We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice New Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Roof Inn Erie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Erie
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Tyrone, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice New Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel offers a good stay for the business traveler. The rooms have a nice desk with a large work area. The room also has a nice new TV and the bed was comfortable as well. Not too far from Lake Erie.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I am very glad to know that from a business man's perspective that our rooms provide all that you would need when in town on work. We do what we can to cater to our guests needs whether it be for family, pleasure or business related. Also I would like to thank you for mentioning the view from our front side of the hotel where the rolling landscape is viewable. We are very happy you were comfortable when staying with us and hope that your business needs allow you to return to our hotel again!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    293
    111
    31
    11
See reviews for
254
245
86
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Erie is the mid-point of my rather frequent travels between Albany, New York and
Cincinnati, so I have spent many nights there; now the only place I stay in Erie is the Red Roof. You can read the other reviews (and my own from the past) and they explain exactly what you're getting -- a clean, remodeled, moderately priced room and very good service from the staff.
The only drawback is the size of the toilet/tub area, which is cramped. I'm glad I'm on the thin side. Other than that, I have no complaints.
Dave at the front desk was most accommodating, even to the point of changing my room from the second to the first floor. (I was having knee trouble.) That brings up a point to others with knee problems -- there is no elevator so be aware. Overall, I'm very happy with this motel and will continue to use it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bltzflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
It is not often that we have repeat guests who are willing to take the time to review their most recent stays with us! I am glad that you have decided to stay with us again and that your experience has been increasingly more pleasant! Thank you so much for complimenting the cleanliness of our rooms and for mentioning our staff's job well done. I am glad that my team is doing what they can to accommodate you with a first floor room. I hope that you will continue to stay with us when you visit town and that your experiences keep getting better!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I travel quite a bit for business and am "picky" about where I stay. Remodel of this hotel done well. So clean! Comfortable beds. Love the breakfast coupons for McDonalds next door. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo6850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I am glad that you would consider yourself "picky" when it comes to choosing your hotels. We gladly welcome any thoughts our guests might have that would help us improve upon our hotel experience. It makes me very proud to hear that you loved your stay with us and that you consider us a nice find. Also thank you for considering us as a viable option during your next stop through town. We look forward to seeing you again and hope that your travels bring you back to the Red Roof often.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

it was, a combination of price, service, and clean, so the sign was right!

Location was a little poor, however as a stop off point en route, I don't think you will find much better.

Why is it number 1.....attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjcrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so very much for your earnest review of your experience with us! It is always thrilling when we hear new guests say that our hotel has lived up to our online reputation. I am sorry that our location was a little disappointing. However I am very glad that you would also consider us as the number one hotel in the area. We do try to listen to all of our guest’s comments and adapt our hotel experience to suit what our guests are asking for. We will do our best to keep providing you with a clean, friendly experience and hope that you will again choose us on you next visit to Erie.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
206 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

There are lots of places to stay in Erie. I have found most of the places so very overpriced. It is Erie, a nice town, but not a show stopper. Anyway, this is the second time I have stayed here. Their rates are reasonable. The rooms have been totally redone. The room was spotless and so fresh looking. There was a comfortable chair for lounging and a great chair at the desk. The staff was so friendly and I appreciated the help I received from Dane.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ehartlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We do have a great deal of hotels to choose from here in Erie. That is why we are so grateful that you would choose to stay with us! I can assure you that we do not take our number one status on Tripadvisor for granted. My team and I absolutely love seeing a new review pop up for our hotel. I am very glad that our rates were to your liking. I am especially happy to hear that my front desk was so friendly towards you as we focus greatly on our guest interaction. Thank you for deciding to stay with us a second time and we look forward to having another opportunity to serving you again!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We arrived late, but were able to get a room with no advanced reservation. The Front Desk clerk was great, personable and helpful.
We were on the side facing the highway, which had me worried after reading other reviews, but my worries were unfounded.
A good night sleep, and free Wi-Fi

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
I am glad to hear that we were able to book you a room with us even though you arrived late. We have staff on duty twenty-four hours a day and we do take walk in's at any time of the day with no reservations needed. I am also very happy to know that even though you were unable to get a room on the opposite side as you preferred, that you were nonetheless able to get a good night's sleep. If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more pleasant for you, we would love to know how we can improve.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stopped en route from Chicago to Niagara based on sticking a pin in the map for somewhere between the two and seeing good TA reviews. Was not disappointed - friendly staff, clean & very good sized room for two people (two large double beds), microwave, free wi-fi and conveniently situated just off the main interstate. Booked two rooms for four of us and they were next door to each other which was good. Short drive to Erie lakeside area where there are some nice places to eat overlooking the lake. The boys appreciated the McDonalds breakfast vouchers, I decided against it and although the room has a microwave it doesn't have a kettle. Not a problem though as reception has a hot water urn which I could use to make my ready porridge (oatmeal). The problem arose when I realised there are also no spoons for stirring coffee/tea - just very small stirrers. So my top tip is bring your own spoon if you plan on doing something similar!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Steph_C1986_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
It means so much to my staff and I to hear that we were able to live up to our reputation here on Tripadvisor! We read every review that comes through and use them as a guide for areas that we could improve on. I am glad that we were able to place you into side-by-side rooms and that they were clean and that my staff was friendly. As for our silverware, we do keep plastic forks should any guest inquire about needing one. However I will certainly make it a point to have spoons on hand as well now that I know they are in demand! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Erie

Property: Red Roof Inn Erie
Address: 7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509-6642
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#3 Business Hotel in Erie
#9 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#9 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Erie 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has motel and hotel style rooms. Our first floor rooms offer drive-up exterior access, while our second floor rooms are interior corridors only. We are located 12 miles from Waldameer Park and the Presque Isle State Park; 2 miles from the Erie Zoo and less than a mile from the Presque Isle Downs Casino & Racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing