We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for passing through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Novi, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for passing through”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at La Quinta for one night while passing through Pennsylvania. The hotel and rooms were clean, and the staff was accommodating. The breakfast was very good with hot foods like waffles, eggs and sausage. (With two kids this is important!). The bathroom was spacious but the air conditioning was quite loud when it kicked on. We tried to use the business center in the morning to print some tickets, but was told it was unavailable for about an hour because they were running a virus scan. I don't understand doing this during such a busy time in the morning. Although they did offer to get the manager, we didn't have time to wait.

The pool was adequate, dimly lit. We didn't think it had enough chlorine for a pool that gets a lot of use.

Overall, ok for one night stay, but overpriced for what they charged.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    155
    81
    63
    43
See reviews for
222
163
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The room was ok but in the morning, I noticed the coffee filter had not been emptied from the previous guest. The sleeping was decent so I'm glad I didn't see the uncleaned coffee machine until the morning. Some of the staff was friendly, but others were preoccupied and not really knowledgable about the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMarMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Check in was easy and the woman was very friendly, our room on the other hand I wasn't so happy with. There were a few hairs/fur on the sheets, which totally grossed me out! The mirror in the bathroom was not clean- it had water splash marks and a little kids hand print. I did not complain because if it's not done right the first time then they obviously can't get it done right. The bathroom tile grout was falling apart, there was a missing tile baseboard piece, and when you turned the shower on it whistled the whole time-annoying. We stayed on the second floor and the hallway area was extremely hot. The indoor pool is very small and cold. The breakfast available was alright, nothing special though. With all the hotels options in the area, I definitely will not return here. It was also a bit further from presque then we thought it would be but that's our mistake.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6247gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Let me take this time to apologize to you for your stay. I did research your room and the grout in bathroom was in need of attention. I did address this with maintenance staff and he did retouch up the tiles in question. As for the housekeeping issues the attendent assigned to your room was let go shortly after your posting due to her lack of required room cleaning standards. I do hope you will reconsider our property the next time your in Erie. Again, Thank You for your honest review of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I am actually here right now. I am writing a negative review because I have had to call the front desk twice now because there is a party going on in the exercise room right next door to me and I have been traveling all day and really need to sleep. Apparently the partying is ok because it is a 24 hour room. There are 5 teenaged girls in there making a ton of noise and there is nothing that can be done about it. This is the second terrible experience I have had at a la quinta and will never stay in one again. The only reason I an staying at one tonight is because I tried to book a room at almost every other hotel in the area and there is no vacancy. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6247gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
I do apologize for the teenagers hanging out in the fitness center. I did research your issue and Jeannette did inform me that she personally went down and told them that they had to disperse. In the future, if you do decide to return I would ask not to be next door to the pool/fitness center. My Staff did monitor the area during your two day stay with us and it was corrected as soon as your male guest came to the front desk. I guess kids will be kids and the parents need to keep better tabs on them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here from July 24-28. Had a wonderful experience while here front desk staff all courteous and friendley. Our room was always clean and always had plenty of towels. We thought we were the only ones staying in the hotel as we never heard any other guests while in the room noise or from pets. Continental breakfast always had a very nice variety of things and was well stocked. The only thing we noticed was the lady who does the breakfast could have been more cheerful. We have already recommended this hotel to friends and family. We will definately stay here again. Book your stay here you will enjoy it as well.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6247gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your positive review. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Clean, average, overpriced and bathroom was dated but clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjgdb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6247gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank You for your review. The bathrooms are getting new tub surrounds in the near future. As for pricing, please keep in mind that all hotels are in the very busy peak summer season, which as with supply and demand the rates do go up until after Labor Day. I always tell guests to book early out and save. If you wait until last minute you will not get the lowest pricing. I'm glad your room and bathroom were clean. Have a great summer. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Buffalo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stopped here coming and going from our vacation, with 7 days between each stay.

On the weak side: The lobby, breakfast area and hallways were very hot-there seemed to be no A/C in these areas; the fold out couch was missing linens or blankets so we had to visit the front desks both nights; the woman stocking the breakfast area hated her job and you could see it on her face.

On the strong side: Front desk personnel were fast, friendly and helpful; rooms and hallways were clean, bright and fresh; linens were crisp and pillows were fluffy (if you like a flat pillow, you may have to ask); breakfast had a lot of variety.

We do not expect perfection and very much like stopping here. We have stayed here for other vacations and will do so next year when we pass through Erie again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wherenow1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6247gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
I have addressed the Lobby, Hallway A/C Issues with my boss last week. He was here during the heatwave and experienced the on going problem first hand. Usually he comes in Fall when it's cold. It's not a quick fix, but I'm working with LaQuinta Corp. to get this fixed by next summer. This is a major issue that will be addressed. I'm glad you posted that staff are consistent and that you enjoy coming back to LQ-Erie all the time. Even when you sweat bullets until you get to your cold room..... "Were here for you"....no hotel is perfect, but as long as we learn from our mistakes and correct them...that's the most important statement you can make on this site. "Word of Mouth" is so important in this Industry...as all of you viewers can see!!!! See ya next time. Thanks for being honest.

Paul D. Ruby
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#7 of 38 in Erie
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
2.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie
Address: 7820 Perry Hwy, Erie, PA 16509-6628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While you stay at our pet-friendly hotel, start each day on a positive note with our free Bright Side Breakfast(R), a freshly prepared spread of waffles, hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, muffins, and all-you-can-drink coffee and juice as well as eggs, meat and yogurt. Once you jumpstart your morning, make your way to the many area attractions conveniently from our central location. If you are feeling lazy, you can lounge around at our indoor swimming pool or surf the Web on our free Wi-Fi. For a more active afternoon, you can head to our impressive fitness facility with an indoor heated pool. Professionals have come to the right place, with our fax/copy services at a full business center, available meeting spaces, and free local calls. The spacious guest rooms are each equipped with flat-panel TVs streaming over 60 premium cable channels, a microwave, refrigerator, and the option of a whirlpool tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie Hotel Erie
La Quinta Inn And Suites Erie
La Quinta Hotel Erie
Erie La Quinta
La Quinta Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing