We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fogelsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our return trip to the Glasbern. Last time we stayed in the Stables, but this time we stayed in an upper end unit in the Packhouse due to very limited availability. Our unit was fantastic, very spacious, panoramic views from numerous windows, refrigerator, gas fireplace and jacuzzi in sitting area. Rustic with most modern conveniences. Quiet. Very quiet. Great place to spend time with your honey and without your children. As a bonus, it snowed all day one day we stayed. The food is very good, but after 3 consecutive days the menu seems somewhat limited. Perhaps Glasbern's greatest attribute is its staff! They will do whatever they can to accommodate you and always with a smile. I would absolutely recommend staying here for a night or two.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the work, definitely get a room with a wood burning fireplace(ie, the Stables...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RECohenesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasbern, General Manager at Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

We sure do appreciate your comments, and your loyalty.
Our Executive Chef is currently engaged in a program to introduce a new item to our menu weekly. So, I'm sure that you'll see lots of new menu items upon your return for another quiet getaway.

All the best....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 386 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our first stay at Glasbern, but we'll be back - probably when it's warmer and we can walk around more. We stayed in the upper farmhouse suite. It was very nice. The bedding was of very good quality. We didn't love the Sleep Number bed, but that's a personal choice. To me it feels like an air mattress(like camping). Some people love them. The furniture fits the suite very well. The corner tub was great. The steam shower was quite impressive, though it was a bit musty. Maybe better ventilation or drying might help. The only thing I think I would really change is the television kiosk. I found it to be a little awkward and broke up the space too much. I'd mount the flat screen on the wall. Dinner was wonderful. The salad was perfect, especially for December! The turkey was the tenderest and best tasting I've had. The service was excellent - from desk staff to waiter. Breakfast the next day didn't disappoint. Both hot & cold items were available - farm fresh eggs - we were very happy with our stay!

Room Tip: Some rooms have electric fireplaces and some have wood fireplaces. If you have allergies, you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amethyst1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasbern, General Manager at Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thanks for the comments. We agree, our free range turkey is excellent!
We'll take a look at the steam shower and correct anything immediately.

Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had dined at the Glasbern for about the past 10 Years on Christmas Eve. On 12/24/2012 we arrived with a month old reservation confirmed the day before and told our reserved table was not available. We took an other table. We waited 25 minutes at the seated table with NO SERVICE AT ALL, NOTHING, no menu, no waiter, no hostess no nothing . We went to leave, we had a gift certificate from family presented at the Inn and the hostess finally after MUCH persuading finally refunded the gift certificate to the family member. Our table was still vacant when we left. It was not busy about 1/2 of the tables were vacant. THE WORST SERVICE EVER. WE WILL NEVER COME BACK. We had been loyal diners on Christmas Eve for 10 years and treated so poorly we will never go back. [I can prove we had dined there then]

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank MichaelSo_Wellfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasbern, General Manager at Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

We always appreciate guest feedback at Glasbern Inn. Unfortunately, this review really "takes us to task".
Our dining room took care of 79 very happy guests on Christmas Eve. Many of the guests were from the local community, and others stayed at the Inn. I saw smiling faces, heard laughter, and I know that the Executive Chef received many compliments. This is our norm!
In response to this review, we do not hold specific tables for guests not staying at the Inn. However, we will always try our best to accommodate any guest with a specific table request. In this case, we had an in-house party arriving for the very table in question. We offered a comparable table, and we are sorry that it was not received well. We, also, offered another table choice to no avail. We like to think that all of our tables are excellent.
As for the gift certificate, these are not redeemable for cash as is stated on the certificate. In this instance, we refunded the amount.
It is difficult to say that 25 minutes passed before the reviewer received any service since I did not time it personally. But, I did question the server specifically about the situation and heard a somewhat different version regarding the service given. I, of course, would never question the veracity of a guests version of events. I do wish that the guests had asked to speak with me personally.
All of us at Glasbern Inn are very sorry about the review, and we will persevere to analyze our service promptness. We truly hope that our wonderful guests will give us another chance to demonstrate our professionalism. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I love the Glasbern Inn. We've stayed there twice; the first time in the main barn and second time in one of the Packhouse Suites. We've enjoyed the excellent restaurant on both occasions. This time we were able to enjoy the Glasbern's Saturday prix fixe menu, which is on par with most dining experiences you'd find in Philly or NYC and incorporates locally-raised foods throughout.

I highly recommend this inn for its attentive service, attention to detail, romantic rooms, and outstanding restaurant. You definitely won't regret booking your next getaway here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSUVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasbern, General Manager at Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

We are so pleased that you were thrilled with your return trip to Glasbern. As you mentioned, the Pack House Suites are amazing. But, all of our accommodations are great. You must try them all!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We wanted to go on a mother-daughter retreat before I got married and decided to stay at the Glasbern. We could not have made a better choice! We stayed in one of the pack house suites with a large bathroom, king bed, gas fireplace, whirlpool tub and a gorgeous view. This is a great place for relaxation because everything you need is right there. We started our days off with a delicious and filling breakfast then went for long walks around the property. The staff was also very attentive and helpful making our stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsDixieNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Loved all of it. Great service. Food was great just small portions. Loved the gate house. Breakfast was great. Dining hall was beautiful. Can't say enough good things. Room was comfy. Fireplace, jacuzzi fridge. Great place to spend anniversary. Hiked the trails. Beautiful walk. Most things farm grown. And awesome!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Foofie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The property is lovely in a country setting near Allentown. The food was quite good with many organic items and many items coming right from the property- including the bacon and the eggs! The service was attentive, polite and plentiful. We will be back many times I'm sure. We ate dinner and breakfast in the property- both were quite good and the breakfast is much much more lovely and tasty than most any other "included" breakfast we have had. If we lived close by we would frequent this restaurant for dinner and breakfast without a doubt!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cottagemates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fogelsville
8.3 mi away
Bear Creek Mountain Resort
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Allentown-Fogelsville
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Conference Center Lehigh Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
14.6 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
1,022 reviews
2.2 mi away
Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown

Address: 2141 Packhouse Rd, Fogelsville, PA 18051-2010
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Fogelsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fogelsville
Price Range: $167 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit this reborn, luxurious and romantic Lehigh Valley Inn located on a 100 acre working farm near Bethlehem & Allentown, PA. Seven separately renovated buildings - once used to run the farm - now house guests with 38 unique rooms or suites at our Pennsylvania luxury inn. Most rooms include a fireplace and a whirlpool and include a combination of country comfort, new and antique furnishings, and 21st century business necessities. A fitness facility, spa, and outdoor heated pool, high-speed Internet access, and a business center make this romantic Pennsylvania bed and breakfast the perfect choice for business or pleasure. Enjoy a breakfast fresh from our sustainable working farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasbern Hotel Fogelsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing