We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly staff and great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I only stayed one night at this hotel but every need I had was met. As I had an early flight out of PHL, it's proximity to the airport was ideal. Upon arrival and departure I was greeted with a warm smile from the staff, which was a nice change from the hotel I stayed at earlier in the week. My third floor room had a view of the marina. I enjoyed relaxing that evening by watching the boats bob on the waves. The building itself is in need of some minor repairs (chipped paint, tub caulking etc.) but it is not "run down" by any means. If you're looking for a comfortable hotel near the PHL airport, the Holiday Inn Express is a winner!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    66
    45
    21
    14
See reviews for
36
37
12
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were greeted by Cory at the front desk as soon as we arrived. She was very friendly & accommodating. In fact, all of the staff we encountered were great. The room was very clean & set up extremely well. There was a discrepancy in our bill upon checkout, but when we mentioned it to the front desk clerk he immediately got the manager who apologized for the inconvenience and acted in a professional manner - taking care of the problem. Overall a wonderful experience. My only complaint - why I didn't give an excellent rating - the breakfast could use some work; the eggs were obviously powdered & tasted like it, and the breads were a bit stale.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

After forking over $11 for long term airport parking at PHL one two many times, I finally found that the Holiday Inn Express does long term parking for just $6.95 per night. The shuttle that goes to the airport leaves every half hour, and when I returned to Philly I just called them and they came to pick me up right away. Ken, the shuttle driver, was so nice - he even pointed out a baby deer grazing near the highway on our drive back to the hotel. Definitely made for a pleasant re-entry!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CamAnn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Check in was quick and everything looked great. They had the government rate and were close to the airport. The room was perfectly cleaned. Everything was dusted, nothing on the floors and beds were gleaming white. The room stayed quite all night and the channel selection was great. Worried about the winter weather, it was easy to find the weather channel and watch. The morning shower proved to be hot and relaxing as the variable shower head was a luxury. Free secure WIFI and outlets on the bottom of the lamp mad it easy to use laptop. The great stay was capped off with a great breakfast right at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuaneB237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was flying out of Philadelphia International airport on January 5 so I decided to stay in a hotel near the airport the night before my flight. I choose the Airport Holiday Inn Express at Essington, PA after doing a research online of the Hotels near PHL. The reviews was the decisive factor in choosing this property. I checked in on January 4, 2014 after the Northeastern snow storm of January 2 and 3. I did not know how bad the road conditions were after the snow storm so I decided to leave my house early for my stay at the Hotel before my flight. I got to the Holiday Inn Express about 1pm. Two hours before the check in time of 3pm.Traveling from South Jersey, a great distance from the Holiday Inn express, I approached the front desk and asked the front desk agent if I could checked in early because I was tired from the travel. The agent informed me that there was no room available yet and none will be ready before the check in time of 3pm. I told her it was fine and that I would wait in the lobby until check in time and to please let me have the first available room since I had a reservation and a confirmation number. As I waited for my room I observed how other walk in came in after me and the agent gave them a room right away. I did not complain about tis and waited patiently for the check in time of 3pm. While I waited in the lobby I observed and heard how the agent sat in the breakfast dining area to gather with other co workers and proliferated foul language as they lounge in the dining area. I did not complain about this. At about 2:55pm I approached the front desk agent and proceeded to inform her that it was almost 3pm check in time and that I was still waiting. Her answer was that knew how to tell time. She made me wait for the next front desk agent to come on for me to get my room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yabucoaAtlanticCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Public acknowledgment

Dear yabucoaAtlanticCity,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you received service that was less than satisfactory. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Lobby nice & lots of parking get past that and it all goes downhill. For Elite members you get a hot bottle of water and a hard granola bar, my room is Extremely unclean the office chair arm looks as though someone left some sexual aftermath on it & between the lounge chair & bed not sure if its dog poop or a chewed up long tootsie roll very limited outlets to charge phones & computer rooms outdated along with rest of hotel elevator looks to have been spray painted by 1st graders for an art project at least its not as bad as the Holiday Inn at Panama City Beach Florida

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank istrainer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear istrainer,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all issues you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I booked this hotel quickly last night due to a flight cancellation. The staff was so helpful, the shuttle was great (only 5 minutes away), and check in/check out was easy. The beds were SO comfortable and the toiletries were by Bath & Bodyworks so that was a nice touch. The room was very modern and clean. There is free wifi and breakfast in the morning including: eggs, pancakes, bagels, muffins, cereal, bacon, sausage & biscuits, etc. The milk ran out and once we mentioned it to the staff they ran right out and come back with 2 gallons within 5 minutes. Great attention to detail...happy we chose this hotel without knowing much about Philadelphia. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essington
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Philadelphia Airport
0.7 mi away
The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport Ridley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport
0.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Airport/Ridley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport
Address: 101 Taylor Ave, Essington, PA 19029-1240 (Formerly The Waterfront Inn Lago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Essington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Brand New Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport in Essington, PA. Our courtesy shuttle will take you to the only hotel on the Delaware River waterfront. Located adjacent to Governor Printz Park, our guests enjoy the scenic views of the river and marina. Explore the attractions, restaurants and entertainment of Downtown Philadelphia. Don’t miss the historic sites, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Also discover the Old City District, where you will experience the best shopping, dining and culture. If you’re a sports fan, the hotel is minutes from the Philadelphia Sports Complex. This site includes Lincoln Financial Field, Wells Fargo Center and Citizens Bank Park. The Philadelphia Union Soccer Stadium, PPL Park, is 3 miles away, near Harrah’s Casino and Racetrack. For our business clientele, we are located close to Boeing, UPS, Sunoco, Philadelphia Navy Yard, and the airlines serving the Philadelphia International Airport. After a long day, enjoy the waterfront scenery, or keep up with your workout routine in our fitness room. Jump start your day with our Express Start breakfast, serving your favorite hot breakfast selections and hot cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport Hotel Essington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing