We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the Microtel in Erie on our way home from Florida. The front desk/lobby area were clean & bright & the front desk clerk very efficient.

The room was small, but clean & well appointed with everything we would need for an overnight stay. The hotel is located on the main strip of Erie & the front desk was extremely helpful in offering suggestions for dinner.

There was a continental breakfast included with the room price - quite good & included an array of muffins, danishes, cereal & even make your own waffles.

I was pleasantly surprised with this property & would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stopped after a long days drive cross country. The front desk was not very helpful- she could not recommend us a place to eat after 10pm when we arrived. The hotel does have an odor of smoke in the hallways, but we did not smell it in the room. Seemed clean enough- the location is right off the highway. Would not stay again, but it was fine for a quick night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingSasquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the Microtel Inn Erie during a short road trip to Erie and Grove city Pennsylvania. Upon entry the outside and Lobby was clean and well maintained and check in was a breeze. The room however was a little dated but for the price i paid this was nolt much of an issue. The hotel is centrally located and there are plently of restaurants and shopping in the area. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoChris2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed at this property for a brief night. Happy to have a 'basic' safe place to be for the eve. Have stayed at Microtels previously. SMOKE could be smelt THROUGHOUT entire property (though they advertise and STATE PLAINLY there are non-smoking rooms.floors, etc.). Due to health issues I need non-smoking accomodations. FOR SURE someone was smoking in a room two doors down across the hall (smoke wafted when waking past said room's door).

The room in which I stayed was perfectly as put forth by Mirotel (basic - simple - satisfactory). These roomds are QUITE small by generally 'accepted/required' standards by today's families/business travellers.

It hsa bee unusually warm; notwithstandin the room was HOT (not just warm). I am generally the one feeling the cold when OTHERS are warm, and I was baking .... turning up the A/C to almkost completely low and full-tilt (and then verifying all WAS as functional as possible) never did bring the temp to a decent sleeping environment.

The business centre was okay --- HOWEVER, as above, not only was it HOT HOT HOT, there was NO manner in which to have a/c. They had a fan in room which you had to turn on and off. Also the computer keyboard and screen are 'spied-on' by an in-room camera. For privacy reasons I believe this to be innhappropriate. As it IS their equipment they OCULD 'argue' that they have a right; however using THAT logic they could polavce cameras in your hotel room then. The could be watching you enter passwords, write emails, etc.

Also, as the wi-fi did not work once, when 'reloading' the old 'outlook' mkailbox popped-up and produced VERY rude emails (you could not open/I chose not too) and yet teh MAIN title lines were VERY explicit. If a young child, or even someone like myself who does NOT wish to see such things, regards these it's very unpleasant. Interesting cross-section of Americana

Property is close to Interstate, yet enough away that the noise isn't TOO bad in-room.

Many restaurants close-by.

Fitness center was "under renovations".

The woman at registration was truly lovely and efficient and engaging in her work/endeavours.

The man at the hotel's office in the morning was rude and NEVER made eye-contact. His use of the English language was degrading and disparraging. His demeanour condescending. He was NOT inviting and should look to reassess he works and carriage to other humans. Quite a shame.

Breakfast buffet was that of the 'standard' to plausibly facilitate blocked artiteries throughout the human body.

Some fruit a saving grace.

Understand these hotels are VERY rudimentary and NOT "The Hilton". When I am rating it IS based on teh fact they ARE more "Motel 6" tahn "Four Seasons".

Room Tip: Camping with a fixed bathroom, locking door, and solid roof overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWFTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Our first impression was the lobby. It was clean, modern and well lit. This hotel was great and we booked our return trip at the same hotel.
The staff was very efficient and friendly. The room was a very pleasant surprise. Very clean looking and smelling, The bed was very comfortable, great bedding and pillows, and we loved the fact that the window opened so that we could get some fresh air during the night.
The breakfast was great, good coffee, waffles, bagels and cream cheese etc. We recommend this hotel for a stay. If you book on line
the rate is cheaper.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beetonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Spent one night at the Microtel in Erie, PA. We had previously stayed at the Holiday Inn across the street before, but decided to find something less expensive. For about half of what Holiday Inn charged we got a clean room, a good bed. The room is small, but for us it was enough. The room was very quiet. The breakfast was more than expected. Coffee, juice, sweet rolls, a waffle-maker, cereal--certainly enough to get us on the road. When we go through the area again, will stay there.

Down the street is a Golden Coral!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank RichardTk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Florescent lighting in a hotel room is too harsh and unpleasant. Desk light had a buzzing sound making it difficult to use. TV was old and had an annoying humming sound. The picture quality was poor. Room carpet near walls did not appear too clean. "Desk" chair was shaky and the seat was stained. There was some sort of stain under the desktop. Plastic tub and surround (really?) were not very clean. There was dust on top and I think a dried nasal excrement. Sink did not drain quickly. Only warm water in the morning at 9 AM. Towels were very rough. Bed was comfy and sheets were clean. Room was small but cozy. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#6 of 38 in Erie
883 reviews
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie

Address: 8100 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509-4795
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#11 Family Hotel in Erie
#11 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range: $65 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Microtel Hotel Erie
Microtel Erie
Erie Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing