We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red Roof Inn Erie always good!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Roof Inn Erie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Erie
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Red Roof Inn Erie always good!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have probably stayed here four times. Always excellent value, clean, safe, easy access. Best in Erie! Red Roof Inn has definately improved there level of quality not just here but all over the USA.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor, they are all drive ups
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for you compliments about the quality of our hotel and brand name! We love hearing that our guests approve of our new focus! I hope we can continue to provide you with excellent service, and we hope to see you again soon!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    293
    111
    31
    11
See reviews for
254
245
86
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here a year ago when it was the number 1 or 2 hotel in Erie, and decided to stay again, despite this year's lower rating... It was even better than last year! We asked for a room on the back side of the building and it was GREAT! Clean, good location, and (this time) quiet!

The bed is comfortable, although I must say the pillows didn't work for me, but overall, very satisfied!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side... Can't go wrong with a superior king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muppet_Boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your previous stay with us. We are so delighted to hear that we were able to improve so much over your other visit with us! We do our best to honor all of our guests requests. On a side note, I would like to say that we do offer a softer pillow to any guest that might request one, on hand in our laundry. If you are ever in town I hope that you will choose to stay with us a third time and that your experience keeps improving!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I had not previously considered Red Roof Inns after a bad experience many, many years ago, but due to having to pull off the highway late at night with no reservation, and trusting the glowing reviews, we gave it a try. Perhaps it does not show well from the outside, but the rooms are great. Very clean, love that they used laminated flooring instead of carpeting, how convenient to have plugs handy to charge up electronics overnight, and fridge and microwave. Comfortable mattress, nice bedding, great TV, really a 4 star room. If you are a AAA member, ask for a discount.

Room Tip: Ask for AAA discount. If you like quiet, ask for a room facing away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us even after you previous bad experience with the brand. We absolutely love that we were able to show you just how great of a hotel the Red Roof Inn's can be! We very much appreciate your glowing review and approval of our new design within the rooms. I hope that we were able to positively change your perception of the brand and that you will keep the Red Roof Inn Erie in mind during your next visit to the area!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I always make the yearly trip to Erie for some Christmas shopping. I'd originally booked at an expensive hotel with all the amenities included. We decided to go cheap this trip, and wow did we find the needle in the haystack.

The Red Roof has been completely renovated inside. Beds were comfortable, new furnishings and laminate flooring are just some of the attributes that have been updated. Room was clean and quiet. Bathroom was neat and tidy...no complaints there. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Shopping is just 1 exit up the road and the casino is right across the street.

While this Hotel does not have a pool or serve a breakfast, it more than makes up for it in the price. Staying on the strip could have cost upwards of $159/ night, while the Red Roof offered $119. We ate breakfast at the casino for $5.99 and it was all you could eat and better than any hotel breakfast I've ever had! The R.R even gave us a coupon for a $7.00 worth of gambling and as a first timer to the casino they gave us an additional $15. We managed to turn the measly $23 bucks into $150 and paid for our room and breakfast with it.

It's not the most elegant place to stay, but it sure was clean, fresh and quiet.

Only 1 complaint. We are non smokers. The Hotel is non-smoking, so the smokers light up in the stairwells. They leave ashes and butts all over the place instead of going outside. The staff obviously turned a blind eye to this, as it was never cleaned up during our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room opposite the Highway and on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnt2acrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel! I cannot express how thrilled I am to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much! We are so grateful that you decided to take a chance by changing your reservation to stay with us. I would like to apologize for smokers in the stairwell however. I can assure you that we do not accept this type of behavior and I will be diligently scrutinizing the happenings going forward. I hope that the next time you are in town you will take another chance with us and that your luck at the casino continues!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We went shopping in Erie Pa and decided to save our money for shopping rather than stay at an expensive hotel. Well, this place was fantastic! The room we had was BIG and the King size bed was so comfortable I never woke up once (which is rare), The shower was great the room was spotless and smelled clean. The only thing that I can say negative is that the garbage truck came very early and make a loud bang. Other than that it was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: stayed in Room 106 nice clean room with fridge microwave and safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for considering our hotel a fantastic place to stay and for the lovely comments about our hotel. We love this time of the year as we get to see the majority of our Canadian shoppers for the holiday season!
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that everything from the bedding to the shower was comfortable. I hope that you will keep us in mind the next time you are in town for shopping. Happy Holidays and we hope to see you soon!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the stops that my family made while on our trip South. Form the outside it looked nice. We had already decided this was were we were going to stop for the night. When we walked into the room it was very clean. The bathroom was very nice and was of a nice size. One thing that I loved about the room was that it was nice hardwood floor which was gentle on your feet yet you could keep your shoes on without really dirtying the floor. In the bathroom, the shower head was a massage head so it was nice on my back. The only downside that I saw was that it was a bit loud being next to the Interstate. Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend this motel to anyone wanting a nice stay.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayp2745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your great recommendation of our hotel! We are very glad to know that we can provide excellent service and clean rooms! We strive to provide every guest with a superior stay and absolutely love the opportunity of having new guests stay with us. I am sorry that the noise from the highway was a low point of your experience with us. During the off season especially, we do all that we can to accommodate every guest request. We do offer rooms on the rear of the building that will provide a greater protection from the highway business. We would like to thank you once again for your recommendation and hope that your travels bring you to Erie again soon!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

In the day and age where you can't get a room for less than $100 that isn't filthy, in a seedy part of town or is in dire need of renovation. Refreshingly this is none of the above! Room very clean, comfy beds, updated decor. "Breakfast" being a to go bag of a bottle of water, an apple and a muffin is good for those on the go. Conveniently located right next to highway, and just a few minute drive to Peach St. shopping.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel! We are so glad that our hotel has been successful in separating us from the standard economy class hotels. We value all of our guest's opinions, and that is why it means so much to us to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. If you are ever in town for shopping again we hope that you will keep us in mind for your hotel needs.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Erie

Property: Red Roof Inn Erie
Address: 7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509-6642
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#3 Business Hotel in Erie
#9 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#9 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Erie 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has motel and hotel style rooms. Our first floor rooms offer drive-up exterior access, while our second floor rooms are interior corridors only. We are located 12 miles from Waldameer Park and the Presque Isle State Park; 2 miles from the Erie Zoo and less than a mile from the Presque Isle Downs Casino & Racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing