We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Erie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
“Wonderful holiday getaway”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I "escaped" to Erie just after Thanksgiving and chose Spencer House partly because of the great reviews we read. We weren't disappointed. Fletcher had been working on Christmas decorations, he even had 2 trees set up with victorian decorations. The house was like a step back in time with the wonderful high ceilings and heavy doors, but it felt fresh and new. The hallways had been freshly painted from dark red to a soft coffee, and the new wallpaper was so rich. Joy has a collection of 19th century lithographs that are as old as the house which she hung up the 3rd floor staircase. It's worth going up just to see them!

We chose the Spencer Suite, which was also redone--the historic shower and tiles gave way to the most comfortable king bed and big TV. And breakfast--wow. Fletcher is an amazing cook.

We'll be coming back again, there's a beach and a zoo that weren't open, so there's a lot to do next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for such wonderful comments, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
104
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here with a co-worker for business in the Erie area. We had Mary's Room and The Nanny's Room. From the minute we stepped into the house, we felt immediately at home. Your hosts are very gracious. We were able to examine the lovely architecture and the personal touches that make the house a home. Fletcher cooks an amazing breakfast -- get his secret ingredient for the pancakes! We ate dinner at the Tap House on Joy's recommendation and were not disappointed. I would easily stay here, again. Avoid a night in a chain hotel -- treat yourself to The Spencer House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No_Camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for such wonderful comments! We hope to see you again soon.

Fletcher and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at the Spencer House and we love it. Our first time was when Joy & Fletcher had just opened and were working very hard on fixing up the house after many years of neglect. After seven months of work, the results are impressive. We returned to Erie to visit our daughter and her family over the Thanksgiving weekend. Since we would only be sleeping and eating breakfast at the B&B, we chose the Nanny's Room which was very comfortable and perfect for our needs. Joy & Fletcher are lovely and bend over backwards to make everyone's stay a great experience. We look forward to staying here the next time we visit our daughter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Hola all,

We had the pleasure if staying two nights. The location couldn't be beat for us as we were there for shopping and exploring.

Pros:
* the breakfasts were delicious and the pancakes were to die for
* proximity to great shopping, restaurants and the lake
* the hosts, you can feel how hard they are working to make your stay memorable and enjoyable

Other things:

* our room was at the front of the house on the street and it was a bit noisy with more street traffic than we would have expected. But, we had earplugs so that was okay
* not a fan of comforters/bed spreads and prefer duvets or just newly washed sheets and a blanket.

Overall, we loved the place! We are already planning our trip back next year. Don't hesitate, book now and enjoy those pancakes and French toast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playalover78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Hills, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Spencer House is a wonderful destination which gives you a feeling of home away from home. We were greeted warmly and sincerely by the owners, Joy and Fletcher. Both were so very accommodating to our needs and comforts, from the large, spacious room with a "four-poster" cherry wood king-sized bed and many additional comforts, to a delicious home-cooked breakfast(by Fletcher, the owner) which would rival anyone's "Gramma" breakfasts when you were growing up. Very clean and comfortable throughout the house including the common areas, like an old-world parlor and library sitting room, and the long dining table nestled in a room which gave you the feeling of being transported back into the 19th century. I was staying with my wife, sister and brother-in-law, and we were all given helpful suggestions of local eateries and things to do including some of the many wine-tastings that were in the area. Our stay here was one of the best that we have ever had anywhere and I would highly recommend that anyone make a concerted effort to spend your next getaway at the Spencer House. Joy and Fletcher were so warm and inviting, and the house had an intangible "livable" feel to it. When we left, we didn't just leave the house, it was as if we were leaving new friends! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: "President's Room" on the second floor was large, comfortable, and quiet."
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were very impressed by the warm welcome we received from Joy and Fletcher on our arrival at Spencer house. They even had a Scottish flag flying on our honour (I was born in Scotland). We stayed in the Fletcher Suite for 2 nights and found it spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Fletchers' breakfasts are delicious and healthy. both were very helpfull in suggesting places to eat and pointing out some of the more interesting sites to visit, including the local wineries. I would recommend this B and B for anyone who wants to taste the old world charm of a 130 year old home in stead of a modern day hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Spencer House is a fantastic place to stay. Clean, comfortable, quiet and friendly. Fletcher and Joy, the owners, have only owned this house since March. We could see that they have poured a lot of themselves into the house. Fletcher is the cook, and his breakfasts are delicious. Very filling. The picture that is on their website is only a sample of what you get to eat. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The front porch is a fantastic place to sit in the evening to just relax and watch the world go by. We will definitely come back for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim090712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#27 of 38 in Erie
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 519 W 6th St, Erie, PA 16507-1128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spencer House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Save the region's 7% hotel tax, and get a great breakfast, by staying at our 5-star rated historical B&B. We are the only full service Bed and Breakfast in Erie. We're a beautifully restored Victorian mansion on Historic Millionaire's Row. Close to Gannon University and within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Built in 1876 as a wedding gift, you'll feel welcome as soon as you enter the front door. All rooms have a private bath, cable television, free wireless internet and individual controls for heat and air conditioning. Walk to many local restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer House Hotel Erie
Spencer House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing