We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overly Ambitious”

Drafting Room - Taproom and Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Drafting Room - Taproom and Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 124 Restaurants in Exton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Overly Ambitious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

No one could fault the Drafting Room as a place to drink. The draft beers are numerous, veried and carefully selected. They offer a great variety of single mallt Scotches.

Their lunch and dinner offerings show imagination and originalitty. Unfortunately their kitchen can not bring about culinary results that come close to matching the descriptions. A poet writes the menu, an amateur cooks the food.

On our last visit we had mediocre grilled ham and cheese and grilled chicken sandwiches flanked by the most insipid pasta salad I have ever experienced and hard, overcooked fries.

Nice Dogfish Ale though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    58
    23
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Location in Exton, PA, the Drafting Room has separate restaurant and pub sections. We always choose the pub side. Food is very good. The big fish (like a fish and chips) & BBQ Brisket are both very good. The pub side is clean and friendly. Beer selection is great. Always something good on tap. And the staff rally knows about the beer. Limited outdoor seating at the front facing the parking lot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 001Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious and Creative Dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've been going to the Drafting Room for years, the last time being earlier this month. Meals are great but I had the most amazing dessert this last time and I just can't stop thinking about it!! If you go, do try the Gingerbread Napolean. Dense and spicy gingerbread cake layered with sweet Stoudt cream.....holy moly!!!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MP_PhD1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Beer, Ho-Hum Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been going to the Drafting Room occasionally for many years.We dropped in recently on a Thursday night specifically to use a "birthday coupon". Seems to me that food quality and presentation have definitely gone down hill.Husband did advise, however, that the beer selection is still just as good. Atmosphere is a little dated and decor is showing its age.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caymangirl19090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great beer selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

the food selection in the bar isn't that great, but they have a great beer selection. many different beers to chiise from in all different catagories. different seasonal beers, and some craft beers as well. greaat place to grab a drink.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drafting Room - Taproom and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing