We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When non-smoking is not non-smoking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Exton
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
“When non-smoking is not non-smoking”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This hotel allows smoking in some rooms on the first floor. Non-smoking rooms are also located on the first floor. The night we checked in the 1st floor hallway and the non-smoking room we we given on the first floor stank of cigarette smoke due to the smoking in the nearby rooms. The hotel staff promptly address this problem by moving us to a room on the third floor. This room was satisfactory. When you make a reservation for a non-smoking room ask if it is on the first floor. If it is then expect to smell cigarette smoke. The manager informed me that the hotel will go smoke free in January 2011.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doughertyjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
express120, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor review about our hotel! We are so sorry that the beginning of your stay started off a bit rocky. It is wonderful to hear that our staff was able to immediately assist you with your issue and settle you in to a room that was more satisfactory towards your needs. We strive to do everything we possibly can to make your stay EXCELLENT. As you mentioned in your review we are very excited to begin renovations on our first floor rooms and will be going completely smoke free starting the 1st of the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    77
    40
    21
    4
See reviews for
81
40
24
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Holiday Inn Express, Exton, Pa must have a superior daily operations manager because each member of staff reflects manager concern about customer service. This is a good property made excellent by staff which goes the extra mile. Desk team members like Ariel, Katie and Katrina extend themselves to be pleasant but also helpful and highly responsive. Housekeeping is outstanding and reinforced by supervisors. Breakfast staff works very hard and gets the job done even when inundated by teenagers and parents on weekends. The houseman, Jerry, is particular about neatness which keeps things looking orderly. Maintenance is also efficient and very pleasant. In other words this satisfactory property becomes Superior because of its people. Morale is high and a clever but practical ruse was used to honor a long time employee during the day while we were there. I contrast it with a higher priced, much newer, fancier competitor's property with high fashion decor in North Carolina run by Marriott. High tech - but staffed by people who just did their jobs. No comparison. Holiday Inn Express in Exton was superior in terms of the customer experience. ((One caution for travelers and hoteliers which applies to several hotels we used during a summer of heavy driving travel across and around the U.S. Seemingly desperate for business, some hotels are soliciting business from local sports teams. While this helps improve occupancy, many regular customers would rather pay more and stay at properties which are not heavily occupied by teenagers and their parents on Friday and Saturday nights UNLESS the hotel carefully segregates that type customer.))

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobtNorthCaroli... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
express120, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you so much for your informative review! It's always helpful to hear feedback from our guests about their time spent at our hotel! Our staff is in many ways like a large family and we are so happy to hear you were able to experience first hand how close we are with our guests and as a staff. Our location near the United Sports Training Center makes us a preferred location for teams that compete at that facility's events throughout the year. As you observed, we have become quite accustomed to handling this type of group and endeavor to insure that all our guests have a pleasurable experience throughout the competition. Our entire staff looks forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at this hotel during our visit to Philadelphia, Valley Forge, and the surrounding area. We were very pleased by the courtesy and professionalism of the staff, from the manager, the desk staff, maids, etc, They were all very friendly, extremely helpful and courteous at all times. We got the impression that they cared about our needs being satisfied and that our trip, as well as our stay with them, would be successful and enjoyable. The facilities are spotlessly clean with bright colors and pleasing tones. The property and pool areas are pleasantly landscaped with beautiful flowers, shrubs, and trees. The rooms are clean, new and have all the amenities we have come to expect. I rated the rooms 4 instead of 5 because the beds are not super luxury pillowtop mattresses, although they are very comfortable and more than adequate, and the bathrooms while new, bright, clean and stylish, are not large, luxury bathrooms as in a resort. We had an issue with a toilet that began working improperly over night and the staff quickly resolved our problem. There is also the added convenience of many good restaurants and other shops within walking distance and more than adequate complimentary parking.

In conclusion, we would highly recommend this hotel for those that wish to explore this area and/or conduct business in this area, and will definitely stay here again on our next trip to this area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizardofwallstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
express120, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
We are so appreciative that you took the time to write a review for our hotel! We pride ourselves in being centrally located between Philadelphia, Valley Forge and Lancaster. Its great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location and see the surrounding sites! Cleanliness is one of our top priorities here at the Express and when our guests take notice it is a great reassurance to us! Thank you so much for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2010

this property is like living at home when we go and stay the front desk say hi to you like you never left home. Elaine in sales is surperb, she goes out of her way to make sure your day is a day to remember, with direction, place to eat, places to see. we have stay
here several times and gets better everytime we are here, like we never left. My wife really enjoys the property its our second home. Just to have a nice warm friendly place to stay away from home where the people treat you like one of there own. we look forward to our next visit with the staff.. George C. Beckwith IV

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
express120, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you Mr. Beckwith!

What an amazingly heartfelt review! Our whole staff here loves to see you and your wife, and we look forward to your future visits! Elaine whole-heartedly appreciates all of the excellent words you have to say about her, as well as the rest of our staff! Thank you again, we truly appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I stayed here for a work trip. The hotel is clean and in a good location for the area. I got upgrade as a Priority Member. The only problem was the walls are very thin. I could hear the people in the next room as if they were in my room. They were not even talking very loud.

Otherwise the staff and everything else was nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsmcations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
express120, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you for your amazing review! We pride ourselves on being a very clean and friendly hotel. We were one of the first hotels to relaunch with the new Holiday Inn Express "look" because of our outstanding cleanliness and customer service scores! We are very sorry that you could hear the people in the room next door, and we hope that next time you stay, you'll choose our hotel again. We will make sure that you are blocked into a room where there aren't families next door to you! We would like to go above and beyond for our guests, especially those who take the time to write these reviews and lend us feedback! See you next time and have an EXCELLENT day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

88% approval rating from TripAdvisor reviewers.... 4+ stars from them, too.... And yet this hotel is SO anything but recommendable.... - even at our $72 Hotwire rate...

A decent place, yes.... But worthy of those ratings? No... 2.5 stars maybe...More perhaps if rooms were updated..... and spongy beds were less spongy.... and picture tube TV were a flat screen.... and bathroom wasn't so grimy.... and toilet seat wasn't yellow and pitted and loose... and ceiling didn't have chunks missing... How can hotels not take care of things like that... (a toilet seat costs less than $10 at Lowe's and can be installed in less than a minute... Not a tough decision... Would YOU want to sit on the one in our bathroom? I think not...)

Hotel has work cut out for it....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyehrtfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
express120, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
To dwirthwein:


Thank you SO much for your Trip Advisor Review! We are in the process of taking care of the issues that you presented here in your review. Next time you stay with us, give us a call beforehand and we will be able to upgrade you to our 4th floor, where we have flat screen TV's, newly renovated rooms, and an upgraded feel. That is our rewards memebr (Priority Club) Platinum level floor, but we would be MORE than happy to let you stay there during your next stay with us! We apologize for all of your inconveniences and hope to see you again in the future! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The a/c never cooled the room down. The little girls at the front desk spent most of the time gossiping. The 5am front desk person was sitting in breakfast area talking to friend, myself and 2 other guests asked for help, but she yelled across room to leave key and turned back to her friend. The shower curtain had hair all over the inside, long black hairs. Two of the washcloths had make-up circles, like the top of the bottle was still on it. Yes, it washed out when I ran under faucet. Housekeeping gals gave extra rags. Firm pillows were so soft it took 3 to feel like one. Didn't sleep very well because of that. The other two hotels in area were $199 and $149, this one was $109.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atasteofcreole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
express120, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
To atasteofcreole:


Thank you for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor Review. Your concerns are our 'opportunities' and we look for your feedback to improve/fix our opportunities in a timely manner. The enxt time you are in the area give us a call and we can see if we can get you firmer pillows in your room to improve your night's stay! We apologize that your stay was not EXCELLENT and we hope that you choose our hotel again in the future! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exton
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Exton
Hampton Inn Exton
#2 of 8 in Exton
556 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites West Chester Exton
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Great Valley/Malvern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Downingtown Route 30
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Exton / West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville
Address: 120 N Pottstown Pike, Exton, PA 19341-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Exton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Exton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of our hotel. Located just minutes away from QVC Studio Park and Longwood Gardens, The Holiday Inn Express Exton Hotel is your best choice for accessibility, convenience, and superior service in Chester County, Pennsylvania. Perfect for the business or leisure traveler, our hotel is 1 mile from Amtrak train station and minutes from the Philadelphia Airport. There's plenty of space to work and relax with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, 24 hour fitness center, and an outdoor seasonal pool. For a great start to your day begin your mornings with our complimentary award winning Express Start breakfast bar and a hot cup of coffee. After a long day, you can walk on over to one of the eight different restaurants conveniently located in the same shopping center as our hotel. The Exton Square Mall is also located just across the street for additional casual shopping and dining. Finish your night in one of our 124 spacious rooms that offer comfort and luxurious bedding, large work station, and over 40 TV channels. We also offer executive king and queen bedded rooms which include microwave/refrigerators. Our staff prides themselves on providing a warm and welcoming atmosphere, so whatever may bring you into our area, you are always right at home in the Holiday Inn Express Exton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville Hotel Exton
Holiday Inn Exton
Exton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing