We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for dinner, but the appetizer was enough........”
Review of Joe Roots Grill

Joe Roots Grill
Ranked #54 of 411 Restaurants in Erie
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Rockford, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Went for dinner, but the appetizer was enough........”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is the second time that we came to Erie, PA from Michigan, and we liked Joe Roots so well last time that we went again. In fact, they let us leave our van in the back, and bike the Presque Isle for a few hours, before coming in and enjoying some GREAT food!! We started out with their great clam chowder and crab stuffed mushrooms, and was going to order the Flagship Niagara Platter of Shrimp, Scallops, Clams and Whitefish, but we seemed to have just enough, and didn't order this time........ But they make everything great!! And the staff is always fun, happy, and ready to help you at any time!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MGMMUSIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    78
    49
    28
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatboro, PA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice family place”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went for dinner with 20 other guests. Food was good. Service was VERY good, it is hard with a big crowd but our waitress did a great job.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PALorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

As a Erie native I come back to town about 4-5 times a year I enjoy Lake Erie perch --this restaurant has the best fried perch dinner in Erie.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cadmanrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxed environment”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Skip the fast food and head to Joe Roots Grill for their sea food dinners. This place is great for both family and romantic dinning. The sea food and steaks are great (Not over seasoned), and at a good price. I will be going back again and again. Our server Sean was amazing, and the staff amazing. Great customer service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Gross”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I went to this restaurant with some friends in hopes of having good seafood. Unfortunately, this was probably the worst seafood I've ever had in my entire life. The mussels tasted exactly like a bucket of seawater. The fish was overcooked, the sauce on it was terrible (a sweet teriyaki type thing), and it smelled/looked/tasted like freezer fish I could go pick up at Giant Eagle. The service was slowish and the atmosphere was weird...it's a huge place, everything is really spaced out and brightly lit, which would be great for a dance class or something, but is weird for dinner at a restaurant. I split the food with my friend because it was pricey and even though we each paid $20 we both left hungry. Total rip off. Never ever again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fiddlelilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Roots Grill also viewed

 

Been to Joe Roots Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing