvania luxury inn. Most rooms include a fireplace and a whirlpool and include a combination of country comfort, new and antique furnishings, and 21st century business necessities. A fitness facility, spa, and outdoor heated pool, high-speed Internet access, and a business center make this romantic Pennsylvania bed and breakfast the perfect choice for business or pleasure. Enjoy a breakfast fresh from our sustainable working farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasbern Hotel Fogelsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing