We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and friendly”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Goshen, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Affordable and friendly”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had driven from Portland Maine at 830am to Niagara Falls, NY then pressed on and landed in Erie. I had a Hotel Coupons book and since it was friday night, many of the other hotels were twice the price they were the rest of the week. I was frustrated but Econo Lodge wasn't as pricey. I paid 89+ tax with AAA, and while that is still high to me, it was better than the rest. The staff were all very kind and helpful. We found our room to be clean, but the hot water would not work. I thought this place had a lot of bonuses besides the pool, they offered a laundry area and breakfast, with sodas and snacks in the lobby for purchase. It was convenient for me to walk next door to a food mart to get milk for my toddler. They were kid-friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBradley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear LBradley22,

Thank you so much for your feedback from your recent stay with us at Econo lodge, Erie. I was so pleased to hear that we provided such great services for you. We hope to see you again in the near future, again thank you!

Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    79
    58
    34
    45
See reviews for
128
54
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The only saving grace of this property is the pool.

Beds small and beyond soft. Shower rusting and more caulking than door. Rooms stink from mildew. Front desk were rude and know nothing about customer service. One of the people that stayed in another room had a fold out bed with no blankets, they called the front desk and were told they did not have any blankets, why rent a room with a fold out couch them?

Kids liked the pool and hot tub area and this is really the only reason I would ever think someone would stay at this place. We were here for 2 nights and barely got any sleep due to the poor quality of the bedding, bed and fixtures.

I know it is "econo" but does that mean that it is has to be "garbage" I think not. You can run an economical property and still have it clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYSBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Cysboy,

First I would like to apologize on behalf of myself and the entire staff that we did not meet your expectations. All issues will certainly be addressed with the appropriate staff members to assure that we improve so that other guests' will not be inconvenienced as you were.

Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Top Notch Econo Lodge. I was very impressed. The price was beyond reasonable for the accommodations. A two night stay turned into four. My daughter loved the indoor pool and spa. I really can't say enough great things about this place. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Bellaronee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Econo Lodge, Erie. I am so pleased to hear that we provided exceptional service and hope to see you again soon.


Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We took our granchildren to Splash Lagoon for two days. We stayed at the eco lodge. We booked through Splash Lagoon because you get a package deal and very good price for both the hotel and the entertainment. It is right across from splash lagoon. they have a free shuttle running back and forth from splash lagoon and the hotel. The staff was outstanding (Cheryl Lupole checked us in and checked us out....she was outstanding). The package came with a breakfast which was very good. I will definitely use this hotel again because of the value and location.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a King Bed and a Pull-out couch. It was nothing fancy, but we spent so little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellaronee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Bellronee,

I want to thank you for sharing comments from your recent experience at Econo Lodge, Erie. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in doing our very best to exceed our guests expectations and are so happy to hear that we provided that for you. We hope to see you again the next time you plan a vacation! Again thank you.


Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The room was good. The breakast was the best. Had three waffle irons. The sausage gravy with biscuits were good and had other items to choose from. The staff eas friendly. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coasterfan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Coasterfan 98,

I want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent experience at Econo Lodge, Erie. I am very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and I will certainly share your comments with the entire staff. Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoona, pa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Rooms filthy, carpets filthy, room smells, furniture dated at smacked up, front desk clerk standing outside smoking a cigarette while we waited at the desk. Can't really come up with anything good except the location!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxmyamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Maxmyamason,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Econo Lodge - Erie. All feedback is taken seriously as we strive to meet each and every one of our guests' needs. I have shared your comments with the approriate team members and can assure you that your concerns have been addressed.
Again thank you for staying with us and we hope you will choose the Econo Lodge- Erie for any travel needs while in the Erie area.

Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a great hotel for the price. The rooms are clean & beds are comfy. The hot tub, sauna, & indoor pool are very lovely & nice to relax in after a long day of traveling. Hotel is located near many diverse restaurants & is an easy off/on to the interstate. Staff is friendly & helpful and gave us a "treat" bag when we arrived. Book on line, possibly thru one of the internet sites, to get the best rate. The continental breakfast was better than most & the dining area is nice. Parking is free which is a plus as well. We stayed at another hotel just around the corner & it was not as nice. We've stayed here twice & will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Karen V.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at our hotel. It is lways nice to hear positive feedback, showing us that we are meeting our guests' expectations. I am happy that you are one of those guests.
I can assure you that I have shared your compliments with the entire team praising them with a job well done. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again while traveling in the Erie area.

Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#6 of 38 in Erie
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Erie Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 8050 Peach St, Erie, PA 16509-4794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge is located off of Interstate 90 and is adjacent to Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark Resort. The hotel is central to most shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities in the Erie area.Hotel amenities and features include:-Hot Continental breakast with fresh made waffles-Free high-speed wireless internet in all guest rooms and public areas-Free transportation to the airport, Presque Isle Downs & Casino and Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark resort-Room service daily from 6 to 10 from Applebee's, Famous Dave's, Quaker Steak and Lube and Boston's Gourmet PizzaAll of our guest rooms are spacious and include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, 60 cable channels plus free HBO and mini fridges in each roomWhether you're traveling to the Erie, Pennsylvania area for business or pleasure, enjoy the superior lodging and friendly staff at the Econo Lodge. Book a room with us today! We enjoy accomodating the everyday business traveler as well as providing a resort atmosphere for families on vacation.Our mission is to exceed our guest's expectations by providing memorable experiences that reflect the care, pride and expertise of our management and associaties!We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Erie
Econo Lodge Erie
Econolodge Hotel Erie
Erie Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing