We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer Trip - The Good and the Ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Summer Trip - The Good and the Ugly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I usually stay at this hotel during the winter months since they have an indoor pool. We decided to try the hotel for a quick July week-end trip to Erie this past week-end; and were not at all pleased with our stay.
When we arrived at 4PM for check-in we were informed that our rooms were still not ready, and our rooms would not be available until 5PM. Seriously, peak of the summer season and not enough staff to clean the rooms? On the plus side we were pleasantly surprised that the pool-view rooms were remodeled after previous trip in February.
The atrium pool that we LOVE during the winter months....proved to be a steam bath in July. The atrium needs better ventilation or at the least, please open the doors leading to the outdoor patio! We could not even sit on the deck of our pool view room due to the heat/humidity in the atrium/pool area. The pool and Jacuzzi definitely need more monitoring. Even though signs were clearly posted, children were playing in the Jacuzzi, as their parents watched??? Needless to say adult guests avoided the Jacuzzi area completely.
We will definitely be looking into other hotels in the area for future trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueKBeach6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    79
    60
    31
    30
See reviews for
89
56
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Think twice about this hotel if you want a good night's sleep.

This hotel is popular for wedding receptions and gatherings and that is a problem if you want quiet. We booked three pool-view rooms for a family vacation to Waldameer and Presque Isle. We were placed in a hallway where a wedding party was celebrating after the reception. Slamming doors and noise started at about 10 o'clock and finally at 3 AM I called the front desk to complain about the noise and that people were jumping into the pool.

Why would the management book non-wedding guests near the wedding party? And, why wouldn't the management patrol the hallways and quiet the noise? Management had no answers for these questions.

Anything else I can say about the hotel was overshadowed by the noise.

We would not stay here again and we recommend you think twice about this hotel - especially on a Friday or Saturday night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandDPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel on priceline by naming our own price for a 3 star hotel. We got the hotel for $65 plus tax. It was a good price. The staff was very helpful at check in. The hotel was older but classy. We really liked the look of it.

Our room had just two double beds when we were supposed to have queens or bigger. However this could have been a priceline error. We both had trouble sleeping due to being a little squashed. Otherwise the room was very nice.
We didn't use the pool but if we had kids we thought this would have been a great place to bring kids. The pool is small but it has a great area around it with tables and lounge chairs.
The breakfast is not included in your stay. It is $5 for the breakfast buffet. I didn't think it was worth much more than $5 if that. My husband thouht it was ok. They had cereal, waffles, French toast, fake eggs, bacon, and sausage. It all sounds pretty good but it isn't really. I would rather just spend a little more money and eat out.
If we were traveling through the area again, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runner1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Lake, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We got in fairly late on a Friday afternoon, sort of randomly looking for a place to stay on our way home from a trip. We drove down to the state park to see the Presque Isle lighthouse, then went to look for a room. A nice-looking motel near the beach was full, but the owner recommended this place. We went ahead and got a room because it was getting late and we were tired. They charged me almost $200 for 4 (my husband, two kids and I), and the room smelled badly, sort of like old sweat. The kids wanted to swim and that was fine, the restaurant was fine as well, we just tried to avoid the room. When we did go to bed, the air conditioning unit made weird buzzing sounds about every 15 minutes all night long, and in the morning had spewed water all over itself. We packed up and got out of there. An online search since then shows rates more in the $120 range, which even then I would question given the room quality.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the newer part of the hotel, near the pool/restaurant, maybe that would help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here by coincidence by winning a room on Priceline. The attendant at the front desk was cheery and answered all my questions. She told us where to park close to our room.

The pool looked nice though we didn't have time to use it. It is right next to the hotel restaurant and lobby and trying to get there from our room without going outside was a challenge since we were in room 210 yet was accessible from the main floor near where we parked. Getting to the pool required taking the stairs or elevator to the 1st floor, walking across a corridor, then taking another set of stairs or elevator back up a flight to the lobby area. Then I realized why the attendant told me to park my car on the other side of the building.

The hotel is old and it is apparent by going down the corridors. The rooms however are clean which was most important.

What we liked was:
1. Professionalism of the attendants.
2. The selection at breakfast.
3. The service at breakfast.
4. The cleanliness of the room.

What we didn't like was:
1. Breakfast was not included. It was an extra $5/person.
2. We asked for a roll-away crib for my 20 month old daughter and the attendant told us it was already in our room. It wasn't. No big deal. I called reception and asked for one to be delivered. I was told it would be sent right up. We waited 20 minutes. When I called again, I was told that the maintenance crew was gone for the day and they would have a driver send one up at 5pm (another 20 minutes). I would have rather them tell me honestly that it would take 40 minutes than set unrealistic expectations.
3. The roll-away crib mattress was disgusting. It had urine stains on it and was clearly not washed. Without any other options, we put a towel on it and I reminded myself that we got a pretty good rate for the room.

All-in-all, it was a decent stay. We MAY stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the reception area. Bring your own playpen/crib if traveling with infants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zurberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mena, AR
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Older property but maintained. Have both motel and hotel rooms - so be sure to know what you are getting. It was a good value for a one night travel stop. The furniture was a bit mismatched, but we didn't care, just noticed. The pool area was nicely done - indoor with lots of fun decorations. There are some rooms that have balconies to the pool area -- the 1st floor rooms opened right to the pool area which would be convenient for families.

Room Tip: If you are looking for quiet you might want to avoid a pool-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0X1E5RULE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCentral PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stay here several times a year when traveling to Erie on business. I choose this property because it has the best rate. The staff are always friendly, the room is clean. The pool is nice, and the pool area is kept clean. A big bonus-if you are away from the pool, this is one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed at. You don't hear noise from other rooms, people going down the hallways, doors slamming...easy to get a full nights sleep before important meetings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 38 in Erie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Property: Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Address: 2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Aire Clarion is a full-service, locally owned hotel that offers conference rooms and banquet space to accommodate up to 360 people. We have 131 guest rooms, which includes four suites and a parlor. Our hotel facilities comprise an exercise room, a sauna, an indoor atrium pool, and Jacuzzi. We offer off property catering and in-house dining. Maxi's Restaurant offers a daily full hot breakfast buffet day and is open for dinner Sunday-Saturday. There are nightly drink specials and an increasing number of celebrity bartending events. We also own another Choice Hotels property, Comfort Inn Presque Isle, less than a mile from the Clarion. Our Comfort Inn has 100 guest rooms, especially to assist with large overnight groups.We are half a mile from Waldameer Amusement Park and Waterworld and a mile from the beaches of Presque Isle. Presque Isle boasts seventeen miles of beaches and biking and walking trails. The Millcreek Mall, fourth largest mall in America, is a quick shuttle or car ride from our hotel.Our location provides us with being the gateway to Erie's main attractions: Presque isle, downtown, and the Millcreek Mall.Bel-Aire Clarion opened in 1961, giving us over 50 years in business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Erie
Clarion Erie
Erie Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing