We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ripped off” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dave & Jane's Crabhouse

Dave & Jane's Crabhouse
Ranked #7 of 12 Restaurants in Fairfield
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greencastle, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ripped off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here last week. We paid the $39.95 for ayce. We do not like hard shell crabs but love the crab legs. We were brought a tray of leftovers and they were small and overcooked. The shells would not crack and if you got the meat out it was dried up. We asked for fresh ones and got the same thing again. We ate them and paid because we were really in the mood for crab legs. But I feel we got ripped off. I have been there before and it was good. Also there was a large family planted right next to us that allowed all 4 kids to pound their mallet on the table the whole time we were there. The children were not eating crabs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    19
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Total waste of money and time!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Four of us went to Dave & Jane's for dinner. Two of us went expressly for crabs. We were hungry for crabs. The other two weren't interested in crabs, so ordered other things. What a horrible, expensive night!

We began with the crabs. They were tiny, dry and under seasoned. Apparently they ran out of Old Bay! The sides were horrible, especially the mac & cheese. As others have stated, it came straight from a Kraft package. The hush puppies were a soggy mess and tastless. The soup was cold and also tastless.

After a few tiny tastless crabs, we changed over to snow crab legs. They were rubbery and 'deep fried'. I never heard of deep frying a snow crab. Getting the meat out of the shell was almost impossible. We soon gave up on those too.

Our friends ordered steaks and shrimp. They said their meals were also pretty horrible. But, the beer was the only thing they couldn't screw up.

We all left hungry and very disatisfied.

We haven't been there for a long time and now we remember why... Never again. It was a $109 mistake. Believe me, we will never, never go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Crab's Galore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

What a great find in the middle of nowhere! The service was great, the food was spectacular! The AYCE Crabs were incredible with sides of shrimp, chicken , soup, salad and hush puppies! Big roomy paper covered tables with crab mallets. Great music, SOOO GOOD!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennysgoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRIGHTSVILLE
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

food portions were ample and price was reasonable compared to other restaurants in the area.....probably best seafood in the whole area

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAELHWrightsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
346 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Best Steamed Crabs near Emmitsburg, MD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

if you are looking for a Maryland Crab house away from the eastern shore this is your place. Nothing fancy but great steamed crabs and cold beer, mallets and brown paper on the table

Helpful?
1 Thank LARRYOTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave & Jane's Crabhouse also viewed

 

Been to Dave & Jane's Crabhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing