We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenery Good Wine”
Review of Sand Castle Winery

Sand Castle Winery
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Erwinna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Butler, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery Good Wine”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife & I are not real wine experts but we have visited 3 other wineries in the same Delaware area and found Sand Castle to be the best. We visited this winery about 7 yrs ago when they were completing the "castle" and enjoyed the wine testing back then. The "castle" sits on top of the hills over looking the Delaware river and the view is fantastic! One of the few wineries with a large vinard that you can tour. The wine testing is fun as you taste 12 wines with some chocolate. They also had you taste a wine warm (spice) and in a cold pitcher like you would have on a hot summer day.

One issue, we were included with a large group of people and the tasting area was in the same location as entrance which made it noisy. They did not seem to have enough people working to handle all the people. The wine is good - not great but this is PA on the Delaware river not Napa Valley.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    47
    21
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the ride!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a favorite stop for my wife and I when we are in the area. On Sunday we had the 90 minute VIP experience. A nice tour of the vineyard and cellar. Our guide was both informative and funny. Then upstairs for the tasting. 11 different wines with an excellent narrator. Wines are excellent and reasonably priced. The vineyard is beautiful and the staff is great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jbeav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Royal whimsy in Bucks County”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We hiked up to this winery while staying at The Golden Pheasant Inn, and it was worth the trek. The owners of a 70-acre winery offer tastings and conviviality in a remarkably fortress-like castle at the top of a ridge. Probably a great venue for big parties and receptions, but also fun just for a couple to hang out at the wine bar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank G-dog26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great tasting guide”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

While the wine wasn't my cup of tea, I really enjoyed the Slovakian gentleman that instructed our tasting. He was really funny and entertaining and kept my interest.

We went during a clam bake event so we were not able to take a tour of the facility. You do get to keep the glasses during the tasting. Tours are on the hour. It was all-in-all a fun afternoon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsFalcon926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

It's a very pretty vineyard, don't get me wrong, but the place was under staffed (for a Saturday afternoon), was a little over priced for a glass of wine and for food, and it was very unorganized. Then the power went out and they did not have back up generators. Besides one girl, the staff was not very nice and you would have to call ahead for the tasting and tour (which was unknown to us).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fabreeze131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Castle Winery also viewed

Washington Crossing, Bucks County
Upper Black Eddy, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to Sand Castle Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing