We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned and dated but good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lehman's Tavern

Lehman's Tavern
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Essington
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
582 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Old fashioned and dated but good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

A taste of "Old Philadelphia" with all the goods and bads that entails. For the older crowd, for sure! On the plus side was fast service, reasonable prices, excellent food and lots of leftovers. The minus side was a musty atmosphere and aged interior - not much atmosphere. OK, put your blinders on and get a five class meal for a two star price. Not a swinging place but this place is the real deal. Give it a try. One big bonus - if you are staying at a motel near the airport, they offer a free shuttle service to and from the restuarant. That can't be beat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    59
    27
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely First Rate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The restaurant was very close to our hotel. The food was as good as I have ever eaten anywhere. The prices were reasonable, the atmosphere was elegant but not snobbish. Loved it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HuggieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Indiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went with spouse and/sons on several occasions after Phillies games. Very close to PHL airport and an easy traffic-free drive. Very uneven experiences, service sometimes great and sometimes not so. Food is OK, nothing special either way. Large menu, one son likes the veal Marsala, other will eat anything. Spouse and I have tried a large number of items and have had neither great nor bad experiences. A major issue that affects our recommendation is that they have a smoking bar and the tobacco smell pervades part of the restaurant. We sit in the back room. If you want a late meal and to avoid center city, it's fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frank_mary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were staying at a hotel near the airport, so there wasn't much nearby as far as restaurants. Lehman's was recommended by the front desk staff, and it was fabulous! Easy to find, nice ambiance, service good and food awesome! I had Veal Alaska (veal, scallops and shrimp in white wine cream sauce- excellent!!); the only item that wasn't great was the french onion soup- kind of salty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacationer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the staff at the Embassy Suite. After a long day of walking we wanted to relax and enjoy dinner, and this restaurant did not disappoint. From the time we entered, we felt very welcome.

The food was fresh and delicious and was very well prepared, not fried, but baked or broiled, since I don't like to eat grease. We had the crab cake (new item on menu), stuffed flounder with crab meat, and shrimp. The portion size is very good, we even had left overs. They have a good selection of desserts too, but we had to pass, because we were so full...I was tempted to try the bread pudding though.

Overall, our server was very nice and the service was very good. This is an old style tavern with a dark color decor; not modern, but has that old style charm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lehman's Tavern also viewed

 
Ridley Park, PA
 

Been to Lehman's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing