We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Call the Health Department” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Call the Health Department”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This by far has been the worst experience in customer response and service at a hotel in my life. The complaint is in the direct result of the unidentifiable stains on the shower curtain liner. The shower curtains in the bathroom had what appeared to be blood and mold at the bottom. I’m not certain but it was not safe to touch or have it touch you. I called the front desk and ask them to change the curtain ASAP. As a matter of record I called 3 times with the same response which was no response. The call to action did not happen at all for the entire stay and the next morning the front desk apologized and said that I would have to call the General Manager Monday morning to record the complaint. The GM who goes by the name of Zach told me after inspecting the room which by amazement housecleaning still had not changed the curtain “I would not take a shower in that bathroom” and that not compensation would be awarded to you and that final. The room rate was for 169.00 for a poor staff, worse management system and a room that the shower was unusable. The hotel management should be fired and employee’s service training initiated immediately. I will contact the health department to identify the stains in the shower. This will fall in line on not only a complaint but public safety and the city need to inspect the hotel immediately for such a legitimate issue

Room Tip: will sedn photos for the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    49
    71
    73
    148
See reviews for
106
82
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Ive stayed at this hotel twice because it's perfect location for us going downtown and the other hotels in Erie are way over priced.
The first stay was in september 2011 and we had a suite. The Suite was terrible and looked very old school. Needed a lot of work done but because I spent one night and not a lot at the time at hotel I dealt with it.
Next stay was in January 2012 and we requested a room that just had work done on it. This room was way better than the original stay i had. everything was redone and it looked new. The only thing about this room is the cost was more expensive, but its worth it for a much clearner room.

Will be staying here again next month, hoping there has been more renos done so we can enjoy our weekend stay.

Room Tip: ask for the new redone rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Avalon in centrally located so that you can walk to any downtown destination. There is self parking
in an attached garage. The desk staff were efficient. The room was huge with an empty area that might have acommodated another bed or it could have made a nice sitting area. The room is typical of most motels with the dark irridescent bed cover and coffee maker. It appeared to be clean though worn and it had that motel disinfectant odor (But, in their defense, I think that I had a smoking room).
I had a bright pleasant view of the street in front of the entrance. I spent most of my time at a reunion so I spent little time in the hotel. It met my needs very well. There are 3 other downtown area hotels:
2 are probably a step up from sleeping in a tent in a landfill and the other is way over-priced (It would be over-priced in Paris).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakmont, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a very poor excuse for a hotel. My wife and I were attending a wedding at the hotel, so we arranged to stay there also. First, our wedding was at another location at 3:30 in the afternoon. Originally, we were told we couldn't check in until 3. We were planning on changing at a Rest Area on our trip up. I called in the morning of the event and asked again. The Front Desk manager was kind enough to indicate we could check in earlier.

When approaching the hotel; which is supposedly in the center of the Cultural district, you see a rather bleak, dull, gray structure. It sort of reminds you of the old Soviet Union

The lobby is uneventful. Checkin was okay

We moved on to our room on the 7th floor. The elevator was dirty, the halls were musty. The room was large with 1950 furniture. I went to the ice machine for ice and a soft drink. The bottom of the ice machine had that black, slimmy goo on the bottom. Later I went to get an extra Decag coffee from the front desk. Beside the elevator, I saw a door I thought might be the stairwell. Instead, it was the maids closet. What a dump. The rollaway beds were scattered about, and looked like they might be from a refugee camp..

Back to the room. The AC was turned on, and obviously nobody had changed filters in some time. Went tfor a shower the next morning. There was soap, no shampoo, and the bath had no exhaust. The sink and tub drained very slow.

This place is not worth the $100 a night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mallsopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I booked my room for a family reunion I stayed for 4 days. I payed my entire stay upfront and today 5 days after I've been home I've been charged an extra day. Norma the lady at the front desk says she had my card authourized because they did not take the full amount. WRONG!!!!! I sent her my bank statement and receipt and what did she have to say. Not even an I'm sorry but only that the night auditor would have to look at it and she'd get back with me in a couple days. I DON'T THINK SO!! I'LL BE RIDING HER UNTIL I GET MY REFUND AFTER ENDURING THIS DUMP FOR FOUR DAYS.

ANYONE READING PLEASE STAY AT THE SHERATON JUST A MILE AWAY AND PAY FOR THE LUXURY UGHHHHHH!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I travelled to Erie because of a family reunion. I booked two rooms. First, they gave us keys that did not work for the rooms and the one room was left open for anyone to walk in. The floors had obviously not been vacuumed. We called the front desk and asked could we get keys that would work for the doors, we had to wait for maintenance for almost 45 mins to rekey the room doors. This was after calling 3 times. When maintenance came to rekey the room, they gave us a choice of new rooms which we took, but again the floors had not been vacuumed. There was some type of wet odor in the room. Also, the bathroom door locked and we had to call maintenance again..and, again, it took over 45 mins for them to come and open the door. The maintenance guy had to pick the lock because they don't have keys to the bathroom doors. I was dissappointed because I am a veteran traveller and also a native of Erie. The Avalon used to be a place that was known for it's excellent service, food and accommodations. What happened?

Room Tip: If you need to be in town or downtown, it's a better price, but I would check out the Sheriton a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babysnax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Briefly, this hotel is a dump.
I am a veteran business traveler with years of experience with most kinds of hotels.
Dark, dingy and way past its prime, it has peeling wallpaper and paint, smelly and dank hallways, and just two urksome dirty elevators servicing the entire hotel, one being always out of order.
BEWARE!
Front desk collects entire stay up-front, and rudely refuses refunds once you see the room.
Old, tired obsolete bedding (no bedbugs...we checked) cranky air conditioning and stopped up tub drains made this stay a nightmare.
Front desk staff rude and not interested in the comfort of guests.
Dark and leaky basement garage without adequate security.

Travelers would be well advised to book one of the many hotels out by Interstae 90 that are within an easy two minute drive to downtown.

Room Tip: Stay well away from this dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#25 of 38 in Erie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.4 mi away
Solstice
Solstice
#31 of 38 in Erie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
4.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel is, without exception, a luxurious conference quality hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Erie, our exquisite ballrooms & smaller private rooms will accommodate 20 to 1000 for showers, concerts, receptions, conventions, meetings & much more! Whether you are looking for a modern traditional wedding, daily meetings with custom menus or overnight accommodations the Avalon is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Erie
Avalon Hotel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing