We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I came to check into a room on for a romantic weekend with my wife. Unfortunately all the suites were booked. I should have called ahead to make reservations but it was a spur of the moment thing. We were given a king room for the night since we were not in the mood to look for another hotel. Thankfully they were able to switch us to a new room as guests checked out. The room i was given was not a suite...but their two room suite which was a wonderful. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrnmrsWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for your kinds words, I hope that you and your wife had a wonderful weekend! I am glad to hear that our staff took good care of you and were able to accommodate your needs!. The next time you are staying in Erie, please be sure to give us a call!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 422 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Checked in and went to my room- the door was ajar. The windows had noticeable water damage to the ceiling by the drapes. Hallways didn't smell great.

* Parking is down a ramp behind the hotel: first come, first served.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
Thank ChicagoGoingGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. We are currently working on some projects to improve the property. As our hotel in not one of the newest, we are striving to make the changes necessary to better serve all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Avalon during a recent visit back home. Unfortunately, our stay there left little to write anything good about it.

Where do I start?

My wife couldn't take a bath because the rooms do not have plugs for the bathtubs......The sink drains did not drain.......The hotel restaurant wasn't open, as we were told sometime they open and sometime they don't.........The phone system didn't work, so you couldn't call the front dest or set a wake-up call......

The list goes on and on, but what's the use, nothing will change the way it is run.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank your for your feedback Timothy and we apologize that you left the Avalon unsatisfied. We do not have plugs for the bathtubs in any of our guest rooms, perhaps this is something that we will look into in the future. I hope that our maintenance crew was able to fix your sink drain if it was not properly draining as well as your phone. By dialing "0" you should have been able to reach our front desk and we would have been more than happy to arrange a wake up call. We currently do not have a restaurant on the premises but we do have a lounge that is available on the weekends for bar service. I hope that you will give the Avalon a second try to truly see what we can offer.

P.S Try a Waldameer package during our summer season, it's the perfect family getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels around the world and I can honestly say this is the dirtiest place I have ever stayed. Forget getting clean towels in the morning. We were there three days and never got our room cleaned. The toilet in our room did not flush for our entire stay. The room had an open half used bottle of shampoo and nothing else. The comforter on the bed was actually filthy dirty and smelled bad. The Hostess would not help with any problems we had. I really would like the Pa Health Department to take a good look at this place before someone gets sick.

Room Tip: I can't offer any advice on getting a good room at the Avalon in Erie Pa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank your for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It sounds as if you had several issues during your visit. I wish we would have know the problems you were encountering at that time so we could have our maintenance crew ensure they were resolved. All guest rooms should receive housekeeping service unless otherwise stated with a "Do Not Disturb" sign. We will be sure to reevaluate the cleaning procedures with our housekeeping staff to ensure proper cleanliness is to standards. Thank you once again for your feedback and we will continue to work on exceeding all of our guest's expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My recent stay at this hotel was one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. We arrived in the room to find the toilet full of toilet paper and not working and a half full bottle of shampoo on the bathroom sink. The carpet had what looked to be a huge bloodstain and the comforters on the beds were filthy. We stayed Friday and Saturday night and asked for fresh towels Saturday night which we never received. The whole weekend we never saw one employee with a cleaning cart cleaning rooms. When we were checking out we asked to speak to the manager, who wasn't there, so they added our name to a long list of people that were complaining. I would recommend to find any other hotel you can find in that area, it was a total waste of our hard earned money and very disappointing.

Room Tip: There are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

We sincerely apologize for you unpleasant stay with us. It seems as though we have fell short of provided you with proper housekeeping. I would like to speak with you directly if possible, please feel free to contact me at 814-459-2220 Ext 452

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We have visited Erie for eight years in a row during Celebrate Erie and have stayed at the Avalon each time. In the past you could say it needed some TLC, but it was always a pleasent stay with friendly staff. In the last couple years they have done much needed renovations and the place looks fabulous! Located in the heart of downtown, within walking distance of great bars and resturaunts. Only a mile or so from the Erie Zoo! I will continue to stay here every year!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for you positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Avalon in Erie PA and experienced some of the sites around the city. The Erie Zoo is a great place to take the family, especially during the summer! Please feel free to stay with us again in the near futurre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife mom had a massive heart attack and was taken to Hamot Hospital in Erie. We called the Avalon to get a room because the hotel was close to the hospital.
Kathy Kruger managed our reservation from our original phone call to checking us in to taking care of all of our requests during our stay.
She made what is a very stressful situation that much easier because of her outstanding customer service.

Thank you very much Kathy!

Sincerely
Rob Parrette
Connecticut

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind words Rob! I am glad that Kathy provided you with superior customer service. We understand the stress that comes when a family member becomes ill and we are glad to help ease the situation in any way that we can. We send you prayers and well wishes for a speedy recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#25 of 38 in Erie
234 reviews
1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
1.1 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lake Erie
4.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#6 of 38 in Erie
879 reviews
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 16 W 10th St, Erie, PA 16501-1402 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range: $73 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel is, without exception, a luxurious conference quality hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Erie, our exquisite ballrooms & smaller private rooms will accommodate 20 to 1000 for showers, concerts, receptions, conventions, meetings & much more! Whether you are looking for a modern traditional wedding, daily meetings with custom menus or overnight accommodations the Avalon is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Erie
Avalon Hotel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing