We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodging, but rooms could use some updates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice lodging, but rooms could use some updates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Econo Lodge and overall, we were pleased with the place. Aside from a few upgrades (TV was fuzzy and old analog style) and repairs needed (light over door kept going off and on), our room was nice and comfortable for our family of 4. The pool and hot tub were beautiful and well taken care of. The free breakfast was also good. There was something for eveyone. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Leah S:

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Erie Econo Lodge.
We are working on some upgrades to provide the quality service that our guests deserve (new T.V's) as well as many other updates.
I would also like to personally thank you for letting us be a part of your families vacation and
hope that you will stay with us again in the future.


Sincerely,

Bill Palmer

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    69
    50
    30
    41
See reviews for
112
46
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed for one night in November and was taken aback by how lovely the hotel lobby was as I entered. The desk staff were extremely helpful and courteous. I had no reservation, and tried this place just on impulse during a recent casino trip. I had a very nice room, hotel maid was extremely helpful and made the extra effort to come in as I was just entering the room, and commented that it still smelled smoky to her (and I am a smoker) and went and fetched a spray that really worked. I didn't catch her name, but she started my visit off on a very positive note. Thank you. I have zero complaints, and when I checked out I decided this place is a hidden gem and will definitely get my business again in the future. As a matter of fact, I'm checking in tomorrow for a 3-day getaway of casino gambling and soaking in the hot tub Ididn't get a chance to do this last trip) reading a novel. Can't wait, glad the weather seems to be cooperating. Thank you and happy holidays!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpanielSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Spanielsis:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us from your recent stay.
I am so happy that staff has exceeded your expectations and hope we can create more memorable experiences for you in the future.

Again thank you so much!

Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is by far one of the worst hotel stays I have ever experienced. The constant thump thump of the steel plate in the road and other highway noise was bad enough, but the disgusting Jacuzzi tub was so bad my daughter refused to take a shower. The tub was only separated from the room by a curtain, which is hardly ideal for a father to shower or even use the bathroom with the teenage daughter in the room. The caulking around the tub was filthy. Their breakfast foods were pathetic with the yogurt past code. The hotel noise was bad as well. There was a soccer team staying there with the children unsupervised running rampant through the halls all night, front desk did nothing. Someone's car alarm kept going off, front desk did nothing. Contacted the hotel to let them know my displeasure, they did nothing. The pool area they boast is loud and stuffy. Internet service was poor. Televisions were old and sad. Carpets were filthy. For the fools who call this resort-like, they must stay in awful resorts. Steer clear of this place.

Room Tip: Rooms near the road are VERY loud with traffic noise. Rooms by the pool are loud with pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Julie R:

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your disapointment with your recent stay at the Erie Econo Lodge. I want to personally apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
We want our guests to have the best stay possible with the highest quality. You can be assured that I will personally follow up on your concerns so that others are not inconvenienced
as you were.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We value all our guests comments and concerns
which help us to make improvements so that our guests can have the best stay possible. We
want all our guests to leave our property satisfied.



Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

Gander, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just off the I90, this hotel has lots of restaurants and shops nearby off Peach Street. Large rooms with Jacuzzis. Nice pool and hot tub in a "resort-like" atmosphere. However if you want quiet,ask for a room that doesn't overlook the pool. The breakfast has plenty of choices. The Internet however would not work and they use an outside provider....not worth the effort!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the pool....they are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbm1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario. Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stopped in here on our way home form florida, to do some shopping, great place to stay, no tub in our room but we like the shower anyway. staff very helpfull, breakfest was great, always give the breakfest staff a couple of buck $2.00 if they are doing their job by keeping it clean and full of selection. Room clean, close to all the shopping, and restaurant. can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank today12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary W, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Today12345:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on your recent stay. We are glad that you had such a memorable experience and would recommend us for other travelers. We hope to be of service to you on your next trip through Erie.

Sincerely,

Mary L. Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here when visiting Splash Lagoon with our boys. Although it is a little old the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was a nice touch and the pool area was enjoyed by our boys. Would be good if you had guides for the tv channels in the room as your televisions are older and they don't come with the built in guides. Didn't appreciate the gentleman who was the overnight clerk at the desk, slumped in his chair, barely mubling an incoherent answer to my husband when he asked if they had guides available at the desk. He doesn't answer my husband, the phone rings and as he's in mid mumble with my husband ignores him and answers the phone. Not great in the service department. This was about 8 or 9 pm on Sat 10/21.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesKDepew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary W, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear JulesKDepew:

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that all of my staff was not extremely attentive during your stay. You can be assured that I will address this with all of the staff so that others are not incovenienced as you were. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future and are happy that you would recommend us to other travelers.

Sincerely,

Mary L. Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed overnight at this hotel. It was very clean, the pool area and hot tub was spotless and very nice. The front desk staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was very good and had a wide range of foods to satisfy everyone. If you have a coupon book for hotels they will honor it. We would definately stay here again. Very clean, friendly, great price, we have stayed at other hotels that have cost a lot more and were very disappointed. Very close to stores and mall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary W, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Theresa873:

How pleased I was to hear that we exceeded your expectations on your 1st stay with us. I hope that my staff created a memorable experience that showed the care, pride and expertise of the management company. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future. Please feel free to call us directly to book your next fantastic shopping getaway!

Sincerely,

Mary L. Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 38 in Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#8 of 38 in Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 8050 Peach St, Erie, PA 16509-4794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge is located off of Interstate 90 and is adjacent to Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark Resort. The hotel is central to most shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities in the Erie area.Hotel amenities and features include:-Hot Continental breakast with fresh made waffles-Free high-speed wireless internet in all guest rooms and public areas-Free transportation to the airport, Presque Isle Downs & Casino and Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark resort-Room service daily from 6 to 10 from Applebee's, Famous Dave's, Quaker Steak and Lube and Boston's Gourmet PizzaAll of our guest rooms are spacious and include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, 60 cable channels plus free HBO and mini fridges in each roomWhether you're traveling to the Erie, Pennsylvania area for business or pleasure, enjoy the superior lodging and friendly staff at the Econo Lodge. Book a room with us today! We enjoy accomodating the everyday business traveler as well as providing a resort atmosphere for families on vacation.Our mission is to exceed our guest's expectations by providing memorable experiences that reflect the care, pride and expertise of our management and associaties!We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Erie
Econo Lodge Erie
Econolodge Hotel Erie
Erie Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing