We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUMM_EEE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Joe Roots Grill

Joe Roots Grill
Ranked #62 of 402 Restaurants in Erie
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coraopolis, PA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“YUMM_EEE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner here. Service was nice and friendly and the food was delicious. I had the Flagship Niagara Platter and my husband had a steak. I had a cup of their lobster bisque and it was fantastic. The seafood tasted like it was just caught. The fried clams stasted like the sea and were very juicy. One tip would be a little less breading. Let those clams shine! Huband's steak was cooked to the doneness he wanted.. everthings was wonderful and we will def go back again

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorelei08271959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    73
    48
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, PA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“We went here due to proximity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Joe Roots was hit or miss with us. My wife really enjoyed her seafood platter (a mix of everything) but I was disappointed in my lobster alfredo which was overcooked. We stayed at the nearby Comfort Inn so this was very close and looked upscale compared to the Applebee's and other chain restaurants nearby. And the cost was certainly upscale but for my plate it seemed too much to pay for the effort that was put into my dinner. Wait staff were on the ball and we did not have to rubberneck for drink refills. Joe's has a very nice interior and my wife commented on how spacious it was (you did not have to squeeze past other patron's chairs like some places) But like I said my wife could not find fault in her platter. So I scored Joe's as average for food but gave it a very good due to atmosphere and its open floor plan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandCrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went for lunch with my family and a friend. The food was good and the watress was very courteous and helpful. Once we ordered (had to wait for our guest) the food came quickly. Nice place to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandym613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Went for dinner, but the appetizer was enough........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is the second time that we came to Erie, PA from Michigan, and we liked Joe Roots so well last time that we went again. In fact, they let us leave our van in the back, and bike the Presque Isle for a few hours, before coming in and enjoying some GREAT food!! We started out with their great clam chowder and crab stuffed mushrooms, and was going to order the Flagship Niagara Platter of Shrimp, Scallops, Clams and Whitefish, but we seemed to have just enough, and didn't order this time........ But they make everything great!! And the staff is always fun, happy, and ready to help you at any time!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MGMMUSIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice family place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went for dinner with 20 other guests. Food was good. Service was VERY good, it is hard with a big crowd but our waitress did a great job.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PALorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Roots Grill also viewed

 

Been to Joe Roots Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing