We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picky People Love This Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Erie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Picky People Love This Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We are seasoned bed and breakfast "stayers", and we loved this inn. The home itself is absolutely lovely, bedecked with lots of beautiful wood, architectural features, and plush bedrooms. The common areas are punctuated with Joy's absolutely stunning needlework, which is a delight. We stayed in the Spencer Suite, located on the third floor. It's a good hike up the steps, but it was good exercise, and well worth it! The breakfasts were delicious. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redtamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We're so happy that you stayed with us and can't wait for your next visit here. Hopefully you'll make it back sooner than the next conference <G>

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
100
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Spencer House Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the city's historic “Millionaires Row.” We are from New York, it was our pleasure to stay one night at Spencer House, since we have been a big Bed & Breakfast fans. I couldn’t wait to tell everyone. Mr. and Mrs. Coleman provide excellent homemade breakfast and very comfortable room. The decoration of the house is increditable; I could not put my camera down....

Room Tip: Great value, excellent breakfast, quality room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jada Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Jada and Bertram,

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for sending the pictures. Hopefully you'll visit Erie again and take in a little more of our city.

Fletcher and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Coming from Los Angeles, what a great way to see Erie , by staying in a B &B in the historic downtown area. Colemans provide a great hospitaity place and very comfortable. I am not used to how the peacefulness, as in L.A. it is usually helicopters and sirens, The smell of a homemade breakfast waiting downstairs was equally incredible, and delicious! The Coleman's are great hosts, and made me feel welcomed. and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone in the future.

Room Tip: I stayed in "Mary's Room" which for me being a big guy was perfect, however there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sims1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We were so happy you stayed with us, and you made the extended weekend so much fun! Hopefully now that you've discovered Erie, you'll be back soon!

Fletcher and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our room in this beautiful house was amazing. It was very large with lovely furnishings and a very comfortable bed. The breakfasts provided by Joy and Fletcher were superb and very filling. The position in Erie was very close to restaurants, shops and Lake Erie and Fletcher recommended a restaurant for dinner that was good. We were very pleased we had chosen to stay here and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The Presidents Suite is beautiful and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We're so glad you stayed with us. Hope the trip home was enjoyable and you visit again!

Fletcher and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spencer House Bed and Breakfast offered a wonderful overnight experience from the moment my husband and I stepped over the threshold. The historic home is decorated down to the smallest detail, charming and immaculate. It set the stage for the nearby tourist sites with its attention to the area's rich maritime history. Our "room" was more like a spacious suite, quiet and lovely. Breakfast, made by Fletcher, who is the innkeeper along with his, wife, Joy, was sumptuous and a meal you could see he took pride in preparing. When we called Joy from the harbor for a suggestion on where to eat dinner, she cheerfully assisted. An Erie tourist can't go wrong in staying with them; not only is their house a mansion, the entire street is attractive. Jon and Linda

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhallovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Jon and Linda,

We're so glad you enjoyed Erie and that you stayed with us! Can't wait to see you both again,

Fletcher and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Spencer House Sept 12-13, 2013 , this was our first B&B experience and what a amazing one it was, Joy and Fletcher made us feel so at home , Fletchers breakfasts where awesome, the B&B is located close to everything we walked to some sites, we stayed in the Nanny's Room nice and private the whole house was amazing and so nice and clean, check out the Tap House awesome pizza, and for some great crab cake sandwiches and clam chowder check out the Smugglers Wharf, and once again thanks Joy & Fletcher for making our first time stay and not our last so relaxing and enjoyable, Bill& Steve

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nanny's room nice an private but all rooms looked welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Bill and Steve,

It was great having you here this past weekend, and we're so glad you had a good time and great food. Can't wait to see you both again soon.

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed for one night at the Spencer House on August 19th. The hosts/owners (Fletcher and Joy) were friendly and knowledgeable. The house is a beautiful late 19th Century mansion that will just amaze you. You're located within walking distance to downtown Erie (restaurants, museums, attractions). My room was comfortable and spacious. If I'm traveling through Erie again, I would definitely stay here again. Oh yes, the breakfast is delicious and filling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Howie, it was so much fun having you stay with us on your way back home. If you ever decide to cross the country again, we hope to be your first stop!

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
0.5 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Erie
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 519 W 6th St, Erie, PA 16507-1128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spencer House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service Bed and Breakfast in Erie, we're a beautifully restored Victorian mansion on Historic Millionaire's Row. Close to Gannon University and within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Built in 1876 as a wedding gift, you'll feel welcome as soon as you enter the front door. All rooms have a private bath, cable television, free wireless internet and individual controls for heat and air conditioning. Walk to many local restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Spencer House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer House b&b
Spencer House Hotel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing