We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your father's playhouse”

Totem Pole Playhouse
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The non-profit theatre located amongst the trees of Caledonia State Park in the heart of historic south-central Pennsylvania.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not your father's playhouse”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

What used to be a charming little summer theater off the beaten path has evolved into truly professional venue within reasonable distance to almost everywhere. The shows are selected for audience appeal, but the actors are selected based on absolute professionalism. This year it is a whole new cast in each show. No carry overs.
First show started Melissa Gilbert with a group of somewhat lesser known ladies who were every bit her equal.
This is not glorified community theater, Totem Pole is truly New York grade theater without the traffic! And the prices aren't New York either...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank 999Ksan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Theatre in the Woods”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Totem Pole Playhouse is a gem nestled in the lush woods of Franklin County. Quaint and charming is descriptive of the building construction that blends perfectly in its location. Easy access to the highway and close proximity to the actors affords a wonderful theatrical experience. Varied productions allows plays to fit your preferences. A wonderful night experience awaits you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Plays”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you enjoy small theaters you will love Totem Pole Playhouse. It was founded by Jean Stapleton and her husband. The actors and actresses are very good. The theater sits in the middle of the pines at Caledonia State Park. The theater is air conditioned for the hot summer days. If you like plays you do not want to miss this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank PUmbrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyds, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great local theater”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We've seen several productions at Totem Pole and really enjoy the place. It's a great summer stock theater and the prices are very reasonable. The actors and actresses are very good and the history of the theater is something to read about. Now that we're living at Penn National we intend to become season subscribers. If you're in the area, do catch a showing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank julesz2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A good time!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I saw 'Barnum!' this past weekend, which was one of the optional evening activities for the Pennsylvania Kiwanis Convention. I saw the original cast on Broadway many years ago, and the production featuring Michael Crawford in London, and 'Barnum!' is a tremendously complex show to present, even for a major Broadway house. The Totem Pole did a fine job scaling the show down to their facility and presented a spirited and lively production of the show.

If we happened to be nearby in the future, we would definitely return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Billcat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Totem Pole Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to Totem Pole Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing