We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“State Park you can't miss.”

Caledonia State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“State Park you can't miss.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Caledonia State Park is a beautiful state park at the cross roads of Rt. 30 and Rt.233. It's got all the amenities of a well prepared park, swimming pool, hiking trails,( one of which is the Appalachian Trail), two camp areas, streams , lakes, mountains, just all any outdoors man could want.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    11
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love Caledonia State Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I hike quite frequently on the Charcoal Trail-3 miles. It is safe to do alone. A steep climb up, then a break on the ridge before traversing down. I saw a deer this week. Often I meet friendly hikers enjoying a quick challenge.
The park offers a great pool with a slide, plenty of picnic sites, and beautiful trails. The App. Trail runs through this park allowing me to meet through hikers headed for Maine.
There is a 3 mile loop-EASY-called The Ramble Trail. Great for families.
Dogs are allowed on leash-another plus.
The park is clean and well maintained.
If we ever move from this area, leaving the park behind will be my greatest challenge!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Took the family to the park to escape the heat wave in MD this past week. Had a great time! Spent the day swimming in the pool which was ginormous, clean and NOT overcrowded AND only $5 for the day per person. Ate lunch under the shade trees and took a stroll in the creek. BE AWARE OF THE FOLLOWING RULES IF YOU GO TO THE POOL: No outside food, no coolers. Also take your own chair and if you arrive later in the day be prepared to walk as the parking lot fills up fast! There is no fee to get into the park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarineMom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Noisy campsite:Chinquapin Hill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

It is too close to route 30 so you can hear motor vehicles at night. If you are sensitive to noise, please do not stay here. You will have problem sleeping.

Other than the noise level, the park is decent.
Bathroom: clean. To take shower, you have to hold the knob to get water.
Each bath stall has a shower area and changing area which is nice.

Tent site #80 is interesting. The tent pad is on the hill so it is separate from the fire ring and picnic table.

There is no store inside/near by the park where you can get fire wood.
There are houses along route 30 that sells firewood.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Caledonia State Park”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This was the second state park we camped in on our way to Gettysburg and we were very disappointed. There was no tent pad, hadn't been mowed, and the only firewood available is what you gathered in the woods on your own. The bathrooms were nicer than expected though. The outside looks terrible but they were pretty decent inside. The man at check in wasn't very friendly and the two men waiting outside the restroom to clean could have been more courteous of people's privacy instead of standing right outside the door.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferJillWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caledonia State Park also viewed

 

Been to Caledonia State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing