We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

It has a good breakfast but, tough to find seat. You can hear everything from other rooms. I don't want to hear others and do not want them to hear me. Rooms are pretty crampt. This was my first time staying at one of these and will be my last. I stayed at wyndam next door last year for 3 nights and did not even get my reward points. I travel to that area every year and not having much success with hotels there

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Microtel is a great option when you want the basics. Bed. Clean room. Nice staff. Free coffee and breakfast. Loved it. Thank you. Was my first Microtel experience. Will absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank KAREN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My stay at the Microtel Inn in Erie PA was very comfortable. There were no problems with the internet or other electronics. The Power blinked during the thunderstorm once, but did not go off. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank KIMBERLY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Conveniently located just off the interstate, this location is easily accessible and good value. If you are looking for a good stop off between Toronto/Niagara Falls and Cleveland, Erie PA is a pretty good choice and the Microtel is a pretty good choice as well.

We booked online the night before. The reception staff was well organized and check in was quick and efficient. The room was just what you would expect - tiny. But c'mon, it's Microtel! They economize by installing a minimum of fixtures, cubbies instead of drawers, and so on. But the things that really mattered were all there. The room was clean and comfortable. The washroom was clean with all the expected amenities. The walls were a bit thin and we could hear the neighbors, the running the air conditioner fan on low (which was all you need in a small room, despite a wicked heat wave) created enough "white noise" to make for a comforable night of uninterruped sleep.

Breakfast is included - and a nicely appointed breakfast room with a good menu selection makes for a great start to the day. Waffles, cereal, coffee, juice, oatmeal, fruits...lots of healthy choices.

Elevator access, one minute off the interstate and about two minutes from restaurant row, Wal Mart, gas stations and anything that you might need on a quick stop.

Would stay there again. Recommended.

Room Tip: Thin walls, so the further down the hall you are from the elevator, the quieter it is likely to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anacreon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

we have stayed at this location several times before. Very clean, unlike other reviews, desk staff
very helpful and welcoming, Close to good restaurants, gas and easy on and off I-90. Would agree with the noise from adjoining rooms and floor above, but quieted down early. Used travelbook coupon,no problem using. Complimentary breakfast was okay and well maintained.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenwaybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

When I cecked in they could not make a key card for my room (only one in the entire motel) so for the first day every time we wanted to get into our room we had to get someone from the front desk to go with us to open our room --they did order a new machine and received it the next day. and we got a key card.. To compensate us they did provide a voucher for a free future night stay.

Room Tip: Average continential breakfast--coffee machine was broken while we were there (3 nights) but they di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadmanrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Needed a quick place in which to lay head for the night, feel safe, and get back on the road to home in the morning. The staff there (both eevening AND daytime were VERY aggressive and painfully obviously frustrated at life, and UNPLEASANT. WHY they chose to enter a 'people' industry is beyond me. BARELY made eye contact with guests. Witmessed their crassness and rudeness. They RARELY picked-up calls incoming, and when needed from room OUR calls went unanswered.

PORN was 'discovered' on their 'in-house' computer (much to my child's 'amusement') and when this was brought to the staff's attention theu could care less (wonder whom WAS actually regarding 'said' imagery?!?!)

The room was sufficient (however the A/C NEVER took the temp down to a TRULY suitable level).

The gym/fitness center was non-functional, and when mentioned they were VERY VERY sheepish about it (you are told it IS functional ... and then when actually requesting key to access told THETRUTH at that point).

Just a VERY odd 'energy' about the place.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel, midway down side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USStanTheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#6 of 38 in Erie
864 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie

Address: 8100 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509-4795
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#11 Business Hotel in Erie
#12 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range: $74 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Microtel Hotel Erie
Microtel Erie
Erie Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing