We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic Hotel, No Frills, but Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Erie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Erie
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Youngstown-Warren, OH
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel, No Frills, but Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

This hotel is basic, but it is cheap so you get what you pay for. Rooms were extremely clean and modern. Beds were pretty ok, could be just a little bit comfier but no complaints on that end.
One complain I did have is that the staff seemed very unhelpful and disinterested in our concerns. It took quite a while too get us checked in and it almost seemed that the front desk agent was annyoyed with us.
One thing to be aware of is this hotel consists of two buildings, and for some reason our party was seperated between the too, which causes problems in November when we needed to walk between rooms, as the temperature was cold.
Overall, fairly good basic hotel for the traveler on a budget looking for a clean, no-frills hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmsgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    273
    105
    30
    11
See reviews for
238
221
69
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Good sized rooms (lots of room for the shopping bags!!), clean with no chemical clean smell, comfy bed with soft sheets. Best hot breakfast idea ever in that you get a coupon for the neighboring McDonald's extra value meal! Friendly helpful staff (perhaps because they don't have to serve breakfast?), seriously if the price was a little lower it would be perfect, but the price reflects the area and I guess the times, I'm still not willing to pay over $100 for a bed thanks and they slipped right under that with the CAA discount. This is our second time here and we'll happily stop again next year when we come to Christmas shop in the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtripmamato2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We only stayed here for one night on our way to Ohio. I was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised at how clean our room was. The tub/shower unit looked very new and the bathroom was spotless. Our room was on the small side but had a small fridge and a microwave, something we've previously taken for granted that all hotel rooms have, but found on this trip that not all do. The location was very convient to 90 which is what we were looking for. The area apparently is popular with bikers. The ice machine is located away from any rooms which I think is a bit inconvient, although it might be to prevent guests from having to deal with the noise right outside their room. My only complaints are minor. There was a very small selection of channels on the tv and only two pillows per bed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coastermom52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh Pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

never actually got to stay here due to the fact that when we arrived at 3pm our room wasn't ready. check in is at 1pm. i was told to pay for the room and it would be ready in 30-45 minutes. came back well over an hour later and was told that the room wouldn't be ready for another hour or 2. staff didn't care. told me to cancel my reservation. which i did. no one said sorry, no one offered any other resolution. they just didn't want to deal with us.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank insgal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

This pet-friendly hotel is comfortable, clean, and reasonably priced. Close to the I-90, this location is convenient for an over-night stay. Our room was quiet, away from the interstate traffic noise. Doc Holliday’s Country Bar and Grill (two blocks from hotel) has great wings.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Where ever we go, I always look for a Red Roof. In the past year I've stayed at 3 Red Roofs, and they are always clean, comfortable, and a tremendous bargain. Other hotel chains just can't compare to the low price, without sacrificing quality and cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pegasus2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights with my 2 dogs. I had a downstairs room that opened onto the parking lot which was very convenient for parking and walking the dogs. The room was fine. It's nothing fancy but did have a microwave and refrigerator and was comfortable. The wireless internet free with my room but I had to have a wireless card for T-mobile. The only glitch in my 2 night stay was that the internet and telephone service had been stopped when I woke up at 6am and tried to use the internet. I had to call the office and get a new access number and I had some trouble getting it to work. When I tried to call tmobile help I found out the phone had been suspended. I called the front desk and they activated the phone and must have done something to my reservation because then the internet card worked. It was aggravating to have to jump through hoops to get online at 6am but when I mentioned it to the woman at the front desk at checkout she apologized and gave me a free tmobile card to use anytime/anywhere because of the inconvenience to me. So a big thumbs up for great customer service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpagility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Erie

Property: Red Roof Inn Erie
Address: 7865 Perry Hwy, Erie, PA 16509-6642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Erie
#2 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#3 Business Hotel in Erie
#9 Family Hotel in Erie
#9 Romantic Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Erie 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has motel and hotel style rooms. Our first floor rooms offer drive-up exterior access, while our second floor rooms are interior corridors only. We are located 12 miles from Waldameer Park and the Presque Isle State Park; 2 miles from the Erie Zoo and less than a mile from the Presque Isle Downs Casino & Racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing