We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

first off we stayed here a few years ago and decided to come back, after our first night's stay my wife experienced insect bites on her back,
secondly upon returning to our room (thurs 09-28) @approx 7pm, we were accused of smoking and assessed a 250.00 fine, we promptly checked out and had to pay for thurs night (stay) rate and cancelled our last nights stay (09-29). Therefore our budget of hotel stay increased by over 140.00.

For what it is worth we will never recommend and/or return to this or any other wyndham hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateByWyndham01, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Erie, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

I am so sorry your stay wasn't as fabulous as all of our other guests seem to experience! We did inspect the room immediately after your stay and found it to be bug free! We do hope the rest of your experience in Erie was great - our housekeeper was very grateful for the generous gratuity you gave her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,313 - 1,319 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.The rooms were kept spotless by the cleaning staff.I would definetly recommend this hotel.


Monique

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateByWyndham01, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Erie, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to show off our first class hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. There were lots of towels for the three of us. The free wireless connection was very poor on the fourth floor and most of the time we couldn't get on. The breakfast was excellent with a good variety of food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank MArgaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateByWyndham01, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Erie, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks so much for giving us a great opportunity to provide you with great hospitality! I am so sorry our WIFI wasn't working so great for you - we are always checking to make sure it is working everywhere! We also provide wired internet to each and every room because we have certain business clients who are not permitted to utilize WIFI because of security concerns. I am so glad you enjoyed our fabulous breakfast!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

When coming to Mercyhurst I find my stay to be very good. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Louann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateByWyndham01, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Erie, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks so much for experiencing the fabulous Wingate by Wyndham - Erie!! We are always expanding our partnership with Mercyhurst and other area educational institutions to provide fabulous and affordable hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at this Wyndham last year for family weekend and was suggested by my sister-in-law to return again. This weekend wasn't as busy and were able to check-in early-room very clean and staff accomindating to give us ajoining rooms. The only draw back is it's located very close to the highway and at times you hear the semi noise but after a long day on campus and at the casino it didn't take long to fall asleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank MARY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateByWyndham01, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Erie, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay here at the Wingate by Wyndham - Erie!! Penn-dot is working hard to mitigate the highway noise. I am so glad you noticed how friendly and accommodating our fabulous staff is We do strive to provide first class hospitality at rates that are soooooo attractive!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room (1 king) was good sized and very comfortable. Especially liked the chair with ottoman. Nice supply of towels in the room. Very clean.
The air conditioner had an annoying rattle, but luckily we did not need to run it, as it was a cool evening. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateByWyndham01, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Erie, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks for enjoying your experience here at the Wingate by Wyndham - Erie. (our expert air conditioning engineer is always on the prowl to make sure they ALL run quietly and efficiently) I am so glad that in addition to providing you with a great stay, that you could also enjoy our perfect weather!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I travel to Erie 1-2 times a year and have stayed at the Wingate each time for the last several years. I like the location right off of 90 (it sits back a little so it's pretty quiet despite being on Peach St). I like that it was always very clean. I like that is has an indoor pool. And their breakfast is quite good! And there are several stores, restaurants and gas stations in the area which can be handy. The staff this time was quite nice as usual. The lobby was clean. And again, the breakfast was good - I'm sure I'll leave something out but there was cold cereal, mini danishes, bagels, make-your-own-waffle iron, scrambled eggs, sausage links, apples, bananas (those were gone when we got there at 8am though), milk, apple and orange juice, coffee... A good start to the day! Our room however was not as clean as it has been on previous visits which disappointed me because for me, that is a huge deal! The corners of the bathroom floor had hair balls in them (you know how that gathers together. Not huge ones but still, I don't want to see it! I purposefully did not inspect the cornes of the room because the hair ball thing grosses me out. Also, the stuff that sat out (the ice tray in the bathroom - why???), the stuff on the dresser/tv stand, etc - it clearly wasn't moved when housekeeping cleaned the counter/table tops. Instead they wiped around it. I don't think that is the way they usually clean because their wasn't much build-up but even one or two cleaing instances such as that is noticeable. And the ice bucket - the lid needed ran thru a dishwasher as gunk was in the crevices. And the exhaust fan in the bathroom was caked with chunks of dust. That said, it wasn't bad as you probably imagining if you're reading this. As I said, it wasn't weeks of accumulation of dirt. Rather more indicative of one lazy housekeeper. And it's smaller things that they can easily address. Perhaps counseling just one person would remedy it. Except the ceiling vent. And that seems a problem many places for some reason. Really, do people never look up??? I will stay there again because I like the location and I hate to let one not-so great visit ruin 6 years of good visits.

Room Tip: We were on the highway side but really didn't hear the highway noise. It was very quiet. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blg912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateByWyndham01, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Erie, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks so much for staying with us - I am so glad you will be doing so again! We do strive to get 100% of every surface in every room spotless on every visit - I am confident our housekeeping experts will do a better job for you next time! Our other reviews are indicative of your keen observation that it is not a systemic issue here!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Erie

Address: 8060 Old Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#6 Family Hotel in Erie
#9 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range: $94 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Erie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham offers world class accommodations as well as first class customer service. We provide you with a deluxe hot breakfast from 6am until 10am, indoor heated pool with whirlpool, 24 hour fitness center, business center, and sundries shop. Our room offer you wired and wireless high speed internet service, pay-per-view movies, flat screen TVs, in room safes, mp3 player adaptable alarm clocks, as well as mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the local airport, casino, mall, and a limited service area. Shuttle hours vary. We have great rates, packages, and specials that we offer. Book direct to receive the best available rate. We do offer price matching as long as we can validate the rate. One all inclusive rate at one great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Erie Hotel Erie
Wyndham Erie
Erie Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing