We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I had read a number of conflicting reviews and wasn't sure what I was going to experience. I was very pleased by the hotel and the staff. I was on the third floor, facing outside. I agree that the bathroom was a bit small, but the toilet, sink and shower were clean.

The beds had lightweight summer covers on instead of the warmer quilted ones. I slept like a baby the two nights I was there while there was a motorcycle rally in town.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful when they are asked. Housekeeping was efficient, without being in the way.

The pool and hot tub were a great reward at the end of the day. There were plenty of towels too.

I will be staying here again when I come back to Erie in October.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    79
    58
    34
    45
See reviews for
128
54
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nothing fancy about this hotel, but it was a clean and affordable place to stay as part of my Splash Lagoon visit. The hotel staff were all very nice and made us feel welcome. They also offer a free transfer to and from Splash Lagoon (although after waiting for 20 minutes for the shuttle to arrive to take us to the water park, we decided to walk). If they tell you it will be there "in a couple minutes", don't count on it. Despite this minor glitch, it was still a great hotel. The only negative I have is that the breakfast did not have any doughnuts. Kind of strange considering every other hotel I have been to that serves breakfast has doughnuts. Otherwise, a decent breakfast. I will definitely be back to this hotel on my next visit to splash lagoon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Old, dirty, smells like stale smoke. We were looking for a cheap hotel for a couple of days. We got what we paid for. Pool was small but nice. Rooms really small. Wifi slow. Good location. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I booked the stay on Priceline two nights before .... was pleasantly surprised - did not pay much more than a Motel 6 stay and Econo Lodge provided a LOT more - large clean room, Jacuzzi tub in the room, king size bed, free Wi-Fi, breakfast, nice pool - wow - I mean a stay in Erie is never going to be exactly glamorous but this was a comfortable hotel and a good value. My kid even got a kick out of the old "tube" TV - "Look Dad! Just like Stewie on Family Guy said... 'we have one of those TV's with the fat back!"

;^D

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stopped in Erie looking for a hotel. The econolodge was not what I expected. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast meal was very good. The pool was the nicest pool we have been to in a long while.The workers were friendly and courtious.I would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed one night on my way to DePew NY. My trip back took me down !/80 W going back where I came from. I decided to stay in Erie again, because I had a good stay before. Tee was the person I got on the phone. She pulled up my info and booked me a room. She was Awesome, the entire staff was very helpful and accomodating. I will stay there again because of the staff.... Well done

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathaniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2014

From the time I reserved my Room till the time we checked out the staff at the Hotel did every thing to make our stay very nice. The pool and hot tub is very nice and there Breakfast was enjoyable. The king size room with Judaize tub was very nice the T.V. in the room was a little out dated (but who goes on vacation to watch T.V.) . I will stay here every time I go To Eire,I have stayed at many Hotels in Eire and Payed much more for a room but never got the kind service I received from the staff here at the ECONO LODGE.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottygirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#6 of 38 in Erie
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Erie Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 8050 Peach St, Erie, PA 16509-4794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge is located off of Interstate 90 and is adjacent to Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark Resort. The hotel is central to most shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities in the Erie area.Hotel amenities and features include:-Hot Continental breakast with fresh made waffles-Free high-speed wireless internet in all guest rooms and public areas-Free transportation to the airport, Presque Isle Downs & Casino and Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark resort-Room service daily from 6 to 10 from Applebee's, Famous Dave's, Quaker Steak and Lube and Boston's Gourmet PizzaAll of our guest rooms are spacious and include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, 60 cable channels plus free HBO and mini fridges in each roomWhether you're traveling to the Erie, Pennsylvania area for business or pleasure, enjoy the superior lodging and friendly staff at the Econo Lodge. Book a room with us today! We enjoy accomodating the everyday business traveler as well as providing a resort atmosphere for families on vacation.Our mission is to exceed our guest's expectations by providing memorable experiences that reflect the care, pride and expertise of our management and associaties!We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Erie
Econo Lodge Erie
Econolodge Hotel Erie
Erie Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing