We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Disaster”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went to this hotel as my niece was having her reception at the hotel. This could have been an absolute disaster as the (So Called) Director of Sales almost ruined the day by not being cooperative to my niece the bride the day before the wedding. The Saving Grace for the day was the F & B Manager Jeffrey W. who was so accommodating. He stayed with us the night before until 3am to ensure the room was set to our satisfaction. And He was there the next morning as well to make sure the day went great. Overall the day went well. The food was Ok, the service was excellent. Thanks Jeffrey for making the day manageable.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Andre A,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your niece's wedding at our hotel. Unfortunately, our Wedding Specialist was unavailable due to a very serious emergency the week leading up to the wedding and the Director of Sales had to take over the wedding just days before. Other than some miscommunication, everything worked out fine in the end and the wedding was a success. I personally spoke to your niece about this situation and everything has been resolved to her satisfaction.

We are very happy that the wedding was a success and we wish the bride and groom many happy years together!!

With Hospitality,

Jason Bloom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    140
    109
    79
    98
See reviews for
146
124
55
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I hosted a corporate event here for two days. Two full days of training, one cocktail reception. The sales/catering team were great and I was very impressed with the food. The facility is undergoing renovations and I was pleasantly surprised at my comfort. The noise level at night was quiet, the new restaurant was very tasty. The gym needs some serious work. On the surface it looks fine, but the machines are junk. The ellipticals were in horrible shape and all three should have been retired 5 years ago. The spin bike - junk. Treadmills - something from a house that also should have been retired 5 years ago. Junk junk junk. I'd stay here again, thanks for the great hospitality! Jose in F&B was very accommodating!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear prnewman,

Thank you for choosing the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Philadelphia Airport for your recent event. We greatly appreciate all of your feedback about your entire event and stay. I would like to apologize for your inconvenience in our fitness room, I've addressed all of the equipment with our maintenance staff to repair. We will address equipment replacement this year if it cannot be repaired properly. Also, thanks for mentioning one of our excellent managers, Jose in F&B!

With so many choices here at the Philadelphia International Airport, we greatly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With Hospitality,

Jason Bloom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I recently had my wedding ceremony and reception at the clarion hotel and I would highly recommend other couples to do the same. Everything was PERFECT! There isn't one thing that I would have changed. The decorations were beautiful and the service was fantastic! They have a very thorough and reasonable wedding package and the staff is incredible. Throughout the planning process the catering manager was always quick to return my calls and answer any questions that I had. I can honestly say my wedding was a dream come true and that's because of the hard work and dedication of the staff at the clarion hotel.
Clarion rocks!!!!!
I did not mention food because I used an outside caterer since it was an African wedding and we wanted our ethnic food to be served to our guests.
Mariatu & Mohamed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariatu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Mariatu B,

CONGRATULATIONS!! First of all, thank you for choosing the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center for your very special day. We greatly appreciate all of your positive feedback about your event. We can accommodate all types of weddings with our in-house catering or outside catering services, especially for specific ethnic food choices. Again, I wish you both, Mariatu & Mohamed the best of luck!! Consider us for all of your wedding anniversaries!

With so many choices here at the Philadelphia International Airport, we greatly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With Hospitality,

Jason Bloom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was very impressed with recently done improvements - everything from the exterior to the lobby and, of course, the rooms. Everything looks great, very inviting. The staff was super friendly and accomodating. The room is the most important - well appointed, clean and quiet. My wife loved the decor, particularly the bed linens. The hotel is very easy to access from the airport and from suburban Delaware County - easy on/off from I95 in both directions. Spacious parking lot. We stayed there for a recent family reunion/visit and it was a superior experience. My only regret is that we did not get to eat in the restaurant. We peeked in - renovations were almost done. Very impressive arrangement and decor. Can't wait for the next opportunity to return.

Room Tip: We happened to get a room facing I95. No problem. Completely quiet, restful nights and we're f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelV1381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear MichaelV1381,

Thank you for choosing the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Philadelphia Airport for your recent stay. We greatly appreciate all of your positive feedback about your entire stay. Like you, we are also very excited about all of the new renovations to the hotel. You will be happy to know that just a couple of weeks ago we opened our new Red Fire American Grill Restaurant & Bar.

With so many choices here at the Philadelphia International Airport, we greatly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With Hospitality,

Jason Bloom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It’s been some time since I’ve stayed at this hotel and I was surprisingly impressed with all of the renovations they’ve completed. The exterior of this hotel looks great. The lobby is very impressive and inviting and the new restaurant, Red Fire American Grill, was awesome. I'm a mother traveling with two young kids so I look for hotels to stay where I feel safe and comfortable and it has the conveniences of home. The hotel staff was pleasant, accommodating, and efficient. My kids thought that the lobby looked like a wonderland with the floor to ceiling waterfall and modern decor. I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: The rooms are quite nice. We always ask for a room on away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosann0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear rosann0802,

Thank you for choosing the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Philadelphia Airport again for your recent stay. We greatly appreciate all of your positive feedback about your entire stay. Like you, we are also very excited about all of the wonderful changes to our hotel. We are glad that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay!

With so many choices here at the Philadelphia International Airport, we greatly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With Hospitality,

Jason Bloom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark,Delaware
Level Contributor
290 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in April 2013 and found it to be very nice hotel. It was quiet, clean, had a comfortable bed, easy check-in and check out process and it was very close to the airport. It was nicely decorated. The bathroom was up to date in style.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meeta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear meeta4,

Thank you for choosing the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Philadelphia Airport for your recent stay in April 2013. We greatly appreciate all of your positive feedback about your entire stay.

With so many choices here at the Philadelphia International Airport, we greatly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With Hospitality,

Jason Bloom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Recently redeemed a living social deal for parking and shuttle service at PHL Park & Jet. Was picked up quickly after parking in the lot and driven to the airport. Pickup upon my return to the airport was also very quick. It was a very busy time and there were numerous vehicles radio dispatched picking up passengers to return them to the lot. You could hear the dispatcher communicating with the drivers telling them how many passengers to pick up and at which terminals. When our vehicle was full, our driver reassured other waiting passengers at the terminal that another vehicle was on the way to get them. Will definitely use this service again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear VD123,

Thank you for choosing Park&JET at the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Philadelphia Airport for your recent stay. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your parking experience as well.

KEEP IN MIND, if you are flying out early in the morning and do not want to fight traffic or wake-up late, the Clarion Hotel is the only hotel at the Philadelphia Airport that offers a 100% Secured Park, Sleep & Fly Package! For your next trip, wake-up without any hassles, contact us at (610) 521-9600 to book your Park, Sleep and Fly Package!

With so many choices here at the Philadelphia International Airport, we greatly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With Hospitality,

Jason Bloom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essington
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Philadelphia Airport
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport Ridley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Philadelphia Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Airport/Ridley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 76 Industrial Highway, Essington, PA 19029-1001 (Formerly Ramada Philadelphia Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Essington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 14 shuttle/vans and 5+ consistently running around the clock. Timely arrival/departure from the PHL airport is our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Ctrip TA, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Philadelphia Airport Hotel Essington
Ramada Hotel Philadelphia Airport
Ramada Hotel Essington
Essington Ramada
Ramada Essington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing