We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Exton
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I am in the area for business, and will be for the coming weeks. Since I am on the road about 2/3 of my week, bedding and comfort are very important to me. I chose this hotel because based on the website it seemed like an "at home" kind of place, with complimentary breakfast (free with my corporate rate) and "Wyndham Be-Well" bedding.

Little did I know that "Be-Well" bedding means a mattress comparable to a conference room table, and a single blanket barely enough to keep me warm at night. Half the television channels had "no signal" and when I called to complain they said they would have someone check on it, and I still have heard nothing nor seen any results after 2 and a half days. The room also smelled like smoke, despite it being a non-smoking hotel. This was not just in my room either. 2 colleagues had the exact same complaints after the first night. To be fair the breakfast was good and the staff was friendly (though not particularly helpful).

I'll be back in town next week and I'm staying at one of the other hotels down the road

Room Tip: There are non. They are all out of date. But if you can ask for one that looks out the back of the h...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time tor review our hotel. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, comfortable, and safe place to stay. We have passed your comments about your room and bed on to to our management team. We use these comments to better serve you and future guests.

Once again we are very sorry for your recent stay. We hope that you will consider us again on future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 728 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

I recently had a baby shower at the Wyndham Garden Exton Valley Forge and it was great. The staff worked well to coordinate the event and met all my needs and expectations. The food was excellent. I would definitely recommend it for anyone looking to host an event.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueJello3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your event that you had a the hotel. We are very happy that we could accommodate the baby shower. We hope that you will consider us for future events.

The Wyndham Garden Exton is a convenient location for your meeting, convention or milestone event. Located in the heart of Chester County near Valley Forge and Lancaster in the Philadelphia suburbs. We have more than 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including two spacious ballrooms, three additional meetings rooms and an Executive Boardroom, along with our Tented Pavilion and Rose Garden Gazebo adjacent to the outdoor pool

Thanks again for your time. We hope to see you in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The staff were all most accommodating, the food excellent, and our room was well appointed and comfortable. I would recommend it highly to other travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments about your stay. Thanks for commenting about your food. Your comments about your service will be passed on to our staff.

Thank you again for comments. We hope to see you again, on your next visit to the area!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed at the Wyndham for three nights, only needed a place to crash. Hotel has bar and restaurant, indoor and outdoor pool but did not use any of these. Free parking. Checked in late, check in was smooth and quick, (ran into the wedding party in the bar), room (west wing) was ready with Wyndham request snack inside and AC on. Wyndham web site says hotel is recently renovated. Lobby looks renovated and modern. Hallways look average, carpet looks new, all the room doors look old and original. The "room" we stayed in looked renovated, except for the wooden furniture looking a bit beat and old 70s wall o windows, new carpet, clean fresh walls, nice Wyndham bed and linens, flat screen TV. We had king with sofa. Room size is average. However the bathroom looked original from the 70s with green tile, old counter top, old wallpaper peeling on edges, loose towel racks and slow draining tub. Functional but old. Web site also says every room has a refrigerator but we never found ours. We just kept our cooler we brought loaded with ice. WiFi (free) signal was a bit weak in the room but seemed to work just fine. Housekeeping took our hand towels that were still hanging up after first night and didn't leave any new ones but other than that service was fine. Starbucks is next door and shopping center is about half mile away. Would probably stay again as long as the rate is competitive and lower than the newer hotels near by.

Room Tip: Upper floors are probably quieter
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Scubadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are currently working on renovating our hotel. We appreciate your comments. Thank you for your concerns about the bathroom in your room. We have passed these comments on to our staff. We are starting to correct such problems in the bathrooms. We are sorry that you did not have a refrigerator in your room. Refrigerators are only offered in our executive king rooms and executive double rooms only.

Thank you again for your time . We hope you will consider us again on future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding nearby. There were many complaints from our party of over 40. Ours started with the reservation people who offered no help when I asked which rooms woul better accommodate a cot saying only that, "all rooms are the same size." I opted for the king + pullout. Then they told me they couldn't guarantee that we'd get a cot as they are first come first served. When we got to our room it was obvious a cot wouldn't fit. The manager did offer the double queen but my husband is tall and needs the king so we stayed in our room. There were no linens for the pullout. There were only three towels so we called housekeeping for more- three times without getting them. The next day, after being out of our room for eight hours, there had been no housekeeping service. Others who stayed were put on hold for over 20 minutes when they called the front desk to have their A/C checked- that happened twice. We were given complementary breakfast and a $50 adjustment on our bill.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gibsonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our goal is to provide a great customer experience for everyone. Your concerns about your room have been passed on to our staff. We really appreciate your comments. These comments will help us improve our service for future guests, and you.

Once again we are very sorry for your stay. We hope that you will consider us again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Close to 276. The lobby is great. The halls are old and worn. The rooms are good. Not new but still in good shape. Great beds, very comfy. The doors to the rooms really need replacing. There was a gap in my door and they just look old. A bad first impression of your room. The hotel is near lotst of shopping and restaurants. The Exton mall is nearby. Basically a good find by my travel agent and a good price. Free parking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangocatpurring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Thank you for taking the time tor review our hotel. Your concerns about the room will be addressed. We strive as a hotel to provide a great stay for everyone. Your comments help us improve on that.


The Wyndham Garden Exton Valley Forge is conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Chester County. We are just a short drive from historic sites such as Philadelphia, Valley Forge National Park, Lancaster County, and Reading, Pennsylvania.

For those who love to shop, the hotel is located near such popular shopping venues such as the Court and Plaza at King of Prussia, the Exton Square Mall, the Philadelphia Premium Outlets, QVC Studios, Vanity Fair Outlets in Reading, and the numerous outlets in Lancaster County.

We hope you will come see us again, on your next visit to Exton! Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The room was fair. The bathroom was very small and the shower / tub was outdated.
We stayed in the North wing (must be the oldest part of the hotel).
When we arrived the front desk had only one person working and she was stressed.
The check in time was 3:00pm and we did arrive early at 11:30am. So we were asked to come back and check in closer to 3:00pm.
We just relaxed in the lobby (10 feet from the front desk) until 1:00pm when I approached the front desk and inquired about the room availability. The rooms were ready an hour earlier, but the front desk staff did not take the time to call us over.
On our way to the room we passed the dining area where a Manager was yelling at a staff person. The manager despite seeing us continued to yell at this person. Is this professional or what!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the East side.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jerry_timmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments and concerns are very helpful in making our hotel better. We are truly sorry for your concern regarding your check in. We will be passing this on to our staff.

We hope that you will give us another chance if you come to the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exton hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Exton
Hampton Inn Exton
#2 of 9 in Exton
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West Chester Exton
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Philadelphia Great Valley/Exton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Exton / West Chester
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Exton
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia West Chester/Exton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton

Address: 815 N Pottstown Pike, Building B, Exton, PA 19341-1561 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Exton Valley Forge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Exton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Exton
Price Range: $77 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Exton Valley Forge Hotel Exton
Hotel At Chester Springs
Chester Springs Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing