We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Would like to let the management of the Avalon know we had a great time on our recent stay. Norma, A.J., Amber, Denver and Ann (our event bartender) made me feel very welcome. Total professionals in their respective fields. If there is a section to rate this hotel, they get a A plus.

Gerri

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    49
    71
    76
    152
See reviews for
110
82
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martville, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The hotel is well stafted and treated our Group very well for a week of staying there. A. J. , who Manages the bar was especially nice. Good Job A.J.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I have just returned from a trip to Erie, Pennsylvania. My daughter and I went to shop at the outlet mall in Grove City and we stayed at the Avalon Hotel in downtown Erie. The hotel is clean and comfortable. While not in the five-star category, it still was a very pleasant experience for us. Our king-sized bed was very comfortable with a lovely white duvet. The bathroom was updated and immaculate. The room was spacious. A good breakfast was served and was included in the room rate. Scrambled eggs, bagels, toast, fruit and my favourite--fresh biscuits!!!! In the restaurant, one of the staff members is worth special mention: A.J. was efficient, friendly, fun and brought a smile to our mornings. Megan at the front desk was wonderful! She was hard-working, accommodating, cheerful and efficient. She handled any questions and requests we had with grace and promptness and her attention to detail is remarkable. She is an asset to this hotel. I would recommend the Avalon to friends and family. And I'd go back if we decide to stay in Erie next year for our annual Christmas shopping event.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel, away from the main street might be quieter, though we had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaddyNiagaraFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This place is DISGUSTING. We found BEDBUGS in our room. They were everywhere-- in the sheets, blankets, boxspring. I tried speaking with the manager at the frong desk but there wasnt one there and couldnt be reached. The only thing they did was refund our money. DISGUSTING. It was as if they knew and chose to leave the infestation. Nobody was sorry or apologetic. Don't stay in room 401.

Not to mention the rowdy hockey team that was up partying and smashing into the walls. When we called the front desk they "took note of the situation" and called back 30min later to offer us a different room. nice.

Room Tip: check for BEDBUGS
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KNS967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

As part of a wedding group, upon arrival on Thursday night, first 2 reservations were not correct, but taken care of. We needed handicap room, which put us on 2nd floor with all meeting rooms while rest of group was on 6th or 7th floor. Tough to enjoy group atmosphere when you are 4 floors apart. 2nd floor room was clean, but very unappealing, it has not been updated like the upper floors. The grandparents were in a nice room on 7th floor, but it did not have any chairs. When they called to ask for a chair, the response was "sorry, this is how the rooms are." Now the good news, great location for our needs, the morning buffets were great, covered parking(which was needed because of rain ALL weekend). Upper floor rooms were nice.

Room Tip: request room with "chair"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTinToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAPErie, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review for the Avalon Hotel. Our current on-going renovation is a work in progress and I a sorry you did not get to experience one of our newly renovated rooms. The second floor rooms are on a renovation schedule to be completed in 2012. I am sorry a member of our staff did not take the initiative to deliver a banquet chair to your room to ensure adequate seating for your party. I am glad you were able to enjoy our great location to the many attractions in Downtown Erie. I am also glad to hear that you were able to start your day off with breakfast and stay dry with our complimentary covered parking.

We look forward to serving your needs on your next trip to Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2011

To start off this business sold me tickets to an event that they knew was not happening. The front desk lady Norma was EXTREMELY rude. Screaming at us, telling us to sit down or get out of the hotel, threating the call the cops etc. She had claimed that since the event had been canceled that we were out of our $120.00 and "Oh well". I Have NEVER experienced this type of treatment from a business in my life. We would have been fine from the start if we would have been told that the event was postponed. We were told that the tickets couldnt be refunded and theres nothing they could do. Only later to find out after researching online that the tickets are actually valid on another date. I will be contacting the front desk lady -Normas boss as soon as possible. Do NOT recommend. I was astonished.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaraT561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We recently had a group visit our city and stay at the Avalon. The remodeled rooms were clean and well kept. The staff was excelent-going above and beyond to accomodate our guests and their needs. And the Boutique in the lobby is loaded with great gifts! The hotel is central to a great many dining and entertainment venues. Erie is a great place to visit!

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAPErie, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Avalon Hotel. Our entire staff appreciates your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our remodeled rooms, and Downtown Erie, PA.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
1.1 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 38 in Erie
218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
4.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 16 W 10th St, Erie, PA 16501-1402 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel is, without exception, a luxurious conference quality hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Erie, our exquisite ballrooms & smaller private rooms will accommodate 20 to 1000 for showers, concerts, receptions, conventions, meetings & much more! Whether you are looking for a modern traditional wedding, daily meetings with custom menus or overnight accommodations the Avalon is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Erie
Avalon Hotel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing