We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the bare essentials”
Review of Red Roof Inn Erie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Erie
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Ontario
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Okay for the bare essentials”
Reviewed November 20, 2005

We stayed at the Red Roof as all the other hotels were booked. The staff forgot to clean the washroom but overall the room was very clean. No extra's at all. Remember to bring your own shampoo even. I would definetly spring for the Courtyard Marriott or the FairField Inn if you have a choice. Staff was exceptionally friendly.
If your looking for a basic sleep and leave spot, The Red Roof is alright as long as you get a room away from the Freeway.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CampinTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    298
    112
    31
    11
See reviews for
258
250
87
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2005

Can't beat the cleanliness of this hotel for the price. Just try to get a room on the back side. The freeway noise might be bad on the front. Great staff. We were treated like old friends. If a meal is in order, the Longhorn steakhouse in Erie is pretty good. I would drive 100 miles further to stay at his hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oneold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2005

Good rooms and friendly staff, but don't get a room facing the front. Straight onto the freeway, which meant most of the night and morning the room shook from the lorries thundering past. Worst nights sleep I had in 3 weeks of touring around. Stayed in another Red Roof Inn in Albany which was fine.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 9, 2005

We recently stayed at this property and were pleasantly surprised by not only the quality of this inn but the overall friendliness of the staff. They are soon to begin a major renovation so I can only imagine how good this inn will look when it is completed. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty by providing local maps and directions. Everyone we came in contact with had a friendly hello and smile for us. Even the General Manager took the time to talk with us. If you are looking for an affordable hotel that is clean and friendly then this is the place for you!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2005

The room was clean and the staff was very friendly! For the price you cannot beat it. Keep in mind it is a budget motel and do not expect anything luxurious. However, if you just need a place to rest with no frills this is the place for you!

Helpful?
1 Thank StellaBoBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2004

I stayed at the Red Roof for one night at the Red Hot rate of $33.99. The staff was very friendly. The room and bathroom were spotless. I did notice some slight mildew between the walls in the shower, but it was not a concern as many places have this problem. They say they are renovating all the rooms in the next month or so. The bed was quite comfortable and the heat and TV worked fine. No, you won't get the frills such as hair dryers or little shampoos, but you will get a comfortable and clean room at a great rate.

Helpful?
2 Thank NY11373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 24, 2003

If you want no frills (swimming pool, complimentary breakfast, ironing boards) but a nice clean and comfortable room at a good price this is it. The bathroom had a clean working toilet that did not make any unexplained noises and the shower had plenty of pressure and hot water and no clogged drains. The TV, A/C and heater all worked great. The room was very clean-even the window sill-no cobwebs in the corners! We stayed on the first floor of this 2-story motel and our car was only several feet from the front door making it very convenient to load and unload. Plenty of parking. The motel staff was very friendly during check-in and check-out. Didn't really need to associate with any of the staff during our stay since they were doing such a fantastic job.
Everything worked and the room was kept cleaned.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Erie

Property: Red Roof Inn Erie
Address: 7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509-6642
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#3 Business Hotel in Erie
#9 Family Hotel in Erie
#9 Romantic Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Erie 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has motel and hotel style rooms. Our first floor rooms offer drive-up exterior access, while our second floor rooms are interior corridors only. We are located 12 miles from Waldameer Park and the Presque Isle State Park; 2 miles from the Erie Zoo and less than a mile from the Presque Isle Downs Casino & Racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing