We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, well kept & nice staff.”

Value Inn Harrisburg-York
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Value Inn Harrisburg-York
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etters
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We stayed in another Super 8 in Virginia that could give Super 8 a bad name but decided to try this one and were very pleased. CLEAN and well kept. The staff was nice and helpful. If I ever travel through there again I will stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennylaneElkhart_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 105 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2010

First of all, the customer service was terrible. The front desk was rude and really snappy, they wouldn't even bring us clean towels, and when our key magically didn't work anymore, they acted like it was our fault. Second, the sheets on the beds didn't consist of a bottom and top sheet, only the top sheet, so the sheets kept coming off while we were sleeping, and the mattress looked nasty. The bathrooms are extremely tiny, you can barely open the door, and there isn't an iron or anything in the rooms. Our coffee looked like it had gotten wet and left there for like three years, and the hallway was hotter then it was outside even with the heat advisory. The only good thing about the room was the air conditioning, which we kept on high for the whole trip. Overall, just a bad experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

If you are looking for an inexpensive motel that's safe and a great value, consider this one. It isn't a four star hotel by any means but with an AAA discount, we stayed there for $48.00 including taxes and surcharges. We stayed at this motel because it was relatively near our daughter's college. It was graduation weekend and all the hotels closest to the college were full.

We entered the lobby and were greeted by a very friendly woman at the front counter. She was also helpful about suggesting a number of restaurants to consider for dinner. The room was clean and nice, with just a couple of negatives. The bathroom was too small, with the toilet too close to the wall. It was also showing signs of age and in need of new paint and bathroom hardware. But the room was spacious and the bed comfortable, with clean sheets and the usual hotel furniture, though there was only one nightstand on one side of the bed, not the usual two.

A continental breakfast was also included, but was very basic. it consisted of juice and coffee, two kinds of cereal (corn flakes and "fruit pebbles"), plain bagels and small apple danish. Hey, for the low price of the motel, it was a nice perk. If you want more, there's a Burger King for breakfast across the street, a McDonalds on the other side of the motel, a Maple Donuts store (think Krispy Kreme) and the Newberry Diner for a full breakfast just a few doors down the street.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We found our room clean, with two queen size beds - the one we picked was quite comfy. Although our room was listed as 'non-smoking' - it did smell of smoke; but an open window took care of that. The staff was friendly and efficient. Our WI-FI connection was great - another plus, there was a Chinese restaurant right next door with good food. It was welcomed after a long drive.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patches01033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Stayed here after a concert in Hershey because it was the cheapest one. Was skeptical because of the reviews and price but it was great. The staff was friendly and nice and though the room was fairly small I had no major complaints.

There was even continental breakfast!

Give it a try for the money!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mremeika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

My wife called on 07-03-2009 to make a reservation on 07-10-2009, when we arrived at the hotel on 07-10-2009 the assistant manager could not find our reservation. Upon looking further she found that she had booked the reservation for 07-03-2009 (the day we called to make the 07-10-2009 reservation) and had actually billed our credit card.

We thought okay, honest mistake and asked her to credit it to our stay for 07-10-2009. She refused to admit any mistake and insisted that we pay again for 07-10-2009. While we were discussing this issue she brushed us asided and ignored us to wait on another patron that walked in. She refused to let us speak with her manager and we had no other choice but to leave. We were in town for my daughter's soccer tournament and had to make the 1 hour and 45 minute trip back home, now we will have to make the trip again early next morning. Very rude, inconsiderate, no service, and refused to put us in contact with her manager.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Usually I don't have time to write reviews, but this one is so bad I can't help it.

1) Dirty linens (with blood stains) that the personnel refuses to replace
2) Room not cleaned once during the entire 3 nights stay
3) TV remote not functional
4) Bathroom smells like something is rotting under the floor
5) Facility not locked over night - anyone can enter
6) Non-smoking room smells with smoke

Yes this is the only motel in Etters, so if you must stay in this town you have no choice. But if you don't - try to avoid this place and find something in Harrisburg or York instead.

PS: Two Brothers Italian restaurant next to the hotel is very good though.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etters
6.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
5.0 mi away
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisbu...
#10 of 14 in New Cumberland
299 reviews
5.4 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#6 of 14 in New Cumberland
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
#45 of 50 in Harrisburg
962 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Harrisburg East Inn & Suites
5.4 mi away
Capital Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Inn Harrisburg-York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Inn Harrisburg-York

Address: 70 Robinhood Dr, Etters, PA 17319-9528 (Formerly Super 8 Etters/Harrisburg Area)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Etters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etters
Price Range: $50 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Value Inn Harrisburg-York 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Value Inn Harrisburg-York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etters Super 8
Etters Super Eight
Super 8 Etters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing