We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Inn, but a restaurant first and an Inn second”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erwinna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Pheasant Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Erwinna B&B and Inns
new york, ny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn, but a restaurant first and an Inn second”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here but felt a few things were off. The good: it was very clean, new, fresh and tastefully appointed. The small fridge and drink area for guests was a nice touch, as were the l'occitane bath products. Bed and bedding was very comfortable and we enjoyed the bottles of water in the room.

We didn't feel like we were at a bed and breakfast. We felt like we were in a hotel room above a nice and bustling restaurant. There isn't a separate sitting area for guests, no afternoon offering and no inn keepers to chat with. We also didn't love that there was a private residence on the third floor above us with a toddler who cried at night. We love kids, but don't want to pay $250/night to hear someone else's baby crying when we just left ours at home. If we come back we will first ask if the baby is still there.

The cooked breakfast was decent, but nothing outstanding considering the restaurant dinner was really delicious. Coffee was really good, which matters to us. Continental offerings were lacking especially considering there are many delicious local bakeries. Also, small touches like the cream was in its original box container rather than a creamer was noticeable.

The dinner was outstanding and if we come back to the area we will definitely be back for dinner. We also loved the bar. Get a Bloody Mary!

Overall we enjoyed our stay but feel a few small things could be changed to improve the overall experience for guests. It's clear it is a restaurant first and an inn second.

Shout outs to Homestead CoffeeRoasters and Eat This! jams.

Dont miss the Stockton Market!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megumic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B M, Owner at Golden Pheasant Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience. We will take care to ensure that the pastries and breakfast are more special. Mother's Day Weekend is our absolute busiest weekend of the year. Your comments are appreciated because while the weekend was busier than normal, it is important for guests to know that we are a country inn with a restaurant. Most guests like this because, as you noted, it provides a great dining experience and the opportunity to have dinner and enjoy an after dinner drink in our bar, sit on the porch with a glass of wine or retire to their room. Not everyone is looking for that experience. Again, thank you for staying with us! We hope you will come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    9
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This Inn is a gem. The decor is lovely - a mix of muted blues, grays, and soft browns blended with lovely oil paintings and lots of big windows, all with magnificent views. The setting creates the perfect back drop for the dinning tables that are set with crisp white table linens and sparkling silverware and glassware. The menu is creative and uses fresh local ingredients. The service is friendly and personal. My husband and I went for Sunday Brunch to celebrate our anniversary. We sat in the main dinning room by huge field stone fire place. Our table overlooked the Delaware River on one side, and the canal on the other. The food was delicious, the ambience was relaxing and romantic. In fact, the Inn was so inviting and welcoming, we went home, packed our bags and came back for dinner and to spend the night in one of the newly appointed rooms. We can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heykikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B M, Owner at Golden Pheasant Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Your feedback made our day! Thank you so much for dining and staying with us. We are really pleased that you had a nice time. All the best - Briar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks county, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had heard good things..and watched the transformation when they were redoing the inn during the many trips by..and finally went this past weekend. I have a new favorite restaurant! Being vegetarian and going to a "typical" inn usually poses problems..but the Golden Pheasant did not disappoint! The food was elegantly prepared and presented. Service was wonderful and decor perfect. I love the farm-to-table concept!! I look forward to eating outside when the weather gets warmer and enjoy the water view. My only suggestion would be to get a better wine list. Didn't love the choices. I highly recommend this gem of a restaurant!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwelsh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B M, Owner at Golden Pheasant Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had brunch last month with my parents in the newly refurbished Solarium dining room. The atmosphere was light filled and open & the service attentive and friendly.

Brunch is pre-fixe with multiple choices for entre as well as soup/salad and dessert. We each had a different entre and were pleased with the food - everything was fresh and delicious. The desserts were especially fantastic!

The refurbishment has created a modern space without losing any of the Inn's charm. I look forward to returning and recommend for anyone looking for a special place to dine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B M, Owner at Golden Pheasant Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This jewel of a hotel sits along the Delaware River in Bucks County and it was just redone - it is fabulous. From the new decor, modern convenience and rustic charm. The food is terrific as is the service. The new bar is my favorite part of the remodel, welcoming, modern, it could compete in any major city!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
239 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My partner and I have come to the Golden Pheasant for years. It has always delivered us the best of everything. This is a quaint place with lots of atmosphere. If you would like a feel and glimpse of the past, it is like stepping back in time.
The food is always amazing and the service impeccable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Drove up the Delaware to have an early New Year's Eve celebration at the Inn, as we have done sporadically over the last few years. Once again the food and setting did not disappoint. We chose to dine in the newer wing, sitting close to the brightly lit Christmas Tree. This was an intentional choice to get away from the busier main dining room where we typically sit. The local artisan breads were earthy and delicious. The plate of local cheeses with honey elicited memories of a picnic in a summer meadow. My flavorful lobster bisque was accented with chunks of meat and a dollop of fresh sour cream. My wife opted for a large and delicious beet salad. Our main courses were excellent. My wife's osso buco was exquisitely, fall-off-the-bone tender. My vension chops were done to perfection, and complemented by tasty roasted Brussels sprouts, mashed potatoes and a sprinkle of lean bacon.Desserts featured a classic chocolate mousse and local ice creams in unique flavors. Service was pleasantly attentive without being cloying. Altogether, another consistently great dining experience at a fine, family-run restaurant. After the Inn completes its planned 4 month renovation, we will be back in May to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodT46724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erwinna
10.7 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
11.3 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
7.8 mi away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Washington House Hotel
The Washington House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sellersville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pheasant Inn

Property: Golden Pheasant Inn
Address: River Rd., Erwinna, PA 18920
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Erwinna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Erwinna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Golden Pheasant Hotel Erwinna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing