We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, decently priced hotel in Erie”
Review of Red Roof Inn Erie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Erie
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, decently priced hotel in Erie”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed one night, and booked at the last minute. Was lower priced than any other Erie hotels, and booked because of the good reviews and had stayed at Red Roof in other cities and they were all decent. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable, and less than 5 minutes from Peach Street and Erie's main attractions. I requested late checkout and got to check out at 2pm. I would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bream12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    298
    112
    31
    11
See reviews for
258
250
87
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Made reservation online, check in went smoothly(the desk clerk was on the phone, could have acknowledged me while taking the phone call). We got in after 10 pm, and had to park in the back of the property, away from our room. Room faced the highway, you can hear the traffic, but not so bad as to disrupt sleep. Wireless internet was easily accessed and worked fine, although it is an unsecured network. The room appeared clean, had updated bathroom fixtures. The beds were uncomfortable and hard, linens were paper thin and old. The room had a funky fragrance to it, didn't smell clean, smelled perfumed.If you are looking for a bargain priced motel, this is your place. It was clean and cheap and served the purpose. The voucher for breakfast at McDonald's was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stymie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Catharines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for shopping weekend. Check in was okay but lady behind counter lacked personality. The room we had was okay. Smelled a bit of smoke. Very small room considering it was a delux. Fridge had no freezer. Pillows were too puffy and lumpy. Beds were comfy. Bathroom very small. Don't think I would stay again as there are plenty of hotels to choose from in Erie.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The room was very clean. Close to highway. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlizzy1633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande-Anse
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Overnight stay only- good price and no bad surprises.
Quite a bit of noise coming from the highway so if you can pick a room on the other side it would be quieter

Room Tip: pick rooms facing away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicecache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Luzerne, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Room was clean & large. Very friendly desk clerk with fast check in & out. Easy on & off hwy. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was a big surprise. For a budget oriented hotel we did not expect a very well appointed room that appeared to be completely redone recently. Does't look like much from the outside but we would certainly stay in this property again and will check out others.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelloggTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Erie

Property: Red Roof Inn Erie
Address: 7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509-6642
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#3 Business Hotel in Erie
#9 Family Hotel in Erie
#9 Romantic Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Erie 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has motel and hotel style rooms. Our first floor rooms offer drive-up exterior access, while our second floor rooms are interior corridors only. We are located 12 miles from Waldameer Park and the Presque Isle State Park; 2 miles from the Erie Zoo and less than a mile from the Presque Isle Downs Casino & Racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing