We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Better this year, but still too expensive!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Essington
york county
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better this year, but still too expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed there again this year in April. Things were better, but still not up to the standards of other Comfort Inns we have used. Some rooms must be better than others, because this year was a marked improvement in the quality of the room. Still somewhat shabby, but acceptable. This year, there was a 30% increase in the price of the room from the previous year. Upon checking rates in June 2014, the rates was about $30.00 less that the previous month. This is puzzling, because one would think more people travel in the summer.

Rates were apparently raised for Penn Relays, but I find this price increase excessive. We then checked rates for next year and again, there was another rate increase. You can use there Choice Rewards system, but the rates are paid in advance and you cannot cance without losing your money! There are two restaurants close to the hotel--a plus.

After four visits to this hotel, we have yet to figure out what is going on at this facility. One time bad rooms, poor service--another time a better room and adequate service. Other reviews seem to confirm our opinion. The manager always has a stock reply to unfavorable reviews, but apparently does not follow through.

It is way overpriced for what you get. Again, we will have to decide if we want to stay there again next year. They are pricing themselves out of our range. Stay there, but do not expect what you usually get at a Comfort Inn.

We will check rates across the Franklin Bridge in NJ. The distance to Penn is about the same and there rates are more reasonable.

Room Tip: Room quality inconsistent--it is a crap shoot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 700traveler700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    75
    88
    66
    78
See reviews for
94
76
45
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Unfortunately, this was an emergency family visit at a very busy time. Penn Relays etc.
Rooms were adequate however facility could use a upgrade. Only major problem was Handicap Parking. There were only 4 spaces available. Seen at least a six other cars with stickers or placards parked in open area not close to hotel entrance so I can imagine they had the same problem I did. Staff especially front desk and management was very helpful. Internet too slow or busy to be dependable. expected a Comfort Inn at an airport location - and like most other Comforts that we use - is what we expected. Fortunately for us it was close to the Interstates, easy to get to from Pittsburgh. via air or auto.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCBUPBTRIPSTUFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Other than that, Herndon was pleased with the overall stay; i.e., breakfast menu met my expectations as well as the staff, Brenda. As stated to Brenda, Herndon has yet to be disappointed with the breakfast hours or menu. The overall hotel cleanliness was consistent. The "grab bag" was a pleasant surprise. Herndon also enjoyed having the USA Today newspaper available. Why must one pay with a "credit card" inorder to enjoy the 3 night stay. Lastly, Herndon was not aware of the "2 separate visits promo" when the reservation was made. Consequently what difference does it make how the customer achieves the two nights stay??

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaherndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

First off, the lady behind the counter was great. We checked in, parked our car, only to find out that the room we were given wasn't even cleaned. Went back downstairs (the elevator had a horrible smell in it) and went to get a different room. Got to our new room, which was cleaned. The hotel claims high speed wireless internet. We would get online for a few minutes, and be booted off of it. Internet was VERY SLOW, and spotty. Many times google search engines would time out just trying to open... Definitely not high speed internet. Our room had ants in it, the room was in dire need of an update. The shower head was cracked and spraying water all over the place. The hotel side door was rarely locked, as it didn't shut fully. There are massive potholes in the parking lot that could do some serious tire damage. If I could, I would have checked into a different hotel and got a refund. Unfortunately I paid ahead so that wasn't an option. Our door was constantly clanging from the air pressure changes, making it difficult to sleep at night.

The location is convenient to the airport, but other than that, I would suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmueller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

There are both extremes in reviews for this place, which probably should tell you it is about average, and we got about what we expected. Hallways a bit musty as some have noted and rooms dated, but ours seemed to be clean. I called mid afternoon of the day of arrival to make the reservation. The receptionist did not take my credit card which I inquired about since we would be arriving late, but said she didn't need it. When we arrived, they said our reservation had been cancelled since we did not arrive by 4pm. Apparently this was a misunderstanding, but my reservation wasn't made more than an hour or two before it was cancelled. It turned out ok as they still had rooms available. Desk clerk at arrival was not especially friendly.

When making your room reservation, you may want to try to make your shuttle reservation to the airport at the same time, as the time that we wanted was already booked when we arrived..

Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cayugadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

When we arrived, they gave us a dirty room initially, unmade bed. There was disgusting mold in the tub. Room NOT cleaned after the first night...beds NOT made, towels not replaced. Horrible service. I would not stay there again, and never recommend it to anyone. Wish I could get a refund!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

First off really great people. Joy at check in was great really helpful. Rooms are good and look to be newly renovated. Halls are ok but a little scary. John the shuttle driver was great. Good place for a stay before flying.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mrmcc916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essington
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Philadelphia Airport
0.2 mi away
The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Philadelphia Airport Hotel
4.2 mi away
aloft Philadelphia Airport
aloft Philadelphia Airport
#57 of 86 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport
Address: 53 Industrial Hwy, Essington, PA 19029-1001 (Formerly Comfort Inn Philadelphia Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Essington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Philadelphia Airport Hotel Essington
Philadelphia Airport Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Essington
Essington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing