We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nothing special, but it met our needs for one night. The room was clean and appeared to be recently updated, although a bit cramped for a family of four. The bathroom in particular was very small. My only real complaint was that the mattress was too soft. So, my back was sore when I woke up.

We stayed here after visiting family in the area. The next morning, we headed into Philly for some sightseeing. The hotel is right off I-95 and we were at Independence Hall in just 15 minutes (it was a Sunday morning).

This property does not offer breakfast, but is right next to a Denny's.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotter186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Hello and thank you for your review. I am sorry our mattress was too soft. I will share your comments with our staff and we will continue to improve our quality. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 224 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

If I could give this hotel a -1, I would. They gouged with the price knowing about the airport canceling flights, there's no shuttle, no hair dryer, no coffee maker, and such a small shampoo that it only serviced one if us. Never again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank dchalhoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Ms. Chalhoub,

Thank you so much for your review. We take everyone's opinion and experience very seriously. As you may know Red Roof Inn has different types of rooms. I am sorry you did not get a chance to experience our newly renovated Superior King that does include hair dryer, refrigerator and microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and other essentials. In addition, for those guests that choose a different type of room we have complementary items at the front desk, when our friendly Guest Services Representative would gladly supply anyone in need. Furthermore, I can assure you that as a company we never goug our rates and stay competitive with everyone in the area. Again, thank you so very much for your review and pleasant travels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed 10 days while visiting Phili, the room was very small and dark. I had to ask for towels and a hair dryer since it wasn't there when we arrived. WiFi internet was very unstable and no food store close by. Cleaning was done daily, but very sloppy and late during the day. I would never recommend or come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Ms. Isabella O,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not meet your expectation after your 10 day stay in Philadelphia. I wish during your stay you would have mentioned your issues so that you could experience our newly renovated Superior King that is bigger in size with large selection of amenities. Again, thank you so much for your review and pleasant future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I booked this hotel after booking another Red Roof in Hickory, and thinking that the amenities would be the same. But not. The hotel was $78 plus taxes, and it was in remodel. The door doesn't worked properly, there wasn't a cofee maker nor a microwaves, the door was wet/painted and there was plenty of contractors in the morning. Just in front of this hotel there is a Motel 6 for $33.... seriously? I would recommend not to book this hotel until they finish the remodeling. Maybe then the price will worth it...but not now, for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramoncardena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Mr. Cardena, thank you for your review. As we continue to improve our hotel with new rooms, I am proud to say that, even with better quality of the rooms then other hotels in the area, we are still competitively priced. Our renovation will be completed in a few weeks and we will gladly have you back. On a side note, Motel 6 price sign hasn't been working properly, their rate is $69.99. Thanks again for your comments and I hope you have great holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Visit family and friends in the area often. Always stay here. Yes it is an older building and they are upgrading. Staff is always friendly and professional. While I have read other reviews on the housekeeping...being in the cleaning business myself there are certain things I look at. Sheets are clean (mattresses are comfortable) and bathrooms are clean. Since they are remodeling. am am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jody1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Jody, Thank you so much for your review. Yes, we are almost done! New Rooms, new Furniture ...100% smoke free. I will share your comments with my staff and we are so glad you are coming back to stay with us. See you soon! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is absolutely awful. When you start looking longingly at the Motel 6 next door you know you have a problem. LOL Got there late in the evening and opened up the door to a room that smelled like smoke among other things, had stains on every fabric service in the room (carpet, chair, bedspread, exposed box springs), including a big gooey spot right in the middle of the floor. Immediately asked for a different room and after inspecting it first. decided it was a better option (no goo and less smelly). However that room wasn't perfect. The night stand was sticky with what looked like spilled pop, there was a dirty rag in the shower and the chair in the room was filthy. This hotel is also not in a safe area, however I did see cops patrolling the parking lot regularly.

On the plus side, despite the thin sheets, the beds were amazingly comfy and the pillows newer and fluffy. Because the building is so old, it was actually pretty sound proof.

All in all, this was a pretty yucky place to stay and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I don't mind old, but I can't tolerate dirty which is just pure laziness on the part of the staff. One other sort of funny note, on the last day there (we stayed more than one night....shudder), housekeeping didn't even bother cleaning our room, they just threw clean towels on the bed which of course would immediately make them unclean.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CjmuehlbGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. Negative reviews help us to correct the issues and make other guest enjoy their stay. As you may have noticed our property is going through renovation and soon we will have new rooms with hard wood floors and new furniture. If you ever in town try us again. Unfortunately, I cannot change the view of Motel 6, but I can assure you the quality of our rooms will be different. Thanks again for your candid opinion about our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely the worst hotel I've stayed at in all my travels. First its way overpriced. $ 75 for a rundown out of date red roof inn? !?! It serms to me that they want todays guests to pay for the remodel. The room was dirty. I pull back the bedspread and there is a big stain on the corner of the sheet. I tried calling down to the office to get a new room. No answer. I walk down and no one is there. Sleep fully clothed in the bed. About 1 am I am woke up to knocking at my door. Its a hooker offering her services. I go back to sleep. Wake up the next morning and no elevator. Overall horrid.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. I hope you can understand that this is not a typical condition or situation for this property. Yes, we are going through renovation however our rates are still comparable to the local hotels in the area. I would like to personally apologize for your experience and it is my hope that you will give us another chance in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essington
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport Ridley
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Airport Waterfront Inn
Airport Waterfront Inn
#6 of 7 in Essington
162 reviews
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Philadelphia Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport

Address: 49 Industrial Hwy, Essington, PA 19029-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Essington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Price Range: $77 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated Red Roof PLUS+ hotel is proud to offer brand new Premium rooms with upgraded amenities and service. The entire hotel has just finished a complete renovation. We invite you to let us "WOW" you on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Airport Hotel Essington
Red Roof Inn Essington
Essington Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing