We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great suprise & Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Roof Inn Erie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Erie
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great suprise & Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel after reading good reviews and was pleasantly suprised. 70$ on expedia for the night. Was very clean, comfortable, had a great tv with fridge, microwave and a safe . The bed was very comfortable and the wood floors were an added touch... We stayed in room 202. Hotel is located near the main i90 highway, casino, attractions and malls. There is a mcdoanlds right beside and a 24 hr country fair gas station/store across the street. The area isnt the prettiest but i never felt unsafe. The front desk staff are efficient and pleasant. I appreciated this hotel on our impromptu shopping trip would be 5 stars overall if they had a better breakfast option but they do give a muffin bottle of water and an apple. Oh and the late checkout was great at 12 pm. Would definately stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Red Roof Inn Erie after researching previous reviews of others who have visited the area. We do our very best to provide our guests with clean rooms at an affordable price. We appreciate that you enjoyed our new flooring in the rooms as well. I am sorry that our property was not more attractive during your stay here. We are in the process of building a smoking shelter which we have to dedicate most of our time to. I thank you for considering us for future stays as we would all are looking forward to seeing you again!

Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    293
    111
    31
    11
See reviews for
254
245
86
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Sept.8th to spend an evening at the Presque Isle Casino and horse races on our way to New York State. Our stay was very comfortable and the room was very clean and modern. Liked the pergo flooring...this helps with cleanliness and allergies. We were welcomed by the lady at the front desk who was very helpful and we got $7. of free slot play for the casino. The location of this hotel is good when coming from the casino at night after dark....you just go back north a short distance, under the highway and turn right at the sign. It is right behind the McDonalds. The breakfast was simple but fine as we like to get on the road early....a muffin, apple and water.We had a choice of banana, blueberry or chocolate muffins. There is coffee available in the lobby and a coffee maker in the room. I had brought some orange juice in a cooler so this was ok with us. The only issue I had was the air conditioner didn't seem to have a deflector so it blew right toward the bed. The room was quiet, plenty of clean towels, nice desk area too! Would stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the side away from the highway and didn't hear any traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie77iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to visit the Casino! I am glad to hear that we were able to provide such a conveniently located room for when you decided to sleep for the night. I am glad that you enjoyed our RediSetGo breakfast and that my staff was so friendly to you upon checking in to our hotel. If you are ever in town to visit the Casino again I hope you will keep us in mind.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I checked out the reviews prior to booking and I am glad we did because I may have overlooked it based upon past experience with the brand. An overnight stay @ Red Roof is cheaper than most hotels/motels in the area. They have updated the rooms - our was clean and quiet with new paint and pergo floors. The breakfast will probably work for most that need a quick snack in the morning unless you have gluten restrictions or eat paleo. The front desk clerk was friendly and joked with us (even @ 2 AM) and it was a great place for us to crash for a quick nap on our way out east. This is not five start lodging but it is obvious that they take pride in their establishment. I would recommend them!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utz2BeThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I cannot express how grateful and proud I am to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that my team was able to provide you with excellent customer service even into the late hours of the night. Thank you so much for commenting on the reflectoin off our attitudes towards our work. We do take great pride in our hotel and try out best to set ourselves apart from the crowd. I hope that this experience will be the start of many to come. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, IL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were headed east, looking for a place to stay around Erie, PA. The Red Roof Inn was number one on Trip Advisor and had rooms available which, according to the banner, were "all new." Our room was fairly small, with two double beds. The floor was Pergo, with small carpeted areas next to each bed. It was quiet and clean, and that's what we were hoping for. The "breakfast" is not good for vegans. It's a sack with a Sara Lee muffin, a tiny red delicious apple, and a bottle of water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyVeganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to the Erie area. We are very glad that our presence on Tripadvisor is helping to bring new travelers to our property! Please accept my apologies if your room size was smaller than anticipated. While I wish we could have made you feel more comfortable during your stay, I am grateful that we could at least provide you with a room that was clean and quiet. If you are ever travelling across the Pennsylvania line again we would love to have you stay with us again!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

It was the perfect stay for us! We were on the way from Boston to Detroit and needed a room to stay. Very clean rooms, nice staff and perfectly situated on the Interstate! Very practical, really like the Red Roof Inns, only made good experiences!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for being so loyal to the Red Roof Inn brand! We absolutely love that we were able to uphold the standard that the Red Roof Inn name brings along with it. My team and I are very focused on our guest interaction as well as the cleanliness of our rooms. We feel if a room is not perfect, then we should not be renting it to our guests. I hope that Red Roof Inn will continue to be your hotel of choice and that you will forever have great experiences with us!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed two nights, the room was very clean, and the bed was very
comfortable. Dave at the reception desk was very friendly and
helpful. The inn is 2 miles from the shopping area of Erie, which is
no big deal. Would recommend this place for one or two nights.
Its not the Peninsula in Hong Kong or the Royal York in Toronto but
it served its purpose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your trip to Erie! Dave is very knowledgeable of the area and is a huge asset to this team. Unfortunately he doesn't get the recognition he deserves because he works the nightly audit when most of our guests our already sleeping. That is why we appreciate this review all the more! Thank you as well for your recommendation for fellow travelers to pay us a visit.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our stay here was great from start to finish. This hotel's staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating from the first phone call reservation to our check out. The location is super convenient to everything... interstates, casino & racetrack, Presque Isle State Park, wineries, shopping and more. Hotel grounds were clean and our recently remodeled room was also clean and beautiful. We traveled with friends and they also enjoyed and commented as having the same experience and we all have plans to meet and stay here again. Thanks again Red Roof Inn... Well done!

Room Tip: Mini fridge and microwaves in some rooms... convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnniSchH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review about your stay experience with us! I could not be happier to hear that my team was so friendly and courteous to you during your entire stay here. We appreciate that our location was convenient for all of your shopping and entertainment needs. I will also make sure to show my staff your lovely comments on the upkeep of our property and our rooms. We love hearing that our team is doing a good job as this is a huge encouragement to continue doing our best in serving our guests. I hope that we can keep this momentum going forward and that you always enjoy your stay when you come to the Red Roof Inn Erie!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Erie

Property: Red Roof Inn Erie
Address: 7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509-6642
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#3 Business Hotel in Erie
#9 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#9 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Erie 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has motel and hotel style rooms. Our first floor rooms offer drive-up exterior access, while our second floor rooms are interior corridors only. We are located 12 miles from Waldameer Park and the Presque Isle State Park; 2 miles from the Erie Zoo and less than a mile from the Presque Isle Downs Casino & Racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing