We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated and Sufficient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Roof Inn Erie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Erie
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
NE Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Updated and Sufficient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was clean and updated. Check-in was easy and the staff polite and helpful. The location was great, right off Route 90. The accommodations were actually better than I expected for a no-frills hotel. The bagged breakfast was the weakest part of the stay, a prepackaged muffin, small apple and bottle of water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backroadnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel! It makes me beam with pride when I hear such lovely words of praise for my hotel and my staff especially. I am very glad that my team was able to provide you with such an effortless check in.

While we are not an over-the-top five star hotel/resort, we still do try very hard to make our guests welcome and are so glad we were able to break away from the mold and deliver such an excellent stay.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    293
    111
    31
    11
See reviews for
254
245
86
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Traveling with sister. Arrived late on a Friday night and headed out early the next morning. Honored coupon from book we got at a travel plaza. $79.99 which is still a bit pricey but consistent with area. Room was clean and comfortable and had wood floors which is nice - no wondering what's crawling in the carpet. "Breakfast" was a paper bag with a muffin, bottle of water and small apple. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: We did ask for a room in the back away from the interstate and were not bothered by traffic noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTerry50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your weekend trip! I am glad that my team honored the coupon without hassle during the late night. Thank you as well for commenting on our new flooring! We really appreciate hearing that our guests approve of the new changes we've made to the hotel. We feel the same way that removing the carpets from the rooms has added a whole new level of transparency, so now you can see exactly what you are walking on. I hope if you are ever travelling in the area again that you will grab another coupon book and head for the Red Roof Inn.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've been to this Inn many times, the last review being September 2012. I've been consistent in my comments -- Clean, comfortable, remodeled. Yes, bathroom is small, but tolerable even for a six feet two inch person. I knew that the Red Roof no longer offered breakfast at McDonald's and, due to lack of space, now provides a bagged meal of an apple, a muffin and a bottle of water. I don't consider this a breakfast and skipped it on this trip, although I would stay there again because everything else is so right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bltzflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for continuing to stay with us here in Erie! We absolutely love that having return guests. I am glad that even if our ground floor rooms don't have the largest bathrooms around that you still find our hotel very comfortable. I am sorry that our new breakfast option wasn't to your liking. I only hope that your next stay with us be even more comfortable and relaxing and that we continue to be your hotel of choice when visiting Erie.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Right next to the highway. After driving almost 600 miles I was looking forward to sleep but being right next to the highway made for a lot of noise! Rooms are clean and well kept but I was very disappointed by all the noise. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who wants to get a good nights' rest.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank reh037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent experience with us. While we wish that we could have provided you with a more comfortable stay we still appreciate your review regardless. We do offer rooms on the backside of our hotel which would provide a much greater protection from the noise. I am sure that you would enjoy your stay much more in one of these rooms. I hope you will allow us another chance to show you how great of a hotel we can be.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Red Roof. It has gotten a renovation and it was very nice. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom however is so small, you don't have room to change your mind. But who spends much time in a bathroom? It does have a larger area with a sink and enough space for toiletries and such in the room outside of the bathroom. I especially liked the desk area for my lap top and correspondence work.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. I understand that most of the Red Roofs have been
renovated. I would recommend staying at a Red Roof to anyone. Kathryn K.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice comments about our renovation! I am glad that even though the bathroom wasn't quite as large as you would have preferred, that the vanity area was still comfortable and to your liking. We are very happy to hear that our team was friendly and helpful to you during your stay. We appreciate the recommendation you gave us and hope that we get to see you again!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Took a took to see my relative going to school in Erie booked room at Red Roof. Let me say the room was beautiful and very very clean. This Hotels was recently remodledd and it great. No problem being by the Highway we heard no noise. The staff was friendly and so helpful, as well as this Hotel is near many stores and attractions. Will stay agian and tell others about. Also Great value!!!!

Room Tip: request a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campgirl413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you taking a chance and staying with us when you visited Erie to see a relative in school! i am so glad to hear that our hotel did not disappoint. Thank you for commenting on the appearance of our rooms as well. We were fortunate enough to receive a remodel last year which had made our hotel more welcoming by leaps and bounds. I am also grateful that my team was so courteous to you during your stay. We know that a bad interaction with a staff member can ruin an entire experience. Thank you for graciously keeping our hotel in mind during future visits. We look forward to seeing you again!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked this room based on the reviews from this site and was not disappointed! My husband and I had planned a shopping weekend and we knew we wouldn't be spending much time in the room. The scenery around the hotel leaves a little to be desired but certainly didn't seem unsafe. I appreciated how close the hotel was to the highway and such a quieter exit then Peach St. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The grab and go breakfast was a great way to start the morning and appreciated. We had no issues with noise although we stayed on the back side on the top floor. I would definitely book here again, it is a fabulous value for the price!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We absolutely love hearing that guests read other reviews on Tripadvisor and decided to stay with us based upon those reviews. We know that there is nothing more legitimate than reading reviews from other actual guests who have actually stayed with us previously with which to base your own decisions. Thank you as well for your appreciation of our location and our RediSetGo breakfast option. We are glad to hear that you will keep us in mind for future reservations. We look forward to seeing you again!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Erie

Property: Red Roof Inn Erie
Address: 7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509-6642
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#3 Business Hotel in Erie
#9 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#9 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Erie 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has motel and hotel style rooms. Our first floor rooms offer drive-up exterior access, while our second floor rooms are interior corridors only. We are located 12 miles from Waldameer Park and the Presque Isle State Park; 2 miles from the Erie Zoo and less than a mile from the Presque Isle Downs Casino & Racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing