We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Erie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Spencer House Sept 12-13, 2013 , this was our first B&B experience and what a amazing one it was, Joy and Fletcher made us feel so at home , Fletchers breakfasts where awesome, the B&B is located close to everything we walked to some sites, we stayed in the Nanny's Room nice and private the whole house was amazing and so nice and clean, check out the Tap House awesome pizza, and for some great crab cake sandwiches and clam chowder check out the Smugglers Wharf, and once again thanks Joy & Fletcher for making our first time stay and not our last so relaxing and enjoyable, Bill& Steve

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nanny's room nice an private but all rooms looked welcoming.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Bill and Steve,

It was great having you here this past weekend, and we're so glad you had a good time and great food. Can't wait to see you both again soon.

Joy and Fletcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 153 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed for one night at the Spencer House on August 19th. The hosts/owners (Fletcher and Joy) were friendly and knowledgeable. The house is a beautiful late 19th Century mansion that will just amaze you. You're located within walking distance to downtown Erie (restaurants, museums, attractions). My room was comfortable and spacious. If I'm traveling through Erie again, I would definitely stay here again. Oh yes, the breakfast is delicious and filling.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Howie, it was so much fun having you stay with us on your way back home. If you ever decide to cross the country again, we hope to be your first stop!

Joy and Fletcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We enjoyed our room [The President's Suite], the breakfast was plentiful and yummy, the house was beautiful and the location was great. We had a wonderful mini holiday in Erie and The Spenser House was a big factor in that! We would certainly return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pittsburghtraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thanks so much for coming! We're happy that you enjoyed your getaway in Erie and had a chance to stay with us. Can't wait to see you again.

Joy and Fletcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fletcher and Joy, the owners, make the guests feel right at home, but, in a pampered way. They were very helpful, rooms were furnished with antiques and were spacious; their restaurant suggestion was excellent. Breakfast was plentiful and hot.
I highly recommend this B&B and will return next summer ( if not before).
Make reservations ahead-this popular spot gets booked up!

Room Tip: look online for pics and prices for each room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Jan and David,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! We can't wait for you to come back next year. Erie always has such great things to do in the summer.

Joy and Fletcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were greeted at the door by Joy and Fletch into beautiful home....The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was phenomenal as was the friendly service...I will absolutely return here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us!! Can't wait to see you again.

Fletcher and Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are origianlly from Erie and now live in Salt Lake City. We love the location of the Spencer House because you are close to so much. We spent 10 wonderful days, 8 of those in the Presidential Suite and 2 in the Nursery. Joy and Fletcher are great hosts and they think of everything possible to make your stay perfect. The rooms are beautiful and it is so much fun staying in one of the old Erie mansions. Everything is immaculate. The highlight, of course, is the delicious breakfast served each morning. Fletcher goes all out with that and whether he is fixing his thick cut bacon or homemade sausage everything is done to perfection. It was such a treat. The waffles are heart shaped and the french toast is to die for.He makes perfect eggs and the list goes on and on. Joy serves and is so friendly, you will feel as though you have known both of them for years. The Spencer House is decorated beautifully and the house alone is a must see. It is quiet and peaceful and is a place we look forward to visiting again. There is so much to do in Erie, especially in the summer, and The Spencer House is an added bonus. Thank you so very much Joy and Fletcher, Jerry & Diane Hartline

Room Tip: We were glad to be on the 2nd floor. If you are going for a very special occasion, The Presidential...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Diane and Jerry,

We had such a fun week plus with you both and can't wait until next year to see you again! Jerry, we've put the metal work on the front doors, and it looks great <G>. Hope you and your family stay well.

Fletcher and Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The new owners, Fletcher and Joy, have upgraded the place and did it right. One of the better B&B's we've stayed in. Food is fresh and well prepared. Plenty of room and a decent spot close to many activities and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkronCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thanks so much! It was great having the two of you here this past weekend, and hopefully you'll be coming back again soon.

Fletcher and Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
0.5 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 519 W 6th St, Erie, PA 16507-1128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Price Range: $105 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spencer House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Save the region's 7% hotel tax, and get a great breakfast, by staying at our 5-star rated historical B&B. We are the only full service Bed and Breakfast in Erie. We're a beautifully restored Victorian mansion on Historic Millionaire's Row. Close to Gannon University and within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Built in 1876 as a wedding gift, you'll feel welcome as soon as you enter the front door. All rooms have a private bath, cable television, free wireless internet and individual controls for heat and air conditioning. Walk to many local restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer House Hotel Erie
Spencer House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing